We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what a fantastic place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hakone Ginyu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hakone Ginyu
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wow what a fantastic place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed here our second night on our first trip to Japan. It was like being transported into another world. We were greeted by friendly staff with fruit juice and an exquisite view from where we signed in. We had a ground floor suite, so had our own quite large hot spring on the patio. It was magnificent. A view of the mountains and forest from the patio. Soft lights in the hallways with the sound of staff scuffling by in their slippers. Everything about this place was tasteful. We were given kimonos when we arrived and stayed in them our whole stay there. The suite was traditionally Japanese with paper walls. This is one of the nicest places we have stayed in and we have done a lot of traveling. It was exquisite. A high sense of aesthetics-of course that is Japan. The food was served in our suite and it was excellent. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed this beautiful peaceful place.

Room Tip: Each room has a hot tub but the ground floor rooms have large patios with a hot spring on them as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arunk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    92
    36
    22
    14
See reviews for
117
227
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Room is amazing. Private bath and spacey Room. There're Dinner room, Bedroom, Shower, and Rotemburo. We'd done a research on ryokan with in room private bath and this hotel came in choice#1 with its price, room provided, location. not far from cable car station. Dinner & Breakfast were excellent. the only little thing is the smell in the toilet (dont know if it's from the spray they used - but we dont like it). Service was almost perfect. but recommended all in all.

Room Tip: Any room should do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tunwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was a highlight of our trip. My husband was in Tokyo for business and we escaped here for a few days to relax. The minute you walk in, you are assigned your personal assistant who takes your clothes and shoes away to garb you in Japanese loungewear. We loved the quietness and serenity of the place. It was like we were the only ones there. We stayed in a Sora room (Japanese style) and never wanted to leave. It was very clean and spacious and beautifully decorated. The dinners were delicious and meticulously prepared and served. We were pampered the entire time we were there. We enjoyed the massages and the single sex pools were out of a movie. Make time to go to the Hakone Open Air Museum.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank labrazacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Our stay at Hakone Ginyu was amazing. I would highly recommend Hakone Ginyu and would love to stay here again.

From the train to Hakone on the Romancecar, to the Tozan Line ride to Miyanoshita Station, the ride to get to the Hakone Ginyu is charming and brimming with beautiful scenery. (Riding the train up the mountain, you'll hear a lot of exclamations of "sugoi!" as you look out the windows.)

The ryokan itself is very serene and relaxing. When you arrive, your bags are immediately whisked away and you are seated overlooking the mountains and handed a drink. There are English-speaking staff and we didn't have any problems.

Someone comes by and leads you to your room, and explains the layout. You are then provided with yukata and snacks. You can relax in your own private onsen, or go the public onsen. I don't know if it's possible to be any more relaxed than sitting outside in a private onsen, drink in hand, overlooking breathtaking Japanese mountains.

Dinner is spectacular, as is breakfast the next day.

At around $1000 a night for two people, Hakone Ginyu is kind of pricey, but it's definitely, definitely worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yyzcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Good splurge Japanese inn. Food, service, decor, spa - all wonderful! Private Japanese baths are a great feature for those who do not want the experience of Japanese public baths, although they are also available here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelleyae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Onsen bathing is a favorite of mine. I had never stayed at a traditional ryokan where private onsen was available in each room, so it was a personal goal of mine to search for a luxury ryokan that offered just that. Growing up, onsen was always a family activity for me, but my husband and I were on a romantic mission this time around.

This little ryokan is easily accessible by train from Narita airport outside of Tokyo. We came here during the winter which is the perfect time of year for onsen. The entrance to the property itself is unassuming and inconspicuous, but step inside and you'll instantly know you've arrived at a very special destination. Our ryokan had beautiful green mountain views (we were hoping for snow, but unfortunately, there was no snow to be seen). But the mist covered mountains were just as breathtaking. We had a private onsen bath located on a spacious balcony attached to the room. We slept on traditional tatami beds.

Breakfast and dinner were included in our rates and you get your money's worth in food! The meals were huge. Course after course and amazingly fresh and tasty. Both meals were served in our rooms by a dedicated server and you would have to arrange the mealtime with the hotel staff beforehand (the staff don't speak English well at all, but we found ways around it).

We checked out the Hakone open air museum which was absolutely delightful. Took a boat tour of Lake Ashi and even did the cable car ride up Hakone for some amazing views of Mt. Fuji. All in all, Hakone is a small place so 2 days was enough for sightseeing.

I'd like to make a side note that traditionally, tattoos are frowned upon ad quite taboo in public onsens. I happen to have a rather large back piece, so I avoided the public onsen on the property out of respect.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mochigreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Me and my wife spent one night in this fabulous Ryokan in May last year. The experience is truly unforgettable! It is easily reachable by train. The moment we stepped into the room, Katsura on the first floor, was eye opening experience. I immediately went naked into one of the pools outside. I have never been that relaxed (and clean) in my life, after having 4 15mins hot spring bath (both in my room and the male shared one) over 24 hours. By the time we have checked out we wish we could stay here for one more day, which is the best advice we should give people who want to book this place. The next day you can have plenty time to explore the region and enjoy nice food there.

Food quality: absolutely amazing! best we had in Japan. It is fusion food and we think that's very creative and innovative. Presentation and services are great as well.

Price: expensive. (but not that expensive compared to the ones we been such as the Maldives) at the end of the day, how many hotels you stayed in your entire life can have such amazing experiences like Ginyu, not to mention you are the lucky one to reserve a room. So definitely worth the spending!

Room Tip: Tsuki type on 1st floor is great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zumibruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Gora Onsen
Gora Kadan
Gora Kadan
#4 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Gora Onsen
Gora Hanaougi
Gora Hanaougi
#7 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#3 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#11 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakone Ginyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakone Ginyu

Property: Hakone Ginyu
Address: 100-1 Miyanoshita, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0404, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen , Kowakidani Onsen , Miyanoshita Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hakone-machi
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Hakone-machi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hakone Ginyu 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the lush mountains of Hakone, lies the spa resort of Hakone Ginyu. 'Ginyu' means a person seeking inspiration for a poem by traveling around.Spectacular views of the Haya-Kawa River as well as the Hakone Mountains set the perfect backdrop for poetic inspiration. The entrance and lobby are located on the top of the building. The essence of Japanese style emanates through the corridors and continues throughout the entire resort. The infinite beauty of the natural surroundings will enable you to forget the stress of everyday life.You will be transported to a different world once you arrive at Hakone-Ginyu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Ctrip TA and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Hakone Ginyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakone Ginyu Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing