We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved This Place”
Review of Hotel Acty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Acty
Ranked #137 of 187 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Reviewed 10 April 2011

What a great part of our trip. Takayama was so cool. The Hotel was great for us. Very spacious family room. Great brekky before heading out into the chilly day. Found a nearby restaurant that was upstairs and it had great chicken wings. Have a good look at Tkayama. We walked everywhere - no need for buses if you don't mind a bit of a walk. Our nine year old daughter managed it all as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room that has a separate little .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is only a few minutes walk from the station and, although it's not the fanciest place, we were impressed by the space and novel Japaneseness of the rooms. We were surprised by the HUGE Japanese ryokan style room we got that had a full bathroom and tatami floors and futon bedding. The only thing that got me was the very old and sometimes tacky interior design at the reception and the hallway.

The room had everything, including a fridge, aircon, tv, cupboards, jug, kotatsu, some cups and saucers, and of course a pair of yukata. The room was quite cheap (9,000 yen) and included two free breakfasts: your choice of Western or Japanese. The staff spoke English and were very friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you are looking for something cheap and close to the station. We had a very comfortable sleep and stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manic_cornflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Hotel Acty is a good choice in Takayama. Close to the railway station, the receptionists were very kind and helpfull. The room is quite spacious for japanese standards and is provided with everything you need. For breakfast you can choose between american and japanese breakfast. We had american breakfast and it was quite rich.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adri1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Hotel Acty is a couple of blocks south of the train station, very convenient. Staff were pleasant, welcoming, and very helpful, and they do speak some English. There's a computer in the lobby for guest use, so you can check e-mail. Breakfast was included, a traditional Japanese meal in the restaurant. Front desk staff turned on an extra light for me when I was at the computer, offered to lend me an umbrella on a rainy day, and gave me a bottle of imported spring water when I checked out. My room was simple and very clean, but had some odor. The bathroom was huge. Decor was 1960's. I booked this hotel through the Rakuten Travel website and paid only 4,980 yen for a single room with breakfast, an excellent value.

Several blocks north, just past the Washington Hotel, and half a block east, is a little restaurant called the Sun Art Cafe. I had a very pleasant and inexpensive dinner there, and the proprietor and her daughter enjoyed showing me magic tricks!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bargainhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmmatsubara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 德瑞克
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank ビア
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Washington Hotel Plaza
#130 of 187 in Takayama
216 reviews
Takayama Station
Super Hotel Hida-Takayama
Super Hotel Hida-Takayama
#37 of 187 in Takayama
146 reviews
Ayun Takayama Central Hotel
#69 of 187 in Takayama
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hotel Hana
#64 of 187 in Takayama
76 reviews
Takayama Station
Takayama City Hotel Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acty

Address: 3-46 Hanasato-machi, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 187 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Price Range: $108 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Acty 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Rakuten and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Acty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing