We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
251
84
17
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
84
17
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station western breakfast old town room was spacious onsite onsen hida beef japanese style traditional hotel walking distance fire pit onsen bath kaiseki dinner bento box explained everything family run very pleasant stay attached bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 364 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in November. The location was perfect, right near the train station and the market. The hospitality was great, the gentleman who greeted us was very kind in showing us all the amenities and aspects of our room. The rooms were very spacious and beautiful. I especially enjoyed and appreciated all the instructions for foreigners on things like the Irori and the Onsen. Thanks for everything!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day stay which provided a great insight into a traditional hotel. Wearing kimono style attire provided by the hotel attire and a full Japanese meal of typical Japanese Fayre was the highlight of our 2 week trip.Our room was a recently refurbished and had plenty of space. Sleeping on the floor was an experience but ok for 2nights. The Japanese style breakfast was not quite my thing so I had the western equivalent on the second day. The hotel is a family run intimates day friendly.

Takayama has a magnificent festival every October. An event we were told should not be missed. If you are visiting in October make sure you check your dates. Unfortunately the feastival started on the day we left.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018

We enjoyed our stay at this ryokan very much. The tatami room was simple, but had everything you may need. Not a lot of storage space, but it was ok for us because we pack light. This may be an issue for people who have a lot of luggage.

We enjoyed Kaiseki dinner very much and I would highly recommend it: you need to reserve at the same time you reserve the room because the availability is limited.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infntyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful stay at Ryokan Asunaro. Unfortunately only 1 1/2 days but truly memorable. The Ryokan is traditional with modern comforts. We were greeted by the owner family upon arrival as family friends and shown to our beautiful room. All amenities explained. Our room had a large bedroom with a sitting area. We had a dining room with traditional seating and a small Western table. Our Bathroom was fully modernized, Japanese style. We were introduced to their hot spring baths and how to don Kymono.
We ate dinner where mostly locals eat. The menus all in Japanese. We had 5 small “tapas” like dishes. Turned out the owners were school mates together and that led to a lively after dinner conversation in the main parlor.
The lobby and hallways are all beautifully decorated with Japanese art and artifacts. The building architecturally “old style” and so warm and welcoming.
Here’s the piece de resistance, we were saying our thank you’s to the host family and they were giving us their thanks and presents when we realized our train back to Kyoto was leaving in 10 minutes. Our host ran to his car and got us to the Railroad Station in time. Now that’s definitely above and beyond.
We will never forget our beautiful day in Takayama!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank judithhochstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018

We recently stayed for 2 nights in the beautiful city of Takayama. We arrived by train and easily made the short walk to Ryokan Asunaro. The check-in process was handled with friendship and efficiency, and all necessary information provided. We stayed in room 201, which was very traditional and spotlessly clean. We ate dinner and breakfast (western) downstairs in the main restaurant. The Japanese dinners, with printed menu, were exceptional with many small tasty items. My wife's vegetarian preference was handled without fuss. They have an on-site onsen which we used each day - very relaxing. We were continually impressed by the friendship and courteousness of all staff. This s a very special ryokan which we highly recommend.

Room tip: Room 201 (delux)
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doyoulikeourname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews