We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
50
151
73
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
151
73
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jr station the bus great location matsumoto castle normal size room with twin beds non smoking coin laundry minute walk stayed for nights hotel room tokyo facilities supermarket alps
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 290 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

It is right in front of Matsumoto station and Bus terminal. About 15-20min to Matsumoto castle and it's a nice walk. Room is very small but they have everything you need. Breakfast downstairs was very good. There is a free cell phone you can borrow for free in your room and it was convenient because wifi was faster than my cell phone. Hotel is spotless and quiet. It's pretty normal to have a smaller size room in Japan especially when price is around $100 so you may want to get used to that but everything was great. The mall next door was great. There are ATM machine for people from overseas, information center, supermarket and dollar store and drug store. Going to drug store in Japan is fun because there are make up and skincare items also. If you show your foreign passport tax is exempt at drug store. Hotel also offer nonstop service to Kamikouchi you pay around $50-55 per person that's $10-15 more than all day pass but to me it was worth it because it's a nice small shuttle and takes you straight to Kamikouchi and you have about 5 hours there that's plenty. Make sure to bring water and snack because drinks are expensive in the mountain. I took bullet train to Matsumoto and bus back to Tokyo. You save $20 if you take a bus it is very comfortable but it stops at several places and takes longer for sure. You can buy a bus ticket at information center. We didn't have to drag our bags because bus station is next building and train station is right in front of this hotel. If you are looking for affordable but clean place to stay you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank junechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the Alpico Plaza during our stay in Matsumoto and found the hotel to be ideal in all respects.

Firstly the location really is superb. Right across the road from the train station, next door to the bus station and within easy walking distance from all the things you'd want to see (castle, museum, shops etc). There's an abundance of places to eat and drink nearby, including a decent 7/11 if you need one. The Alpico mall is right next door and has a supermarket in the basement and plenty of other shops to keep you busy.

The hotel itself is great, an ideal base to explore the surrounding area. The room is huge by Japanese standards but normal size by UK standards and was very clean! We had two twin beds, a small table and a chair, and we still had plenty of room to move and store our bags etc. The beds are very comfy with clean linen and nice pillows. There's the usual facilities such as kettle, tea/coffee, fridge, hairdryer etc (iron upon request). There's a tv too but we didn't find any English speaking channels.
The bathroom was clean and functional, a nice size too. A decent hot shower, free toiletries and a warm loo seat...what more do you need?!

While we didn't eat breakfast at the hotel there is a restaurant on the ground floor that seems to be associated with the hotel. The staff were very polite and helpful, even giving us a non smoking room despite our booking being for a smoking room. We requested a high room and got 1118 which was lovely a quiet, no noise from outside. We also really loved hiring the free hotel bikes and littering around Matsumoto...it really is the best way to get around the town!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank asimplekindagal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018

Lovely room excellent service. good location fro getting out and about by yourself, plenty to see within easy distance. If you don't want to walk take a cab show the driver where you want to go on a map no problems. Watch out for taxi doors most open automatically for you.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2018

The hotel room was convenient, only about a block from the train station. Plenty of restaurants around the area. It was a small room. Bathroom was a little unstable as it was a prefabricated plastic room. Easy flat walk to Matsumoto Castle (15 mins) and Nawate St.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018

We had to ask to change rooms as the first room we were given smelt of smoke. The rooms are very small and with two adults and two large cases it is very difficult to move around. The breakfast is not very good either. The space where you get the food is very cramped and difficult for people to move. There was not much choice either western or Japanese. Everything kept running out and there was only one person to replenish the food.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudeford123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews