We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Gora Kansuiro(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Ryokan 
Mount View Hakone(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Fukuzumiro Ryokan(Hakone-machi)
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ryokan 
Hakone Manatee(Hakone-machi)
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hakone Pax Yoshino(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Aura Tachibana(Hakone-machi)
US$284
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Okada(Hakone-machi)
US$319
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$486
US$426
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Gora Hanaougi(Hakone-machi)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
66
48
19
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
48
19
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfoot bathhot stonewelcome drinkweary feetcable carhot mineral bathlobby barprivate onsenstaff was very friendly and helpfultraditional ryokanminute walkfourth floorroom rateopen air museumjapanese foodupon checkmoment you arrive
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 153 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2016

The hotel's main selling point of the warm foot-bath along the bar is, frankly, just annoying. If you want to have a drink you not only have to hope to find a passing member of staff (who will serve you a massively overpriced short measure) you also have to take your shoes and socks off and then when you are done, dry your feet before you can do anything else. It's a daft idea.
The major, very major downside at the moment is that directly at the back of the hotel is a building site - apparently a new hotel is on the way, which will ruin the view and any chance of relaxation in the hot tub on the balcony.
The only enjoyable thing about our stay was the lovely lady who served us at breakfast and explained not only what everything was but also the best way to tackle it.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terence1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

I am sorry I spent twice the price of the palace hotel in Tokyo in this Ryokan
Service was bad with screaming kids in the restaurant but more importantly got sick for 5 days because of what they served for diner!
So basically ruined a so far great time in Japan!
Oh by the way view on construction site from the room!!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
6  Thank Jerome H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2016

We booked on the basis of other Trip Advisor reviews and were a little disappointed. Firstly the positives, its near the station (but be warned the signage outside is only in Japanese); the staff are very helpful and the staff and service in the dining area are really very good. On the flip side; we stayed in Room 307 and had our own hot tub on the balcony which was lovely. However the decor in the room is shabby and could do with a fresh lick of paint and the scuff marks on the walls need to be cleaned, the furniture was chipped and marked in some places it had clearly seen better days; the room could do with a good clean (cobwebs were hanging from the ceiling in numerous places) and the ashtray at the entrance door is a little off putting. Be advised that this is a Japanese experience as a consequence all of the information and instructions in the room was in Japanese and nothing was in English. Dinner is way to early for our liking we were asked to come to the dining room at 6.30pm. The first nights dinner consisted of 7 courses and it was very rushed - breakfast was early and we allocated a 7.30am slot which was okay for us as we are early risers but this might not suit everyone. I would also add that this is a bit early for raw fish. All in all it was okay but we would not be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Cantium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2016

We were a little early arriving at Gora Tensui. Our room was ready but we did not experience the check in described by other guest which included a hot water footpath with champagne. No worries, the young man who welcomed us invited us to have complementary drinks later. We were led to our room which was a bit of a disappointment. The views were of a vacant lot which was unkept and there was an odor of sewage from outside which may have had to do with the heavy rainfall that day. Mountains in the distance were nice! The futon beds were more comfortable than I thought they would be, actually slept well. The staff was very nice and offered us a lovely selection of yukata's and slippers to wear throughout the hotel which was a very nice tradition. Every hotel and ryokan we stayed at provided these to us, so keep in mind. You do not need to bring sleepwear with you. We enjoyed the service in the dining area. The hostess were very friendly, charming. The Japanese food was fun to experience and very good. Because of the rain many of the activities nearby were closed. Walking in the area nearby hotel is full of steep hills so be sure to wear comfortable shoes. We really enjoyed the sulphur baths a couple of times a day and just rested for the busy schedule we had ahead of us. Overall it was a nice, comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Not sure if any rooms have a good view. If you are particular, ask for best view available in your reservations.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Onlythebest1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

Tensui is ideally located 1 minute walk from the train station. The lobby is spacious and you are welcome with a glass to drink and invited to dip you feet in the water running by the lobby bar while sitting at it.

The room was simple but very charming and done with a lot of taste. The onsen area in the lower ground floor was spacious enough and the private pool on the 4th floor ideal to relax for couple. The hot stone room was also a great experience.

We also enjoyed our dinner and breakfast there even if we couldn't really tell the difference between the two as they were typical japanese.

All in all, a great place to stay !

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Fabien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews