We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
186
60
12
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
60
12
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomprivate onsenhida beefwell worth the extra costskin feelsprivate onsettrain stationheated floorsshabu shabusingle sexwestern palatejapanese livingwelcome drinkkaiseiki dinnermultiple coursesamazing dinnerspoke good english
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 266 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2018

We stayed at this Ryokan for two nights which gave us one day to explore the town, which was quite enough as it is very small and easily done on foot. The Ryokan is slightly outside the main area but there is a shuttle bus from the station when you arrive (with the name on the outside of the bus) and they will drop you off and pick you up if you want to visit the market etc.
Pros - The staff are lovely and helpful, some with better English than others.
We were assigned our own gentleman who looked after us the whole time, checking us in, and serving all our meals with charm and a big smile.
Our room was a western style room i.e. western beds but everything else was purely Japanese.
The food served was interesting and better than the last Ryokan that we stayed in. If you don't like anything then just say and they will change the menu. I don't like raw fish so when my family had sashimi they made delicious tempura for me.
Cons - The shared onsen is rather small compared to others we have visited.
There are curtains in the room but only in the lounge area and not in the bedroom which is rather strange. Hence we were woken every morning by the bright sun at 5am.
The towels provided are tiny, like our hand towels but you can ask for more.
Fresh milk is not provided in the fridge and when we phoned for some we were told you have to buy it in the gift shop.
White wine by the glass is only Chardonnay and as a member of the ABC Club (Anything But Chardonnay) this was disappointing.
The air conditioning was not working while we stayed but we left all the windows open to cool the room which was ok.
The breakfast times are rather regimented. We wanted a lie in and breakfast at 9am as our train was not until 11.30 and check out is 11am, but were told latest is 8.30.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back away from the road and with a private onsen.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Australia1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2018

Of course, one needs to enjoy the ryokan experience--multi-course meals, onsen and tatami mats. The service is wonderful, friendly and highly professional. The food is fantastic but do not expect to eat and run. If requested, beds can be provided but I'd recommend the floor. Located a short drive from downtown, shuttle service is provided to the train station. I was a little concerned upon arriving when I saw how close the ryokan is to the road. But the rooms are very quiet. I like Takayama very much and will certainly stay here upon my return.

Room Tip: I would guess all rooms are good.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank speninosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2018

Hidatei Hanaougi was a fantastic place to stay in and we will always bear it in our minds. The rooms were traditional and elegant and the food (two different evening meals and breakfasts) was outstanding. The service was the best you can imagine, attentive, done in a caring and considerate way. The staff was really there for you as a guest and attended to the slightest wish you might have. The onsen was exciting and comfortable and had long opening hours. We strongly recommend this ryoka.
Unni and Magnus Bonnedal,
Sweden

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Magnus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

Well maintained ryokan with a very friendly and capable straff. The food and the bath were both great and we were taken care of in the most excellent way by a very friendly and helpful host who spoke really good English. We really loved the place.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Rrunner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Our first trip to Takayama and because od good reviews we decided to try staying at this Ryokan. We booked the room with private garden and onsen located in the first floor (twin room plus extra tatami mattress).

Check in process was very unique, sitting down at the Ryokan’s living room style sofas. The room was very spacious and we really enjoy relaxing in our private big onsen enough to fit the 4 of us.

Food is superb, we had the Japanese traditional dinner for both nights, the 2nd night we had the Hida beef Shabu Shabu (very very tender and good). There is a soba place on the ground floor serving late night noodle. Overall service is good, however be mindful on the strict Japanese specific customs while dinning at the Soba place. The place is served by a very senior Japanese man, no english and at one point he was angry at us. This can be our fault for not learning the Japanese custom in detail, but we are actually hoping for some understanding for this culture gap for international guests.

Special thanks for Mr Takao our very nice customer relation manager, he has helped us with bookings, as well as informing us some tips to enhance our stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank sutanwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews