We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
243
77
11
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
77
11
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern building sister restaurant royal suite tatami mats old town steak dinner train station personal attendant entire stay japanese dinner sushi lady boss dietary restrictions japanese socks wearing slippers matcha tea meal times
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 339 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2018

The hotel is centrally located on the shopping street and about a 3 min walk to the Old Town. Rooms were clean and comfortable; do note you will sleeping on Futons. Service here is wonderful, the staff are warm, friendly and very attentive. They several public baths to choose from including one on the roof (next door). The only let down I felt was their Japanese course dinner which was in my opinion, below average compared to what we're used to. The food in their sister restaurant "Alice" was really good though.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 555_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

From the moment we dropped our shoes off in the lobby, the lovely Yuki took care of our every need at this traditional Japanese hotel. Our room was spacious, the onsen heavenly, and the kaiseki meal delicious. The hotel accommodated our dietary restrictions with ease and a smile and took care of needs we didn’t even know we had. We’d give 6 stars if possible. And do wear the robes or pjs to meals.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

We were well received at the station after having toldwith which train we would arrive, rapid shuttle bus to the hotel and slik formalties by the reception. We were well introduced into the ryokan tradition, shown the various house and night dressings and give directions. Next we went to the bath (Onsen-like), for males including an outdoor pool. After a short walk through the nearby old town we returned and wereserved by a helpful and friendly waiter a superb „imperial“ dinner in our room. Weprefered two chairs over a sittingon the floor. A great local Hida beer and a gud redwine acompnied our evening as well as a special treat with 3 excellen Sakes. The night ona double futon was very pleasant and the murmurs of the nearby river brought us a rapid sleep. Breakfast after an other visit to the Onsen was fine.

Room Tip: Take a room with river view on a higher floor
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank katharinas82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2018

We stayed at this ryokan for two nights. We were able to walk from the bus station to the hotel because it was a nice day. Otherwise the hotel provides pickup service or it is a short taxi ride to get there.
The rooms are spacious tatami mat rooms with pajamas and robes for the guests to use at dinner in the hotel or outside. Our hostess went in great detail about all the services available and the etiquette to follow. The bathrooms are adequate but rather outdated. In addition to the tatami mat rooms, they do have "western style" rooms/suites as well.
Our first meal was a Kaiseki-style multi-course meal in their dining area. The meal was served in exquisite dishes with much fanfare and it was very good. The front desk had asked us to fill out a detailed questionnaire about our likes and dislikes and they did try to provide dishes that were to our taste. The breakfast in the morning has an option of western or Japanese and within western, one can get either "American" or "continental". However, what they offer is pretty rigid, While they offered yogurt as part of the American breakfast, they would not offer my wife the same as part of her continental breakfast without extra charge. My wife could have ordered the American too and would have had her yogurt then! Similarly, when we asked for coffee in the room instead of the tea they provide, we were first told that it would be extra but apparently the landlady (owner) heard this conversation and did "bend the rules" and sent coffee packets to our room.
For the following day, they took us for dinner at their sister restaurant where we had very good beef and seafood dinners. The hotel also has an annex where they have a cafe by the riverside. They main spa is also on the roof-top level of this annex. The spa in the main building (Kachoan) where we stayed is OK but not exceptional.
The hotel provided us transportation back to the train.
Overall, they try very hard to provide good and efficient service overall, but you do wonder if for the price (even if dinner and breakfast is included) one should be getting more value.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank naresh134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018

We were contacted ahead of our stay so that the staff cold gather information about the genders and ages of our party. The email asked us to let them know what train we would arrive on as they would pick us up from the JR Takayama Station.

To me that indicates a high level of professionalism and desire to make the guest's experience a memorable one.

I have put off writing this for a couple of days because I read some negative reviews of this establishment and I wanted to make sure my thoughts were straight.

That initial contact was only the beginning - the welcome from the staff was almost overwhelming.

Our bags were taken to our room for us.

We were shown to our room by our wonderful and efficient guest attendant, Tomomi. Tomomi looked after us throughout our stay and was unfailingly cheerful and seemed to have the sole goal of making our stay as good as it could be.

Our footwear was woefully inadequate for the snowy conditions outside and, despite the fact that snow boots are sold in the lobby shop, we were offered 'loan' snow boots which made our exploration of Takayama much more comfortable that it otherwise would have been.

The food and food service was of superior standard.

While the establishment may not be a "traditional ryokan" I suspect that it is the flagship of the modern take on these establishments.

Congratulations to Eriko and her team - keep up the amazingly good work

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews