We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
240
82
17
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
82
17
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station western breakfast old town hida beef room was spacious onsite onsen japanese style fire pit onsen bath japanese meal traditional hotel bento box explained everything very pleasant stay attached bathroom visiting takayama sitting area
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 351 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

The Asunaro is family run and you can tell straight away from the warmth of the welcome as you arrive. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Many of the staff speak English but only a few speak it well enough if you have complicated questions so please ask these during the day!

Our room was beautiful and there were so many lovely touches that made this Ryokan feel homely and elegant such fresh flowers in our room, and many smaller unique statues or ornaments that you wouldn’t find in a corporate hotel.

The owners were so polite and friendly and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this Ryokan.

If you can upgrade to a room with a fireplace then it is definitely worth it for the beautiful ambience it gives as well as the extra space.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KirstyClabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed two nights here staying in one of the traditional rooms. The room with ensure was comfortable but did not provide coffee, tea, sugar etc only Japanese tea. The set dinner was outstanding, tasty and plenty of it. The Onsen was enjoyable as well. One other negative.... There are signs everywhere telling you what you can and cannot do. The hotel is in a good location.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gellis1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018

The Asunaro is located about a five minute walk from the train station.
We were greeted with smiles when we arrived. The large common area has seating, huge dark beams across a high ceiling, reception area,and a garden view. A onsen is available .
Our room was large with a private bathroom, and tub with shower. A low table and a smaller round table with higher chairs were provided.
The breakfast was excellent. Multi bento box dishes beautifully presented.A western breakfast is also available.
Dinner was a multi- course Japanese meal. Fish,shashimi,meat,vegetables and more.
Our host and hostesses go out of their way to make this stay pleasurable.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

It has been the most beautiful ryokan we have been since we have arrived to Japan.It has all the facilitéis that someone can need.The girl who has attends us was so kind and she speack properly english,so we appreciate that.we extreamly recommend It.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank andaira82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2018

We booked Asunaro for a traditional ryokan experience and we were very happy with our stay. We checked-in a bit early and the (owner ?) was incredibly friendly and showed us to our room with excellent English. The ryokan is decorated with local themes and was quite enjoyable.

The room is quite big in our experience and the amenities included free drinks, tea, air conditioning purifier, etc. The owner provided helpful directions on different kinds of food nearby (we did not get meals). Sleeping on the tatami was very comfortable and warm!

There is an onsite onsen available, which we took full advantage of.

The location of this Ryokan is about a 5-10 min walk from the JR station and another 5-10 min walk to the old town, so quite easy to access everything.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews