We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Okayama
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels / Ryokan in Okayama
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“convenient location”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed only one night, basically transferred from the South of Japan to go to Kyotot the other day. The staff was very freindly and helpful. We got a nice upgrade, huge room with a beautiful view. There were plenty of restaurants in the mall of the train station next by. Opposite the hotel there are also a few "biergartens" on the roof tops, but no worry the buildings are far away and although you can see the activity on the roofs there is no noise.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    222
    67
    12
    5
See reviews for
87
77
73
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Great location and its huge size is the only thing decent about this old, worn out, extremely expensive (for what you get) room. No updates since at least the early 80s. I would not stay here again.

Service is impeccable as it is almost everywhere in Japan

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

The Granvia (owned by JR West) is newly renovated and good value in terms of quality and location. Front desk employees are very helpful and service around the hotel is of a high standard, as you would expect. (European) Breakfast was average, but acceptable. Rooms are large and well equipped including free LAN internet. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The only gripe is that the shower is a bath shower and not standalone.

The location is the best and is well placed for local Okayama sights as well as train services to Kurashiki

Relatively pricy given the current exchange rates, but well worth splashing out.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This is probably the most grand hotel in Okayama.

The location couldn't be better; you can leave Shinkansen and walk there without getting wet on a rainy day.

Our room was very clean, modern and spacious. Not sure if it's the same for all the others, but we had a great view of the railway station. This must be a heaven for trainspotters who can see all shinkansens coming and going !

The staff were professional and efficient. They answered all the questions we had.

We didn't think the breakfast had a great choice, or maybe we were spoiled having staying in other four star hotels.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepOnTravelling23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taku, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed in this hotel mainly because of its very accessible location right next to the Okayama train station. The room we had was larger and more sophisticated than we had anticipated - full bathroom, complimentary robes, toiletries etc; fridge; TV; small table; complimentary internet and very comfy beds.
We asked the hotel concierge twice on local eating suggestions and were delighted with their recommendations. Excellent service, very professional and good level of English if required.
Only small downside was that the hotel pool and gym area was closed - it only opens during the summer peak season

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxypez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,827 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,179 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed for three nights at the Hotel Granvia Okayama for a combination business/leisure trip. On the upside, this hotel has an excellent location, next to the railroad station. A covered passageway on the station's second floor leads directly into the hotel. The staff smiled and constantly tried to provide assistance, despite communication problems. Our good-sized room was immaculate with extremely comfortable beds and many amenities, including robes, slippers and plenty of extras, such as hair and tooth brushes, which were replaced if used. A complementary copy of the Japan Times waited outside our door each morning, and an adequate Western buffet breakfast was included in the room price.

On the downside, we expected more from a 4-star international class hotel. In similar hotels worldwide, we have usually found at least one staff member who is fluent in English. We wanted this in Okayama as we do not speak Japanese. Instead, we found that even simple questions, such as where is the post office and is there a station in English on the television, were not understood. The card key to our room failed on two occasions, requiring a return to the lobby, 15 floors below. Another trip had to be made to the lobby because of problems with our telephone. At times, we had problems connecting to the Internet in our room. One morning, we had to wait for 15 minutes to get a table for breakfast. Our room overlooked the railroad station. Though we heard no
trains, the noise from station announcements sometimes interfered with sleep.

Based on the inconveniences we experienced during our stay, I cannot give this hotel a higher than "average" rating.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

The Hotel Granvia Okayama, is a great hotel. It is right in the middle of okayama, near plenty of shops and right next to the train station (which if you don't know, train stations hold wonderful shops underneath them, so go check it out).

The room itself is quite spacious with a lovely bathroom and powder area seperate with a vanity and nice bath and face products. The beds are firm, but extremely comfortable and the doonas are lovely and fluffy and warm. The colours are neutral and soft and create a serene area to rest away from the hussle bussle of okayama city.

They breakfast in Olivers Cafe is very nice with a range of Western and Japanese Breakfast items, but there is not a huge amount. However, there are plenty of fabulous restaurants and take away food places at the train station and around the hotel for your lunch and dinners.

All in all a very nice place to stay in Okayama and I would go back to stay at the Granvia if I were ever back in Okayama.

  • Liked — The Modern Spacious Rooms
  • Disliked — The Crazy Bar Fridge, you can't take any thing out to see what it is . A little flap shuts behind it and then you can't put it back in.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlieshaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okayama hotels
Okayama Station
Ana Crowne Plaza Okayama
Okayama Koraku Hotel
#1 of 62 in Okayama
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Okayama Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Okayama Ekimae
Via inn Okayama
#4 of 62 in Okayama
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Okayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Okayama

Property: Hotel Granvia Okayama
Address: 1-5 Ekimotomachi, Okayama 700-0024, Okayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Okayama Prefecture > Okayama > Okayama Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels / Ryokan in Okayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Granvia Okayama 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granvia Okayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing