We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
27
35
16
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
35
16
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free coffee shower cap one night stay on arrival excellent location train station typhoon lobby castle
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 80 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here two nights recently. The Southern cross is a very tidy well located hotel. a 5 minute walk to the castle nd also the Nakamichi area, its ideal. It also is only 600 metres from the main station. We spent the little extra and booked the larger room. Is well worth it, twice the floor area so you can spread out a bit. The rooms were very clean. The bathroom excellant. The breakfast at 500Yen a head is also very good value. Staff were very helpful. and there is even a free coffee machine in the lobby. Well worth staying here.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

The room is very small and could definitely use some freshing up. There is no cleaning during your stay although you get new towels and can get free stuff such as toothbrish, sponge, shower cap in the reception. There is free coffee, tea. The breakfast is very mediocre but also only cost 500 yen. Located close to the castel and approx 10 min walk from the center / station.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Annemette Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

It's best point is less than 5 minutes walk to Matsumoto castle. It's also walkable from the train station although on arrival I took the bus as it was raining. At departure I walked with my luggage. It is modern but it has seen better days and probably needs some refurbishment. Still, everything was comfortable and clean. The staff was helpful but did not speak much English and that is a problem when asking for help in finding a restaurant and directions. There are good restaurants nearby.
You'll have to use the key to lock the door. Most hotels have doors that just shut and locks without the need for the key. So remember to lock with the key after shutting the door or your room will be accessible.
For it's excellent location they should refurbish the hotel, improve their service and they can become a more up market hotel.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is near the matsumoto castle. Everything is good. We are a bit unlucky as we met the typhoon. During the night, rain comes in from the window and wet all my cloth where I locate next to the window.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank choy_yin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

We were really impressed by the service and friendliness of the staff here, in particular when we had to rearrange our travel plans at the last minute after a typhoon scuppered our journey to Matsumoto.
The location is great, close to the Matsumoto Castle and easily walkable from the station. While the hotel is perhaps a little dated, the good price and excellent staff made it a great place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nickin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews