We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central hotel with good public transport access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good central hotel with good public transport access”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Having just got back from a trip to Japan, in which we were in this hotel for 6nights, i thought i would give a write up whilst the trip is still fresh in the mind.
The reception is very modern and the people on reception very friendly, the levels of English were adequate, however they did make as much effort as possible in helping out when we needed their help.
The room despite being a premium twin was very small. It was just about big enough but when we have 2 big spaces and not anywhere to put it then its difficult. The room had all oft he normal amenities and a fridge to put stuff in. We were told there wasnt any Wi-Fi in the rooms, which was a sligth inconvenience but the amount of time spent in the room it was hardly an issue.
great location and close to the station which links to Yokohoma and Tokyo.
We ahd breakfast in the hotel 1 morning, and for the cost Y1500 it wasnt worth it, the breakfast wasnt great. However this was the only negative towards the hotel.
if I am ever in Yokohoma again, then I will definitley return to this hotel. The hotel has great public transport access and is within walking distance of ChinaTown and the fair in Yokohoma.

Room Tip: book a premium room, as even though this is small, it will still be far bigger than the Standard twi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickSFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    478
    108
    22
    10
See reviews for
178
158
151
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

As with most Japanese hotels the rooms are compact. However the level of decor and comfort are just as typically Japanese. Fridge, TV, Desk, Phone, Hairdryer etc as usual in Japanese hotels. This is a new hotel, or at least seems that way. Bathroom was spotless, bed very comfy, internet free and TV ok... but no English channels when we were there.
The hotel itself is just outside of Chinatown (5 mins walk), and just a 2 minute stroll from the Nihonodori station (Minato Mirai/Tokyu Line). This made travel to Yokohama centre, and JR lines to Shonan/Tokyo areas very easy, as well as allowing easy access to Minato Mirai (Landmark Tower area). If you are visiting offices in Yokohama or Minato Mirai, this would be a sensible option as you won't pay the premium of Yokohama Centre, or the Royal Park Hotel etc. Overall a very good option in the area if you are visiting Yokohama... you are also close to the baseball stadium, if that is your kind of thing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I will say JAL City Kannai is a very good hotel in Yokohama area. It is not a luxury hotel but provides all basic ammenities and makes guests comfortable to stay here. In Japan standard, the room is not too small, we can even put two large baggages in the room. Of course, the area allowing you to move inside the room is a bit limited.
We joined the buffet breakfast in JAL's restaurant - SILK. There are not many guests. Food quality is very nice. But if you are from western, the food may not be suitable to your taste. I love their curry rice so much. Breakfast charge is 1,500Yen per person.
There are several convenience stores within 2 mins walk which opens 24 hours. But I cannot find too many restaurants nearby or you have to walk about 10 mins to the area near Kannai station.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bird-Bird-Blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed for 2Nights and booked 3 rooms. The rooms are all clean but not that big. The location is very close to Chinatown and walking distance to promenade, 15mnts away from McDonalds. Room service is very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuffyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is predominantly a business hotel, but as it is reasonably priced and close to everything Yokohama has to offer we found it ideal for a family stay. Typically of everything in Japan, it is spotlessly clean and with China town round the corner or the metro stop just down the road it is easy to find a bite to eat.
The rooms are a little tight for space but have a modern feel and have good facilities. We did not eat the breakfast but it looked pretty good, laid out in a buffet style.
There is an internet facility and a massage chair to soothe the aching limbs on the ground floor which is outstanding.
Yokohama has a lot to offer for a 2 night stay, we even used the JAL City as a base to complete the Hakone circuit near Mount Fuji, which is a lot cheaper than staying in Tokyo or nearer to Mount Fuji.

Room Tip: The rooms have a fridge, but buy cold drinks down the road where it is cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanleySurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

The hotel is located just next to Chinatown. I was there during the Chinese New Year. It is also just next to the Nihon Odori station of the Minato-mirai line. You can catch a train to Shibuya directly. The same line will get you to Minato Mira that is an ultra modern development.

I had some problem with connection to the Internet initially, however the staff was able to address after some while.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimKahChuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

JAL City Kannai is a great hotel, with clean and quite rooms, good buffet breakfast, and very convenient location (subway station, convenient stores, Yokohama Chinatown and Seaside Park nearby). Two things I do not like though: (1) the room is a bit too small; (2) the price is little too high (13,000+ Yen per night).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ioksin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Gu
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Kannai
Richmond Hotel Yokohama Bashamichi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 112 in Yokohama
751 reviews
Kannai
Rose Hotel Yokohama
Rose Hotel Yokohama
#8 of 112 in Yokohama
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama

Property: Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama
Address: 72 Yamashitacho Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-0023, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Gu , Kannai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Yokohama
#7 Business Hotel in Yokohama
#8 Romantic Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jal City Kannai Hotel Yokohama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing