We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Hostel, very good and comfortable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabosu House Beppu Hamayu
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality lodging in Beppu
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed here because of price. It is a hostel style accomodation, bathroom and toilet are shared, but the rooms are spacious enough, with bunk beds, we had a double room which was quite cosy. The toilet was right on the floor and shower as well, but you can always use the Spa area for showering, usually its not busy and there will be no waiting time. from 5pm-11am the spa is open. Its a hostel and spa and though the water is very hot, it is quite relaxing.

There is a common kitchen with fridges on the ground floor that everyone is able to use. The place is fairly clean, you get sheets. Towels cost extra, but its around 100 yen per towel rent for the entire stay, which is fine.

Rooms have AC.

Its located near the promenade, and the entire city is quite walkable.

The hostel was not loud at night, and we actually slept very well. Internet works well as well. There was no breakfast option.

It also has now a foot bath outside the house.

Overall good experience. Nothing fancy but its fine. I would give it overall an average, but in the hostel category its definitely a very good.

You can walk to the hostel from the train station and save the money for a taxi.

Room Tip: We had the double room with bunk beds and were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Evy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2016

Very near Beppu station and restaurant area. There are two building check-in in newer one. Very friendly staff and easy to communicate. There are foot spa in front of hotel which is very nice and onsen in side but not so hot. Room with bunk bed and some space for bag which is very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kobjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

The hostel is nice. It's a proper youth hostel. The guys that were working there in that moment were very nice and friendly. The place iscquite clean. The bathroom are average. The hot sprong is very nice, and beside the last day it was extremly warm, as it should be. Nice kitchen, and nice chillout area, great value for price.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank JimiRocknroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

4층 믹스방에서 묵었는데 일본식 다다미에 이불 깔고 자는 방이었습니다. 락커 있고 옷 걸어둘 공간은 있지만 아주 큰 방은 아니라서 조금 불편했어요. 그것보다도 4층에는 화장실에 세면대가 없고 방 밖에 스테인리스 음식점 주방 싱크대 같은 곳이 하나 있는데 비누도 없고 굉장히 불편했습니다. 그리고 계단이 호스텔이 많이 그렇듯 좁아서 짐 옮기는 데 많이 힘들었습니다. 계단 폭도 작고... 여자분은 짐 많으시면 진짜 비추천이예요. 목욕탕/샤워는 1층에 있는데 약간 온천물 냄새 나고 물 괜찮았어요. 1층에 주방이나 만화책 읽는 곳도 따로 있고 1층 시설은 참 잘되어 있습니다.

I stayed on the 4th floor. The room itself was Japanese style with tatami floor. It had lockers and small common closet. Other than that, there was very little room for stuff. The fourth floor bathroom(toilet) had no washing facility. There was a industrial looking stainless kitchen sink(yeah... that's what it looked like) bewteen two rooms on fourth floor with no soup or anything. The staircase is narrow and the steps are narrow with no elevator. So, I do not recommend this place to people with heavy or big luggage. The shower and the bath was on the first floor, and they were very nice. The common area including the kitchen was spacious and good for meeting new people. There was even a separate room where you can read comic books. Overall, a decent place.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

I spent 3 days in this hostel. Everything was very good, except cleanness. I saw an cockroach in my room, the toilet and shower room are common, so it was always wet. However, with a cheap price and convenient position for travelling, I was satisfied with it.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed for one night only and the place is pretty much like other backpacking hostels in Japan. Few good points, staff spoke good english (pretty rare in Japan), rooms are small but well kept (mix dorms with bunk beds), lockers are available in the rooms so you dont have to lug your backpack everywhere, their is an onsen (male/female separated - if you dont like it, Beppu has many onsens), big and clean kitchen space (free coffee and tea) and its approximately a 7-10 minute walk from Beppu Station or a 640¥ taxi ride from Kitayama Bus Stop. I would definitely recommend for lone travellers or couples. If you have a family, perhaps its best if you paid for all the beds (2500¥ per bed per night) if thats in your budget; my room had 2 double bunks and the floor has tatami mats, a place to hang your coat and the narrow locker. Bikes are also available for 1000¥ per day but you have to return the bike by 6pm. Beppu has
Many small roads and you can easily get lost, great reference points are the Asahi Tower and Beppu Station.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank BillWaqalevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We - a couple from Switzerland - stayed 2 + 1 nights at Khaosan Hostel. The first 2 nights were planed, the third one was forced by a typhoon crossing Kyushu from south to north... The staff from Khaosan was very helpful to provide information and arrange, arrange an extra night for us and call the next hotel to change the booking without cancellation fee. And Aya, Haruko and Ikeda were extremely helpful when I forgot my towel in the bus coming back from the beach; they called the bus company, got the confirmation that the towel was at the lost & found office and wrote my instructions in Japanese for the bus driver! The hostel is conveniently located in Beppu (the city is not so big anyway) and has big, clean rooms. But as I mentioned before, the best is the great staff!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JosebaUrzelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beppu hotels
Beppu Station
Nishitetsu Resort Inn Beppu
Beppu Onsen
Hotel Shiragiku
Hotel Shiragiku
#7 of 158 in Beppu
214 reviews
Beppu Onsen
Hotel Aile
Hotel Aile
#10 of 158 in Beppu
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beppu Onsen
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#63 of 158 in Beppu
79 reviews
Hotel Sea Wave Beppu
#36 of 158 in Beppu
76 reviews
Beppu Station
Beppu Kamenoi Hotel
Beppu Kamenoi Hotel
#5 of 158 in Beppu
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabosu House Beppu Hamayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabosu House Beppu Hamayu

Address: 3-3-10 Kitahama, Beppu 874-0920, Oita Prefecture (Formerly Spa Hostel Khaosan Beppu Hamayu)
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Beppu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality lodging in Beppu
Price Range: $37 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabosu House Beppu Hamayu 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cabosu House Beppu Hamayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing