We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat in Hakone”
Review of Karuta

Karuta
Ranked #73 of 474 Restaurants in Hakone-machi
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

We were told most places down in the town close about 7.00 and when we checked this small restaurant only opened at 6.00 pm. Suggest you ring and book if you would like to eat before 9.00. The restaurant had two options. Sit at the bar on stools or on the "floor" - traditionally Japanese.
The food was wonderful and fresh - cooked to order. Beer was cold and they had so me good Sake options. Try the mixed Yakitori. Very enjoyable with a nice atmosphere. If you are lucky the Master San will drop you back to you accommodation. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Basil781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 20 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

Authentic local place, v reasonably priced, with strong family feel. Food is cooked right in front of customers which is cool and rapidly served. A must visit and one of my best meals in Hakone!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 243ayushk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

You can easily miss the hidden gem. Don't! The food is fantastic, the prices are very reasonable. The best meal of my Japan trip so far.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank monclinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2017 via mobile

This is a small place in Hakone, actually one of the few open late (until 0:30). We were there at 6.30 and got food quickly. Later, the place got packed and the wait was long... Advice: go before 7. The venue is a typical japanese restaurant, english not spoken, but menue has an english digest and pictures. All the dishes we took were excellent, Yakitori, Chanko, rice... it's really tatsy, copiously served and fresh. Choice is large. Cook stands across the counter and I enjoyed watching him preparing things. Definitely in the top 3 of all our diners in 19 days.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Julien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2017

Great fun, a welcoming host and warm atmosphere. Not an upscale place but a traditional izakaya with Karaoke (100 yen per song) there is an English selection of songs. It was a highlight of our time in Hakone, good for an evening of drinks and relaxing.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karuta also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Karuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing