We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area, mass production resort, ”
Review of Tenseien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This was our first Japanese onsen experience. Hakone Yumoto is a good base for exploring this beautiful area. The hotel is about 1km from the station. If there is a shuttle, it was not apparent. However, it was not a difficult trip to pull the luggage there - thanks Google maps.

This is a major resort for Tokyoites having a weekend away. Arriving on a Saturday, we were part of a throng, with lots of families. The staff were efficient. The room was small, but OK. The corridors stank of stale cigarette smoke.

Dinner and breakfast are buffet style and the food was fine. I took the plunge with a communal (male) onsen and that was good. A nice outdoor pool area. With no mixed onsen offering, my wife and I booked a 'family' onsen. Don't bother!! A claustrophobic little room, with a scalding hot claustrophobic tub. We left after 10 minutes.

It was an interesting experience to see the locals at play, en masse, but I couldn't really recommend it.

What I can recommend, is hiking the old Hakone Hwy to Lake Ashi

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bikemanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Nice spot to sit and watch the falls, sip a cup of tea or coffee - hot or iced- watch the people, and the ducks, and the koi. Free wifi in the cafe, looks like a nice hotel as well, but I didn't stay here this time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank jonbsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Deciphering the route from the station was fun as we were without any digital aid. As we are both fit and enjoy walking, the walk to the hotel was pleasant as well as interesting. (not everybody will like this). There is a shuttle bus if you know where to get it. We were a little confused at the entrance but we managed to overcome that hurdle and even understood about locking your shoes in the lockers provided. Room was good and I really liked the Onsen on the roof. I never found it crowded and indulged its facilities at least twice each day. Outside garden and shrine were perfect for us. It was centrally located enough to facilitate our sight seeing into the Hakone area using public transport using a three day pass. We even managed to explore on foot the surrounding valley and hills which added to our enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Nice Hotel close to Rail Station, 10 minute walk or 700yen taxi.
Quiet location set in gardens. Shrine on site. Room was good with usual amenities.
Robes and socks supplied. Hotel has " no shoes" policy.
Breakfast buffet choice was excellent. Dinner buffet was amazing, seating was in individual dining rooms with sliding doors, Japanese style. Vast selection of Japanese and Western dishes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front were quiet, a large waterfall at the back could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikeymost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Weekend trip to Hakone.
Just wanted to get away so chose the reasonably priced option and paid for it.
Very very mediocre.
Business hotel-like.
And to top it all their signs in English about no tattoos in the bath area is so small to be noticed.
Two suited men walks in and kicks you out of the bath naked in a very over the top manner.
Guests should never be treated in this fashion.
All you needed was to explain.
Never again.
Not recommended.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank fortysomethingmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

First thing first, the hotel is so secluded and we got to lug our luggage uphill to our stay as shuttle bus is not provided.

We couldn't not find the main entrance or reception and there was barely any instruction or direction. Turned out we need to lock our shoes in the locker and make our way to the reception. We found this out as there was a nervous and slightly angry staff who saw us - the lost sheeps with our shoes on wandering around trying to find our way. There were so many receptionist at the front desk when we arrived, wondered why they couldn't assign some to help lost sheep like us, I am sure we are not the only one who are clueless about the hotel culture.

Perhaps it is secluded in a way it is advantage to the hotel, their restaurants and mini mart charges are kind of exorbitant. Do try to eat outside.

Onsen is crowded as it is not exclusive to hotel guests.
Requested for extra towel and was asked to go down to the front desk for self collection, first time in a hotel I reckon?

Price is on the higher side given our experience with the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank xingYX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Tenseien is a traditional Japanese hotel sitting in a nice quiet area. I booked a twin room with dinner and breakfast for 2 nights. The open space onsen is a must experience. The food is good but not amazing. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scmw2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#3 of 258 in Hakone-machi
177 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 258 in Hakone-machi
313 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#9 of 258 in Hakone-machi
225 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Aura Tachibana
Aura Tachibana
#26 of 258 in Hakone-machi
189 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#17 of 258 in Hakone-machi
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenseien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenseien

Address: 682 Yumoto, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0311, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hakone-machi
#11 Spa Hotel in Hakone-machi
#23 Best Value Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range: $201 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tenseien 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tenseien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenseien Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing