We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Lunch with the sea

Kuroshio Market was not a special seafood market in Japan, but I think the price of the food was... read more

Reviewed September 1, 2018
ThomasPSH
,
Tseung Kwan O, null, Hong Kong
Lunch

We bought food inside the amazing fish market and used the fantastic complementary bbqs to cook our... read more

Reviewed August 4, 2018
R658FRemmaw
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Read all 193 reviews
  
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
17
83
65
23
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
83
65
23
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood fruit theme park kuroshio purchase souvenirs buffet yen
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 193 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Set up for international (or rather Asian) tourists. Next to the marina city which was really nothing in the day time. Parking is chargable. Seafood over-priced and of limited choices. Should go to the tore-tore market 45 mins away if you have a car. The marque selling local stuffs next to the market are worth for a walk tough.

Thank JPJmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

personal experience just on jul 14 at 1430 to 1530
1. overall bad experience, not sure if it is because we arrived late at 230pm. last toro show at 1500.
2. food not fresh, especially for toro. bought toro sashimi at 3500 per 100g and its taste was terrible... other dishes like ikura, scallop, shrimp also the worst u can imagine in japan.
3. bbq is relatively ok but food also not fresh. environment is good and clean
4. toro show is alright and lasts for 15 min.
5. not the experience u saw in tv show. really wasted half a day driving there.

1  Thank koshanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2016

Went to Kuroshio market with our JR Pass by train (then 5 minutes bus, also covered by JR Pass) from Wakayama Station to Marina Bay Wakayama. The chef, a very experienced young guy, spoke in impressive tone in Japanese, did both the demo and the explanation. The tuna fish was easily 60kg, yet it was a perfect knife skill show !! It is worth a trip going for the show. The Kuroshio Market has free wifi with strong reception. There was 3 shows per day, ie. 11am, 12.30pm & 3pm. After which, there were some free samplings of the otoro sashimi near the left lane. We totally enjoyed our Kuroshio market trip.

2  Thank pjwongs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Watch the tune cutting show and bought the tuna belly (Otoro) for lunch. Very good.

Still feeling hungry bought a fish, some oysters, turban shells and octopus tentacles to BBQ at the outside tables. Very disappointed as these are not FRESH.

Visited on 13 April 2016 with my wife.

1  Thank SAMSEE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2016

We missed the tuna cutting show and came here just for lunch. Stalls not too many choices, we had a sashimi rice, tuna, scallop, and urchin platter. Food was fresh, but a bit expensive though. Just opposite is Porta Europa, very convenient for visiting 2 places same time but I don't want to see something European in Japan so we didn't visit this. If only coming for a meal is not worth the time.

Thank Gemjewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews