We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
C$100
Fully refundable before Fri, Mar 8
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveller rating
265
472
118
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
265
472
118
23
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 896 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2019

This is a satisfactory hotel of the international variety. The room we had was an ample size, with a great view over the bay towards the mountains. The Wi-Fi was good and we found enough power points to satisfy our requirements. Staff were very helpful. The breakfast buffet was very large and offered a wide range of foodstuffs. I also enjoyed the Level 8 bar at night. It’s in a harbour area away from the city proper but there is a seven-eleven nearby.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanderra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ホテル 函, 支配人 at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2019

This hotel is well located by the bay for walking access to the red brick "warehouse" stores and small restaurants and also to the morning seafood market place. The accompanying picture is deceptive and the hotel is very large and roomy; the east wing apparently was the older building but remodeled recently with nice upgrades. The buffet breakfast was very good. To access the top floor onsen, you need to tap the elevator button with your door card.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank Glenn808
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ホテル 函, 支配人 at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2019 via mobile

Not much activities within the hotel, even the evening Bingo game was cancelled. Buffet style dinner hall is large and comfortable. However, the selection was not average. Me and wife list the beef, small steamboat and fish soup being the best. Desert is quite limited. Being famous of the dairy milk product, l thought the ice cream must be better.

There is a small provision store just behind the reception counter and it allow tasting for its tit bits.
Room are comfortable with tatami style sleeping. Toilet is small as expected.

Cheers.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank kongchieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ホテル 函, 支配人 at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Hokkaido. Unfortunately, our hotel does not have a bingo game or a buffet dinner.
However, our chef’s signature dishes can be enjoyed for breakfast and dinner.
I hope you consider choosing us the next time you come to our neighborhood. All of our staff look forward to seeing you.
Sincerely, Kazumi Sasaki, General Manager, Hakodate Kokusai Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

大きくて、一部リニューアルもされており立派なホテルです。客室の水回りは古さを感じますが清潔に清掃されています。少し歩きますが朝市も歩いて行けます。頑張ればロープウェイも歩けます。ホテル前から空港行きのバスもあり便利です。

The hotel is located on the way to Mt. Hakodate from Hakodate station. 30 minutes walk takes you the mountain.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 900nippon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ホテル 函, 支配人 at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019
Google Translation

この度は、函館国際ホテルをご利用賜り、誠にありがとうございます。
また、ご多用の中感想をお寄せいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。
今回のご宿泊では、ごゆっくりとご滞在できましたでしょうか?
当ホテルは、2018年に東館リニューアル、そして2018年12月に新築の本館が完成し、待望のグランドオープンをいたしました。
老舗ながらも進化をし続ける当ホテルを、今後ともご愛顧いただければ、嬉しく存じます。
お客様に再度お目にかかれます日を、スタッフ一同心よりお待ち申し上げております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2018 via mobile

My son brand new disney plush toy was missing from the room and the hotel refused to take any responsibilities. They didn’t even bother to help to check with housekeeping if it was removed from the room accidentally with the bedsheets or towels. The manager said it’s not their responsibility that the toy was lost from the room. Very poor customer service. Luckily it is only a plush and not passport or other valuables.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank ClaraNgKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews