We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hyatt Heaven in Hakone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hyatt Heaven in Hakone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Hyatt Regency in Hakone is worth the trip. Rooms are extremely spacious by Japanese standards, high ceilings, incredible onsen or natural hot spring bath, a happy hour (4:00 to 7:00 PM) with unlimited champagne, wine, and soft drinks, and a very cordial and welcoming staff. I asked for a high floor, non-smoking room, and was treated to a corner room on the third floor, where the view was of the beautiful mountains. The buffet breakfast was sumptuous, and the 32 inch TV had sufficient Japanese and English channels. It took us approximately an hour and a half by car from Tokyo, and we are already planning a return trip. Do visit this part of Japan!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravellerTokyo6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    259
    54
    21
    10
See reviews for
336
387
35
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Hyatt Regency Hakone is a great hotel - elegant and laid-back at the same time. Check-in is done while seated at a desk - definitely preferable to the usual line-up at a counter. The 4-7 pm champagne, wine, beer in the Living Room is a charming idea. All of the staff members we spoke to were friendly, welcoming and helpful. On our last morning we had treatments in the Spa and both were terrific.
Our first room was impressive, quite large and it had a super comfy upholstered chair with ottoman, nice mountain views and a spectacular night sky filled with stars.
Unfortunately we had to change rooms for the 2nd night. Why? Because the hotel was doing a major week-long air-conditioner repair on the 2nd Floor of the North Wing and we were right above it on the 3rd Floor. The construction noise - drilling, banging, etc. - was right beneath our feet. The day we checked in we were told it would stop at 6 pm but it continued until almost 6:30. We were also told it wouldn't start the next day until about noon, but it started just after 9. As we were heading out for the day we mentioned the noise to a staff member we ran into in the lobby. Luckily for us, he was the Assistant Director of Rooms, and he immediately said we could change to a room in another wing, well away from the construction noise - in fact, an upgraded room. We didn't really want the inconvenience of moving but we thought about it while we were out sightseeing and when we got back to the hotel in the afternoon we said that we would move. He and another staff member moved our things for us while we relaxed with wine in the Living Room - the easiest move possible!
Our 2nd room was even larger than the first and was totally quiet. Lovely! We were also given a discount for the 2nd night, which made up for the inconvenience of the situation. Problem solved.
We had a room service dinner the first night, and it was lovely, but we wanted to have a nice Japanese dinner in the restaurant the 2nd night. We had another problem there. We had gone to the restaurant earlier and made a reservation. When we arrived for dinner we were seated and given the French menu. We asked for the Japanese menu but were told that we were in the French restaurant and Japanese food is only served in the Japanese restaurant. Well, it is really only one restaurant, with one half designated as Japanese and the other half French. The Japanese menu could not be offered at a French table. Who knew? And why didn't they ask which one we wanted when we made the reservation so we could have been seated in the correct section? The obvious solution would have been to switch to a Japanese table, but none were available and wouldn't be for over an hour. We realized that the only way we were going to get our much-anticipated Japanese dinner would be to order it as room service. Another complication: we are vegetarian and even though they do have vegetarian items on the Japanese menu, those items are not on the Room Service menu. Things were looking grim for a few minutes, but our waiter worked really hard to make us happy - going back and forth between us and the chefs. We weren't trying to be difficult - honest! In the end, they delivered a room service dinner that was really nicely done and got us the vegetarian food we needed. Our waiter even delivered it himself.
After arriving home, we received an online survey to complete about our stay, which we filled in, including details of this near disaster with dinner. Within a day we had a personal reply from the hotel apologizing for the problem and promising that the staff will be trained to be more careful about taking reservations. Again, problem solved.
Hakone is a fun place to visit, and this hotel is definitely the place to stay while in the area. Most of our experience there was wonderful. We had two problems, but both were handled quickly and in a manner that demonstrated the staff's caring attitude towards their guests' well-being. The noise problem will not happen again, because the construction work must be finished by now, and the restaurant problem probably won't happen again since they have promised to be more careful about preventing this kind of thing. We would not hesitate to whole-heartedly recommend this hotel, and if we ever go back to Hakone we will definitely stay there again, but for three nights, not just two.

Room Tip: There are probably no bad rooms in the hotel, but a higher floor will get you away from street light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was a guest go my nephew's at this wonderful hotel. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating or helpful. Everything was quiet, serene, genteel and peaceful. If we needed another towel or kimono, it was delivered almost immediately. The Onsen baths were private and relaxing. The food, both Japanese and American, was prepared and presented beautifully. It was a pleasure to have stayed at this hotel and I would definitely recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingal702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minato, Japan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

2 day romantic getaway. Destination hotel and therefore no intense business execs on BBs and iPhones. Lots of young gooey eyed newly married things and more experienced guys like us. The spar is fantastic. There are 2 restaurants - French and Japanese. Both have very reasonable pricing and extensive wine and beverage lists. The residence are coaxed down to the central meeting area with a spectacular log fire and free bottomless champagne from 4pm to 7pm daily. The staff in all areas are well trained and in most cases bilingual. There is free undercover parking. Easy access by taxi from Gora station. The onsen in the hotel is very good.

Room Tip: If the budget stretches far enough get a suite - the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
263 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

The room we had was huge and had nice views of the neighboring hills. It could almost be described as a suite. While it had a separate small bathroom, there was a very large separate dressing area with double sinks. The living area was co-located with the beds but the nice usage of a glass table created the effect of separate areas. The living area itself had a large comfy sofa and a flatscreen TV. The room had a decent sized balcony.

Service was outstanding. Most of the staff we interacted with spoke at least minimum English.

They have a shuttle bus which can be used to and from the Gora train station (5 minutes) but the hours are somewhat limited. The cable car is a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and can be taken to and from the Gora station (as can cabs which were always present at the train station and can be arranged at the front desk).

The happy hour is very nice, in a very large room with a large modern fireplace in the center. Complementary beer and wine was available as well as snacks for a fee.

We loved staying at this hotel and absolutely loved using all of the different transportation (cable car, train, tramway, boat, and bus) in exploring the Hakone area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Didn't get that? Well, hot springs are called as onsen in Japan. And that's why you would go to the Hyatt Regency Hakone. The hotel is built around the onsen and so if you walk around in a yukata/kimono and flip-flops around this property, it is perfectly all right! Of course you should be in your birthday suit to enjoy the onsen so leave your shyness behind.

It takes some time to get here as it is a narrow curvy mountain road that leads here and a railway line also cuts across. The room I had did not have that terrific a view, but I am sure the ones on the higher floors would give a fantastic view of the mountainous countryside. It is a beautiful, crisply designed hotel with an elegance that can only be found in Japan. Same with the room. It is a large room with a large balcony with a table and chairs and a sideboard with a coffee/tea machine. There are various settings for the curtains so take your time choosing it.

It is more like an apartment rather than a hotel room. The sofas are placed around the TV and Bose stereo set (helpfully the hotel provides a CD of instrumental music that you can listen to). The bed is also huge and comfortable. A restaurant with a live kitchen serves up some really terrific stuff. Tip: drink lots of water after you've been to the onsen.

Room Tip: Ask for ones on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srinik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We booked a standard room at a discounted price so we were surprised to see Mt. Fuji from our window as the sun was rising. The bathroom was the best of the trip by far with an excellent shower room that was huge. The rooms are really big and well appointed. The bed was too firm for my taste but everything else was perfect. The staff is incredible…nothing is too much to ask and they remember your name after the first time they meet you. The 3 hour complimentary wine/champagne happy hour is a nice touch and the restaurant is very good. Dinner was pricey but worth it IMHO and who wants to go out after a couple of glasses of champagne anyway. We thought the hotel’s location was perfect. We walked up a short hill to the cable car stop from the hotel and could get up to the ropeway quickly. The best place to see Mt. Fuji is from the boiling valley that is the mid-stop on the ropeway. We were disappointed in the rest of the loop. The pirate ship was a disappointment since it was a bit odd and you could not get a good view of Mt. Fuji from the boat going from the end of the ropeway unless you paid a lot extra for first class. If you want to take the boat, go from Hakone to the ropeway so the boat is facing the mountain but then you risk clouds later in the day. Personally, I would skip the boat and go for a hike somewhere. The hotel has a shuttle to/from Gora station which would be a hard walk. The shuttle does not start early in the morning. I think we arrived in Gora around 10 and they did not start until 11. A taxi was reasonable too if you can’t get a shuttle.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank detraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#7 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#5 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Gora Onsen
Gora Hanaougi
Gora Hanaougi
#8 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Gora Onsen
Gora Kadan
Gora Kadan
#4 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Address: 1320 Gora, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Family Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hakone Hotel Hakone-Machi
Hyatt Regency Hakone Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing