We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
24
23
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
23
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japan alps onsen hotel outdoor onsen room was clean wonderful experience the bus english dinner ryokan
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 60 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2018

If you are looking for a true Japanese winter experience (Ryokan) with Tatami, Onsen and Kaiseki dining this is the place to go

Its in a small town, about 45mins from Takayama. So you really feel you are away from it all. The staff is very friendly and do their best despite having limited English skills.
We took the dinner package - highly recommended. You get the multi-course experience. There is a very cute Cafe Moustache 50metres for lunch,we adored it.
While the Onsen is fenced-off, the outdoor area feels very natural - being in a nice hot bath with snow falling on your face, and seeing snow clad hills - WOW, what more can I say!

The rooms are traditional - the heating is very good but the rooms can get very dry. It would be great if they provided humidifiers
Breakfast - we wanted Western style that they unfortunately do not serve. If they did something as simple as cereal with milk and toast I would increase my rating to a 5*

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-n-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2017

My family stayed a night here with 4A & 4C for next day Shirakawago trip and we got 2 japanese rooms. Overall experience:
1) Location : It is not located at the centre of Takayama actually. You need to take another 1 hour bus to travel to Hirayu Onsen in order to get to this hotel. However, the location is near to the bus terminal at Hirayu Onsen and it takes about 4-5 mins walk to the hotel
2) We got 2 Japanese Rooms, room size is good and very spacious, futons were transfered to tatami beds when we return from dinner. The sleep wears (Yukata) for adults and kids were provided
3) Front desk staff and very friendly and always smile on their face. They speak a little English but basically communication is not the problem. The staff served us dinner and breakfast were very detail in explaining the food and the correct way to eat it.
4) Dinner & Breakfast – Very good! The full set of Shabu shabu dinner come with lot of variety of food. It served with delicious Hida and love the sashimi which is very fresh and tasty too.
5) Onsen – The outdoor onsen is excellent! Especially when we were there, the temperature outside were drop to -9 degree and snow heavily. Soaking is the hot spring with admired the snow is really one of the perfect way to relax and enjoy! Totally in love with it.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_vacation77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2017

Stayed 2 nites from 3-5 Dec 2017, totally loved the experience. We were 2A3C and we stayed in a Japanese Family Room - everything was great. Room was clean and spacious, and especially impressed that the Front Desk was in fact expecting our arrival - when our car pulled up at the Front, the Manager came out to personally greet us by our name! He quickly settled us in, and knowing we were tired, were quick to give us the keys and showed us our rooms. Onsen was great...i Love that there was a "medium hot" pool cos most other onsens have either the hot and cold. The outdoor onsen was great...beautiful and big. Shampoo and shower gel were all top quality products...overall, we will surely come back again if possible.

Room Tip: Every room seems good
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2016

I found this hotel from the web. It is an average hotel, nothing surprise us and no specific complaint. Overall, this hotel is convenient if you are planning to stay in Hirayu. It is close to the bus stop to Kamikochi. There are not too many restaurant near by. The restaurant in the hotel is an average restaurant. The price is average too.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MaFamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

The room is great, gives you an authentic experience.

Private and public onsens with mountains view are incredible.

Hotels food is average and the hotel staff don't know english.

Hotel location is good, 3 minutes walk from the bus station.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank IdoMarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews