We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
16
68
38
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
68
38
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean japanese breakfast japanese hotels tokyo english
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 130 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2017

This hotel is the same layout and standard as the Toyoko Hotel in Shinagawa,Tokyo. This appears to be a hotel aimed at the business traveller. The hotel is 3-star and relatively cheap but acceptable. Serves a Japanese breakfast but you need to find dinner outside the hotel. The rooms are quite small by Australian standards, even with the bed pushed into the corner providing access from only one side. One thing to note is that the bed is as a hard as a rock so if, like us, you are not used to a very hard mattress, you might find it difficult to get comfortable. Still, the room was clean and had all the things you would normally expect, including a safe. The bathroom is also cramped and for those on the 'largish' size it might prove a challenge. English speaking is limited in the hotel but we were always able to find English speaking staff at the front counter.

There is a 7-Eleven nearby providing an international ATM. Lots of restaurants are dotted around the local area. The is an English pub (Old Rock Pub) within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. No problem with English at the pub and meals were predominantly Japanese. A good place for a Guinness and a popular haunt for tourists stepping off the tour buses.

Room Tip: An early breakfast will allow you to miss the rush. Select a room away from teh lifts.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StevefromNorthLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

As we were on a tour I am unaware of the cost of this hotel but it was definitely 'budget'.
Tiny rooms all slightly depressing. Breakfast, served in the lobby adjacent to the lift, had the feel of a second rate canteen.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank crow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights after our epic trip in the alpine route, the location is quite accessible from JR Matsumoto Station. Service and cleanliness were great as usual, Toyoko Inn has always been my choice of stay during my time in Japan, because of their wonderful value and comfort level. Room is quite small but it always felt sufficient for me, as we needed only a place to sleep after a long day of traveling outside. Definitely the place to look for if you are on a tight budget, especially with their awesome lifetime membership.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016

We stayed for three nights here in August 2016 on a tour of Japan. The location is in a reasonably quiet square about 5 minutes walk from the main railway station. Check-in and check-out was efficiently handled by helpful and cheerful staff. The room was a double room and had marginally more space than other places that we stayed at on our journey in Japan but would have been more spacious without some of the furniture included (three chairs and a round table). The bed was comfortable and we had peaceful nights of sleep. The breakfast buffet was good and kept us going for most of the day. For a budget hotel this is and excellent choice of place to stay in Matsumoto.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2015

So stayed at yet another Toyoko Inn. This was the first one after almost 7 years. Most of the Toyoko Inns are similar. They are like the Best Westerns back in the US. They're nice business budget hotels with good amenities. All the Toyokos have a dining room/area close to the lobby. On the ground floor there's usually a small laundry room with pay washer and dryer. There are also vending machines with water, coffee, snacks, and soft drinks. Word for those who may not be aware, breakfast is Japanese style, which means tea, miso soup, and rice with choice of accompanying condiments.

Each room I stayed at was a single room with a clean comfy bed. Room also came with a desk, fridge, small closet, and small all-in-one bathroom. For the uninitiated, the bathroom is slightly elevated. It is a step up from the rest of the room. The tub is a large and deep Japanese style tub. The toilet seat has a bunch of buttons to control the warmth of the seat, activate the bidet function, and do some other things. Toiletries are great and are all in one convenient location, no more little bottles or loose bars of soap.

For the price, the value you get from a Toyoko is outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews