We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for soba ”

Hatsuhana Soba Shinkan
Ranked #26 of 473 Restaurants in Hakone-machi
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

There are actually two locations. They are separated by the river (and are within about 5-10 minutes walk of each other) the one closer to the Main Street closed at 18h the day we were there (a Monday) while the one further away (across The river) closes at 19h.

We tried the cold soba, and tempura and hot soba. We enjoyed it!

It was quiet the day we were at Hakone (rainy weekday) so we managed to get a seat with a river view.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank drlcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 91 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2018

Busy, but worth the short wait for seats. Delicious cold soba full of flavour. Light and crispy tempura. Lovely efficient but friendly service, even an English menu

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank venividivice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017

I think it's the biggest and popular restaurant in Hakone-Machi, their location accross the bridge at riverside just about 10 minutes walk from station. We queueing about 15 minutes. We ordered soba, taste very traditional and authentic. We sat together with other customers in round table all japanese. There are seats face the window with the river view, but they take us to the round table that's ok.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

Soba at its best, with tempura or in a dashi broth, perfect for an evening treat after long walks or a soak in the many onsen in the area! 10 mn walk from the station, views of the river. Get in early as this place is very popular comes 6pm!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Edith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

Japanese know how to do noodles !
And they know how to charge a lot for them !
Nice place tucked away !
Nice interiors set in amongst the trees !
Specialty is cold noodles !
Cool ! But I still like my noodles got !
I like comfort food !
Nice place !

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Ciregnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hatsuhana Soba Shinkan also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Hatsuhana Soba Shinkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing