We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
44
30
15
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
30
15
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional japanese dishes hotel provided hot springs isolated suite kimono mountains beds slippers dinner sleeping baths onsen
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 94 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is 40min by car from Takayama. Do not stay here without a car, as public transport takes 75min and runs only 2-3 times a day. If booked in advance, the hotel offers pickup and dropoff from/to Takayama

As mentioned by another reviewer, the staff is amazing. Rooms are spacious and clean, although the bathrooms seem old and not so nice. The hotel has lots of tour groups coming in but does a good job in keeping them away from individual travelers.

At the hotel itself, there's not much to do. The onsen is a 2x2m half outdoor pool, separate for men and women as is custom in Japan. It is open all night, but closed between 09:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Not so great if you're stuck at the hotel.

We asked for activities, but there's really nothing on offer. Also no gym and just 5 japanese TV channels. We asked if the hotel van could take us to Takayama, but the manager refused. We did offer to pay for it, needless to say. We ended up taking public buses to Takayama for sightseeing.

Food: dinner was 10-15 courses, with many local specialties. We're not picky eaters, but most dishes just didn't appeal to us - except for the outstanding grilled beef. We had a decent red for 25 US/bottle, fair price. Again, staff at the restaurant was amazing. They only serve filter coffee by the way, no chance for a cappucino etc.

The hotel provides kimonos and slippers, and you are kindly asked to wear them at all times. Oh, and the last chance for breakfast was 08:30 on the first and 08 a.m. on the second day. Setting the alarm to 07:15 while on vacation might be ok for some. Definitely too early for us.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank bana_zulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
龍リゾートアンドスパ, Booking Service at Hotel Ryu Resort &Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

On behalf of the staff, I would like to thank you for choosing us during your precious time here.
We are truly grateful and delighted to have received your gracious comments.
Thank you for your candid review as well. We have passed on your feedback to our staff.
We will keep your gracious comments and invaluable feedback in our hearts, and will work hand in hand with our customers to strive towards an even higher level of excellence.
We presume you have enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your next trip here.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your kind words and for choosing our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2014

I'm rather conflicted about posting this review - I feel like I want to share what an experience we have had but I do not really want the secret out about this place. When planning this trip to takayama, I could not find any english review on Ryu Resort, so I suppose I need to do what's right...
Location: First, this place is only for those who want to be away from the madding crowd. It is very secluded and quiet, especially in winter. It is about 40km from Takayama main town centre. It is a mountain resort, surrounded by nature. The view is spectacular.
Hotel & room: When we first drove up to the resort, we were not very impressed with the exterior, a rather nondescript building. But once we stepped in, the lobby n the rooms were just as nice as what were shown on the website. We stayed at the corner stylish suite (the name, not my adjective) and it was huge. And of course it was immaculate as per most Japanese hotels. The onsen was gorgeous, it was outdoors and to take a bath while it was snowing was absolutely wonderful.
Food: The breakfast and dinner included in the half board were excellent. Every dinner was a delightful exploration of the senses.
Service: Sincere service! The staff bent over backwards to make our stay wonderful - from restaurant to front desk, everyone was just wonderful. Thank you Naoki for your hospitality!
Overall, it was a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Soolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
龍リゾートアンドスパ, Booking Service at Hotel Ryu Resort &Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

We are truly grateful to you for choosing our place.
The staff is truly grateful and delighted to be able to receive such high praise.
It is a great pleasure for us to be able to read your gracious comments.
Your warm words will motivate us to work hard to provide even better service from now on.
We hope to welcome you again during your next trip in the area.
On behalf of the staff, thank you for your kind words and your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 早めに行って周りを散策するなどしたほうがいいかな
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews