We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay if attending a conference in Makuhari messe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiba
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay if attending a conference in Makuhari messe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Plus points of this hotel are the public baths (free for guests), nice views particularly from the bar on the 50th floor, walkway to the conference centre (messe), 24-hour convenience store, many reasonably-priced restaurants nearby in various hotels and business buildings, and direct bus to/from Narita airport (40 minutes). Small rooms and pre-fabricated bathrooms that other reviewers complain about are standard for Japanese business hotels. Free internet connection: in-room wired internet was fast but wi-fi in lobby was slow.

Room Tip: ask for a room on an upper floor (mine was on 43)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    425
    237
    70
    38
See reviews for
218
146
158
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

It's very near to outlet & Aeon shopping mall. U can go to shopping by walk on skywalk which connect to hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Stayed at APA near Tokyo Bay, Chiba City for 7 nights. The rooms are larger than the typical Tokyo rooms but still small for western standards. The Room was very clean and compact. Beds very low but full pillows were welcoming. Coffee maker and coffee available in room and a tiny fridge. You get free water if you do certain things like recycle your garbage and don't request daily bed linen changes. The staff were friendly and attentive. The area doesn't offer much in terms of entertainment but there were many restaurants to choose from. Internet was not wireless so be sure your computer has a port to hook up the connection. Would stay there for future meetings/conferences.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DingSLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Having read previous reviews I was apprenhensive about this hotel. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Very convenient with covered walkway to Messe. Yes, my room was small but so am I and I was travelling alone, so it didn't matter. The hotel in general was very clean, and my room in particular was well-equipped with all necessary gear (eg: internet access), clean and quiet. 23rd floor with great view across Tokyo Bay. Non-smoking. Many reasonable restaurants within easy walking distance. Stayed 4 nights. Shuttle bus to airport. Free bus to rail station although it's just as quick to walk.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Houndspool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

Firstly the location is the best for anyone going for the exhibition at Makuhari. It's the closest hotel and very convenient to go through the connecting walk way.

It was also very good to have the convenient store within the hotel. I had friends staying at Spring Hotel - a very nice hotel, but late at night when it was freezing cold we had to run to the 7-Eleven for some thing we forgot to bring.

The rooms, however, were fairly old and stuffy. The bathroom seemed as though it was premade in a boxlike shape and just put into the room afterwards. There was a strong smell in the room, I'm not too sure if it's the stuffiness or the smokers before my stay. However, the rooms were reasonably clean and it had everything I needed.

The beds were nice and comfortable, but they were placed with the head by the walls behind the glass windows. The cold came in right through and made half the bed cold throughout the night and so I ended up sleeping on the opposite side instead.

The shops were a bit far, and the station into Tokyo was even further. Therefore, this hotel is only recommended to those attending the an exhibition for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeisureKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

The hotel is old, rooms are small, room also smelled bad. I didn't have any place to put my bags, almost no room in the closet, had to climb over stuff to get to my bed. Internet speed was incredibly slow, so slow you couldn't do any work on the internet. Just sending an email takes 10 minutes.

The bed was also particularly bad, certainly over a long day on the fair. You can actually feel the springs in the mattras.

Breakfast was fair, not great but fair.

If you go for business, take the New Otani or Hotel Francks.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Parafix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiba hotels

Baghdad
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

I stayed 2 weeks in APA hotel in Chipa , when i arrived they gave me aroom in 20th floor when i saw the room i shoked , u ll not beleive it , it was very dirty !!!!!! , very small and in a smoken floor so the smell was very bad
i decieded to leave the hotel but the staff was very nice so they gave me another room in 44th floor , it was v small but clean
the breakfast was nice the staff was soo nice, the view was nice also ,but always very hot
i like chipa, i like the chapanies people

lady
from baghdad

Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank samraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiba hotels
Kaihin Makuhari Station
New Otani Makuhari Hotel
Hotel Francs
#6 of 45 in Chiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel Green Tower Makuhari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel Springs Makuhari
Hotel Springs Makuhari
#11 of 45 in Chiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Hotel Sunroute Chiba
#8 of 45 in Chiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Chiba Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Chiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari

Property: APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari
Address: 2-3 Hibino, Mihama-ku, Chiba 261-0021, Chiba Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Chiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari 3*
Number of rooms: 1501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising majestically over Tokyo Bay, the metropolitan Makuhari Prince Hotel is drawing worldwide acclaim as Japan's newest international business center. The 50-story tower is conveniently connected by an arcade to Makuhari Messe, which hosts some of the world's most important trade shows.Offering a high level of hospitality, this urban hotel has some outstanding features including restaurants with spectacular views, and state-of-the art wedding and conference facilities. Best of all, the Makuhari Prince is strategically located near both business and leisure areas of Tokyo, making it the perfect starting point for business travelers who also want to add some vacation time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten and Travelocity so you can book your APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel And Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari
Apa Hotel Chiba
Apa Hotel Tokyo Bay Makuhari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing