We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice experience!”

Steak House Yoshiike
Ranked #24 of 473 Restaurants in Hakone-machi
Price range: US$26 - US$44
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

Now we were the only customers at the time of our visit and I also feel the need to point out this is very expensive. We had set menu and a bottle of wine and it came to around 20,000 yen. Having said all of that 5 stars!

The food was Excellent! We had the set menu which was starter, soup, salad, steak (we had sirloin) with miso soup and rice or bread, pudding and coffee or tea. We also had a lovely bottle of wine. The service was first class. Wine kept being filled up and the courses kept coming!

The thing that made it for me was that your steak is cooked in front of you and expertly. This for us was a really experience. Like having your own personal chef. The steak melted in the mouth. The chef was lovely and just got on with his cooking whilst we chatted and spoke to us when he needed. Again, service great and we moved to the lounge for pudding and tea/coffee.

A lovely overall dining experience. A real special treat.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Lianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

So wandering around Hakone Yumote on our last night of three and everywhere was shut, at 830 in the evening. On a Friday. Anyway, we wandered in here, because literally it was the only place. We looked at the menu, saw the prices but we didn’t have any other choice. We ordered a sirloin steak and two plates of Yoshiike Chicken, two rices. We specified for the sirloin to be cooked well done. But it came back more or less still alive, with blood seeping out of it. They did rectify this but then when we did try it, it was full of fat. Hopefully the chicken will be better. It looked decent enough but it was so bland, we had to put an oceans worth of salt on it to make it even palatable. It was the blandest chicken I’ve ever had, a real disappointment. The only plus was the rice. We paid £45 for this swill and I think we should have been paid that to endure it.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank sheffielder68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2018

The Yoshiike Steak House specialises in teppanyaki (teppan: hot metal plate; yaki: grill) and is part of the Yoshiike Ryokan (Japanese style hotel) in the city of Hakone, Japan. Being a hot-spring district it is set amongst beautiful countryside with plenty of greens and water around.
Recommended by the manager of the hotel I stayed in, the YSH did not disappoint at all. It is a rather simplistically designed restaurant which was quite different from the luxurious décor found in teppanyakis in Tokyo. Seats are arranged along a large and long teppan-table only so for those who does not like smoke and grease this is not for you. Each table is served by a chef who acts as both chef and waiter - any requests one only has to convey to him and it's done.
The menu is simple with three courses - teppan beef course, teppan premium beef course, and teppan deluxe beef course - with choices of sirloin or mignon steaks of two sizes (150 or 300g) and a variety of fried vegetables and seafood.as add on items. The three courses are basically the same - differing only with the grades and cut of beef - and consist of soup, salad, beef, rice / noodles and dessert, plus any extra add on one desires. I ordered a premium beef course at JPY10000 (around US$90) with an extra scallop and a king prawn (JPY1500 for both ~ USD14).
The salad was - well, just a salad. Soup was, surprisingly, French cream of onion soup which was quite a welcoming change from Miso soup. The scallop was a Hokkaido scallop the size of a bull's eye and was fresh and delicious. The king prawn was also superb, which was expected since Japan is kind of famous for seafood. Both were cooked perfectly and together with a sauce made from cooking the prawn's head in wine (thereby extracting all the tasty juices) and butter it simply could not fail. I chose a large sirloin steak. The steak was cut into bit-sized cubes ( of course, since one has to eat them with chopsticks) and fried with garlic slices (pre-cooked in oil so that they're crispy). That too was cooked to perfection.
[Note: It is a tradition in Japanese teppanyakis that the fat of the steak is trimmed off and grilled slowly on the side getting rid of all its oil making them into cracklings. This is done so that a. customers would not be biting into pieces of fat which might contain ligaments, and b. it being a delicious snack. These cracklings are devilishly tasty when dipped lightly in soy-sauce and goes superbly with beer. A must try for those un-health-conscious people out there!]
The fried rice was done with chopped vegetables but on request you could ask for it bacon fried.
Dessert was ice cream and chocolate cake taken in the lounge of the hotel outside the restaurant after settling the bill. It was nothing special but a rather welcomed refreshment after all the heavy tastes of the meal.
My only comment would be the size of the steak would not be quite enough for a westerner but for me, together with other items, it was plenty.
Overall this is an excellent find in the heart of hot-spring-land and would definitely be back if I am in the area.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

This is the place. Nicely located and great and friendly staff. The food was amazing and the menu had everything you would want for a great meat menu. Highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Perry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

Great if you’re looking for a quick big excellent steak near Hakone-Yumoto station. Space is limited because each pair of seats has a grill in front of them where the friendly chef will cook your food right in front of you. The meal was simple but excellent. It isn’t cheap but the ambience is great.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank markcB2527PI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steak House Yoshiike also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Steak House Yoshiike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing