We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (916)
Filter reviews
916 results
Traveller rating
402
400
84
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
400
84
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yamashita park cruise terminal new wing original building general macarthur le normandie historical hotel chinatown station diamond princess lives up to its name tower room nice cocktail bar steeped in history business lounge lovely room narita airport osanbashi pier
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 916 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

A lovely hotel with some history.

It is charming. The room was a little worn around the edges but still pretty good and it had a fantastic view out over the harbour and park.

Staff were helpful and spoke good English ( far better than my Japanese !!).

Food was pretty good ( I wouldn't normally eat in a hotel , but we had business meetings there so ......) and service excellent.

Wifi speed in room and meeting room was good.

Laundry service was very efficient ( both pick up and delivery) and price was not too ridiculous given the style of hotel.

Only drawback for me was no on site gym. But trained at the golds gym ( 10 - 15 minute walk), it is friendly good and costs around 1600 yen.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank KK_M_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnAir760976, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

We thank you so much for posting your review about your previous business trip to Yokohama and pleased to learn that you think our hotel charming. We are especially happy to learn your comment about our service. Our Tower building’s floor by floor refurbishment is still under way and they are scheduled to be completed in April 2020. We sincerely hope to welcome you again hopefully after the completion of refurbishment. We are sorry that we do not provide a gym in our premises. As you mentioned, we will be happy to arrange access to the local fitness club “Gold Gym” located in our walking distance. Our staying guests will be able to take advantage of the facility with reasonable entrance fee to freshen up and enjoy whole day.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2018

We stayed at Hotel New Grand for three nights prior to our cruise on the Diamond Princess. The hotel is very conveniently close (walking distance) to Cruise Terminal, Chinatown, Yamashita Park, shopping and restaurants, The airport shuttle bus from Haneda Airport stops a few steps from the hotel. The staff was friendly and spoke English very well. We recommend this hotel and definitely will stay here again in the future.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank BFcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnAir760976, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you will stay with us again and do hope you will come and see us not only for the cruise around Asia but for other occasions like cherry blossom viewing in spring and autumn in which fun events are held such as Octoberfest, Yokohama Jazz Promenade and Food Festival. We all look forward to seeing you again someday in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed three nights in the New Grand prior to embarking on a cruise.
Our corner tower room was perfect. The view was wonderful round from the big wheel which was lit up at night , to the park and the docks. We even watched our cruise ship come into port from our window.
Our room was spacious and comfortable with excellent WiFi , a large bath and a Japanese style toilet . Our only disappointment was that there was no complimentary water, coffee or English Breakfast tea, just green tea. This was soon rectified following a visit to the Family Mart which is virtually next door ( very useful for alcohol and noodles as well- for those of us who are on a budget). Plus, for those who like fast food, McDonald’s is next door as well.
We enjoy the experience of public transport so having landed at Narita Airport , we used the airport limousine bus to YCAT and then got the metro to Motomachi-Chakagai station which is very close to the hotel ( just be sure to follow the signs to the correct exit!) There is a specific bus from Narita direct to Hotel New Grand but our arrival didn’t correspond with the timings.
The area near to the hotel is super , with Chinatown, Motomachi shopping area which is full of small old independent shops and supermarkets , Yokohama Red Brick Buildings and the funfair area near the big wheel to name a few. If you don’t mind a longer walk there is a park area with old European buildings which are free to visit and have charming staff. Although most of the signage is in Japanese and little English is spoken , which only added to the fun. It is also an easy flat walk to the cruise ship port.
We would definitely return to the hotel if and when we revisit Yokohama. The only reason that I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is the lack of tea, coffee and water which are usually complimentary in Western and Asian hotels of a similar quality and are definitely needed following a long haul flight.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ghenna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnAir760976, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

We appreciate that you have taken your valuable time to give us your feedback regarding your previous stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Yokohama. However on the other hand, we seriously take your comments about the complimentary beverages. We are considering the issue for the next stage of our customer service improvement. It is our critical mission to collect all the valuable feedbacks from our guests in order to enhance the customer satisfaction providing the best service possible. We do appreciate your candied opinion. We look forward to welcoming you next time you visit Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Arriving prior to check-in time, nevertheless, following apologies for not being ready before they were supposed to be, escorted to a private lounge area with coffee, tea,newspapers in a a variety of languages, plush furnishings and a wonderful view (each of these amenities complementary). Shortly thereafter, taken to a large, well-appointed, waterfront , expensive, yet somewhat tattered room. Refreshment area was stocked with liquor, beer, water, and instant coffee. Each item, including the instant coffee, was not complementary , but was for sale. Even Tom Bodet ("we'll leave the lights on for ya.") provides free coffee in his budget rooms. This "elegant" hotel squeezes each and every nickle ...go en ...from every guest.
The gracious staff belies the corporate craving for cash.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnfjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnAir760976, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel New Grand. We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation nevertheless of our staff being courteous as much as they could. We understand that international guests prefer coffee to green tea. Although we provide free green tea, coffee is not complementary in the guestrooms except refurbished ones. We gladly inform you that the refurbishment in our tower building guestrooms will be completed in April 2020 and we are able to provide complementary coffee in every tower building guest room. We hope you will once again visit us and will give us a chance to welcome you someday in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The New Grand is steeped in history and 90 years old. Just 30-40 minutes from Haneda airport you can catch a bus which stops outside the hotel for just 720 yen. These buses go frequently as well from the airport.

The staff are immaculate in their attire and extend a courtesy that is beyond what you would normally expect. Nothing, it seems, is too much trouble for them. The concierge was really helpful and the level of English from the staff was generally sound allowing us to gain directions and seek help in seeing the various tourist hotspots.

Rooms were a little dated but phenomenally clean with good views of the bay, from the 14 floor at least!

The hotel is well located and within a five minute walk to China town which is a food lovers delight. There are other mini supermarkets close by.

Only blemish for me is that there are smoking rooms in the hotel on different floors.

I would definitely stay at the New Grand again.

Gary

Room tip: Ask for non smoking room and rooms that face the bay view.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ggreen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnAir760976, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel New grand on your previous visit to Yokohama. We are pleased to learn that you were able to sight see around the town even under the undesirable weather condition with Typhoon Trami during your stay. But we can assure you that there will always be our same warm welcome like sunshine whenever you come back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews