We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
363
176
38
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
176
38
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town train station breakfast and dinner morning market wooden bath hida beef espresso machine two nights wonderful experience sized room traditional dinner old lady traditional experience japanese inn language barrier sitting area japanese style
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 592 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Charming ryokan with friendly and helpful staff. Very well located--close to markets and historic old town, and an easy 10 minute walk to the train station. Tasty dinner and breakfast. Truly service with a smile.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RJBruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

Long story short: amazing service and highly recommended. This was my first time in a ryokan and I loved it. We booked reservations online directly from their website. We did not get charged on our credit card and we paid in cash when we checked out. They were responsive to our emails in English. Less than 5 min walk from Jr takayama station. They were able to hold our suitcases before check-in and after check out. You take off your shoes at the door and handed yukatas at check in. They are able to explain the basics in English. You wear the yukatas while in the ryokans. Ryokan Tanabe does not allow tattoos ; therefore we booked the room with a private bath. The room was so beautiful. Pictures on their website are accurate. Dinner service is between 6-730pm and they served us in our room. There was so much food! We were able to book massages in our room. It is an acupressure type of massage over your yukata. At first it didn't feel like the masseuse was doing much... But then I was so relaxed that I almost fell asleep several times. And without telling her, she was able to gauge my problem areas and focused on those spots. My boyfriend said his massage was strong and firm. My boyfriend enjoyed the onsens but said he preferred our private bath more and it was well worth paying extra. Breakfast is served between 7-8am. Check out is at 10am. The espresso machine at the front serves good strong coffee which is hard to find in Japan. Everyone we came across gave amazing service. Additionally, the couple who runs the ryokan was incredibly sweet and hospitable. Overall, we loved every minute of our stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gillybean604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2018

The Tanabe Ryokan is really well located close to the centre of town and within walking distance of the bus station. This a traditional Ryokan so shoes off at entrance. Our room was Tatami mats so no slippers and no wheeling luggage. There was a little sitting area outside of this with normal chairs otherwise it was a low table and floor chair. These were removed and Futon laid out whilst we had a traditional evening meal. The room and the Futon were very comfortable. On the ground floor were separate able/female hot tubs with 2 outside. This was really enjoyable and superb relaxation for the muscles. Breakfast was again traditional with no choice. We really enjoyed our visit - the coffee in the lounge was lovely!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2018

This lovely three-story ryokan is ideally situated half a block from the city’s main tourist thoroughfare, very close to the river & the morning market. We stayed in a room with a private bath & shower. Although sleeping on mats was unusual for us, we slept well.

Breakfast & dinner are served in the room & feature an astounding array of tiny, tasty dishes. We truly enjoyed our meals.

The hotel staff is exceedingly friendly & gracious. Although we don’t know many Japanese words, most of the staff is either bilingual or can communicate sufficiently with gestures & rudimentary English so being understood was never an issue.

Overall, this is a place we will fondly recall for years, being one of the highlights of our visit to Japan.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mtdrpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

Really good experience, traditional ryokan with a bit of modern taste here and there. Nice and tiny onsen. Staff extremely nice and always available to teach you and guide you in their culture. Worth it one night if you plan to pass by.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Yuri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews