We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
1
12
20
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
12
20
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

Loved the style of the hotel, didnt look much from the outside but beautiful entrance sitting area with koi fish. The rooms were Japanese style & they re arranged the room each day. The first breakfast was in a beautiful room with a set Japanese style meal, the second time was in a smaller room but still nice. The bathrooms were older style but fine. A 15 min walk from the station, a bus stop close by for going to the monkey park & aquarium, we caught a bus from the station to the hot springs area. Lots of nice restaurants & bars close by. Walk to the beach, some nice big shopping centres too.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank JenAPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2015

Hotel Koraku is a strange mix of business hotel and ryokan, as the bedrooms are Japanese-style (which means sleeping on the floor, on futons), but the lobby and other areas have an ordinary business hotel feel. Although located close to the sea, it doesn't mean much when it comes to Beppu. Instead of a sandy beach with palm trees, there is just a huge concrete barrier for protection against tsunami. Furthermore, the surrounding area is nothing charming: there are just parking lots and other hotels. The only good thing about its location is that there is an airport bus stop (Kitahama) two blocks away. The train station is around 8 blocks away. Our room was dated and not so clean. The futon had a strange, sulfur smell, maybe due to Beppu's water. We did not use the open-air bath facilities because they were closed for maintenance. The bath facilities on the ground floor are old and looked dirty, not a place to enjoy. The breakfast was Japanese-style (fish, rice, miso soup etc), but not so fresh. Some dishes looked like last night leftovers. Overall, I think it is a bit pricey for their service.

Room Tip: Seriously, I would only pick this hotel as a last resort, if all others were fully booked.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank FirstVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I booked this hotel expecting to stay in a ryokan style (traditional Japanese hotel) with warmed welcome and traditional service. I was quite disappointed since the beginning that I found the hotel locates quite far from the train station. Once entering the hotel, all electricity was shut down to save the power and the receptionist switched the power on only when guests have arrived. Check in time is 3.00 PM and check out time is 10.00 AM, normal check in and check out time of Japan hotels but different from common practice of the other parts of the world of check in time at 2.00 PM. and check out at noon. Rooms are old, everything is old with not good maintenance. No hotel facilities at all. Breakfast is not available. I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a memorable trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews