We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfotable, cheap, and super location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dormy Inn Hakata Gion
Ranked #7 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
223 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Comfotable, cheap, and super location.”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

My title sums it up. The hotel is one of the best if not THE best value hotel I have ever stayed at. The rooms are modern, you can adjust the room temperature which is not always the case with hotels in Japan. The hotel is connected to a convience store on the first floor. Came with free dinner after 9pm. It was a simple bowl of plain ramen but it was free. The location is excellent as it is adjacent to the Gion subway which is only 3 stops from the airport. A few minute walk to hakata canal city. Tons of nearby restraints. Walking distance to the main hakata station.

Had an onsen on the second floor and had free Internet. I stay at many hotels, so I don't give 5 stars very easily. This was a 5 star.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank worldtravelers_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    257
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
108
140
90
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I picked this hotel on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews. Since I booked, it's risen even further up the rankings. I am quite surprised by the other rankings, although I haven't stayed in many hotels in Japan so maybe I am comparing it to the wrong things. Anyway, the good:
- conveniently located, near an underground station on the airport line, also close to the station
- there is a 24-hour convenience store right off the lobby, useful for stocking up on water etc
- very nice spa, large shared bath and small 'outside' room (NB this is not actually open to the sky - would be difficult in the middle of a city - but does mean that you can get the cold outside air through the bamboo-fence style walls)

However, the room was tiny - the bed was quite small for a double and there was hardly any room around it. The layout is quite clever to fit in a sink, shower, toilet etc., but it wasn't a room you would want to spend any time in apart from getting up and going to bed. It was also pretty impersonal.

As I say though, this might be standard for budget business hotels in Japan or Nagasaki - I just don't know.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izumo, Japan
Level Contributor
222 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed 4 over nights at "dormy inn Hakata Gion". More than 4 over nights stay, cost of bed and breakfast is 6,400 JPY per day. I stayed at 3rd floor, view is bad, room size was compact, bed was large, comfortable and clean. I recommend take a public spa rather than shower booth in room. The spa is so clean and wde, that we can relax very much. We can enjoy yummy japanese and western buffet style breakfast, especially I loved chicken and vegetable soup (Tori no mizutaki), red coloured spacy and salty fish egg (Mentaiko) and rice.

Room Tip: I recommend to have early reservation as soon as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nobuhirokodani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I have to agree with reviewers who said it's great for families. This was the first stop on a multi-destination trip and it was a wonderful start to our holiday! I LOOOVED the onsen downstairs. I've been wanting to visit an onsen for a while, but with a toddler and infant, it's just not possible right now. So when I read the reviews that there are nice baths just downstairs IN THE HOTEL I whipped my credit card out and booked it. Okay, maybe it's not the whole experience, but I take my moments when I can and I'm happy to say I was not disappointed. I went around 5:30 and there was just one other woman there for a few minutes then I had the place to myself. There's a security code to enter the women's bath.

Everything about staying here was easy. Short taxi ride away from the train station. It's along the Green Bus line, it's minutes away from loads of restaurants (and there's Family Mart downstairs), and again, a chance to have some relaxation in the baths. I didn't have breakfast, but my husband and toddler did and it looked like a good variety of food for a reasonable price.

The room was clean and the double beds were roomy enough for us to sleep with a kid in each bed. I'd definitely stay here again if we visit Fukuoka.

Room Tip: We went with the larger (22sqm?) size to get a little bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkkbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Pros:
1. Room was small but perfect.
2. Front desk staff were helpful with inquiries.
3. Write across the street from Ramen noodle places, Yatai, shopping street, and mall.
4. Near the main center of activity.
5. Free washer (but the drier requires money - 100YEN only for 30 minutes).
6. Very good morning breakfast including sampling of local foods.
7. Clean.

Cons:

1. The free internet service is lacking. Very, very slow making it unuseable.
2. They don't feature a discount system is you are traveling through Kyushu and staying at various Dormy Inns in a series of different cities there.
3. No English toursit guides or map.
4. There is a Japanese newspaper but none in English or Chinese. No English tv stations or shows.

We traveled during Chinese New Year. It was cold but not cold enough to warrant heavy coats. Several layers of clothing are enough to peal on or off as needed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hossSidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is near to the Gion station along the KuKo Line. It is also not too far away from Nakasu and Tenjin.

The hotel has a convenient store at the ground floor. There is also a onsen bath in the hotel with free ramen served at certain hours.

Overall, it really is a clean and value hotel that is conveniently located.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimKahChuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed 3 nights and first time in Fukuoka so did'nt know where or what I was in for. One stop from JR Hakata station, the hotel is around the corner from the subway exit. Modern and tasteful interior, small rooms typical of business hotels however bathroom was typical western. Room comes with typical amenities including toiletries, fridge, hot pot, pajamas (to use when going to bath). TV only had Japanese language. A good 15 minute walk to Tenshin area or Canal City. Lots of great restaurants along the way, and a supermarket nearby. Next to the lobby is a Family Mart with all the typical convenience store products. The onsen (bath) was great, not too big, a sauna, and two hot baths (one was saltwater) the sauna has hours otherwise the bath is open 24 hours, typical Japanese style so westerners beware. Daily free ramen at 9:30 pm at restaurant on second floor. Free internet access in lobby.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Hakata Station
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
#2 of 185 in Fukuoka
1,145 reviews
Hakata Station
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
#8 of 185 in Fukuoka
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nakasu Kawabata Station
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
#1 of 185 in Fukuoka
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Hakata Gion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Hakata Gion

Property: Dormy Inn Hakata Gion
Address: 1-12 Reisenmachi, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka 812-0039, Fukuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Hakata Station , Nakasu Kawabata Station , Gion Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fukuoka
#8 Family Hotel in Fukuoka
#9 Business Hotel in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Hakata Gion 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dormy Inn Hakata Gion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Hakata Gion Hotel Fukuoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing