We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sea Wave Beppu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
5
41
30
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
41
30
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Hotel Seawave Beppu is conveniently located directly opposite the JR Beppu Station and the bus station. It makes it very convenient for taking the bus to various tourist spots in Beppu eg. Jigoku, Beppu Ropeway etc. The rooms are small, like any typical Japanese business hotel. The staff do not speak much English, but are very helpful and polite and I can sense that they are trying their best to communicate and understand non-Japanese guests. There is free internet access in the lobby till 10 pm. There is no spa at this hotel, but with so many spas in Beppu, this is not really a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aukahkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

This is definitely a typical no-frills budget hotel. The rooms are small and dated, and the room had a slight odor. There was a knob in the bathroom, linked to a hose, for the water to go to either the sink or the shower. But the staff were friendly, even though we didn't speak Japanese. It is directly across the street from the JR station, where all the buses also depart from, so it is very convenient. You can also pay an additional 500-600 yen for breakfast -- Western style or Japanese style. We had the Japanese breakfast, which was quite good -- including salmon, rice and miso soup. People noted the limited availability of non-smoking rooms -- be sure when you book it that it is for non-smoking if that is your preference because there are a limited number of non-smoking rooms.

We visited the much written about jigoku/hells. We went to the Northern 6 -- of which, only the top 2 (Oniishibozu-Jigoku and Umi-Jigoku) are worth seeing. The other 4 (Yama, Kamado, Oniyama, and Shiraike) are very commercialized and tacky. They are easy to access by the city bus, which departs from the Station.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 213LAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in December 2008. The price was fine at 7500 Y per nite for a twin room (I preboooked using Rakuten).

Unfortunately for me, all I could get was a smoking room. I had really hoped to change it to non smoking when I got there, but I could not. Realized once I was there only 2 floors out of 12 are non smoking...so...that was that.

For an additional 600Y you can get breakfast, either Japanese or Western Style. They ask you on checkin if you want it..we initally declined, then changed out mind. I think they make as many meals as people have booked for and it certainly throws them off if you try and order the breakfast by paying cash etc. My advice-just pay for and get the coupons for breaksfast when you check in. You get a decent and quick meal for the price.

Advantages-right across from the train station.
Disadavantages-no ice machine in the hotel (although you do get a fridge and ice cube plastic tray if you want to make your own) and of course the smoky rooms.

No onsen in the hotel, but one is within 2 blocks for 300Y and there are plenty of others in town.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MapleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2007

Hotel has a great location for those who want to travel around Beppu, its across the street from the JR Beppu station.
The disadvantage is that the hotel doesn't have its own hot spring, but there are at least 2 hot springs nearby so one can always go there.
The hotel is built in a maritime style. The staff is nice. The breakfast we didn't try but saw the price, 500 yen per person.
We had a room with sea view which was nice.
The room was very small, twin bed room. The bathroom was big enough, with the modern bidet toilet. The room was a bit dated, would need a paint job, especially the ceiling, but otherwise it was nice and very cheap (only about 9000 yen per night for 2 people).
The beds were comfortable.
The lobby is on the 2nd floor, the restaurant on the 1. floor and in front of the restaurant is also the vending machine.
Close to the hotel are enough restaurants and inside the station is a small mall.
We stayed here 2 nights, did an excursion to Mt Aso, the volcano (definitelly recommended excursion) and around Beppu, to the Hells (Jigoku's).
If you visit the Hells, some of them have special foot hot springs. Deeping your feet into the water is an absolute must! The feet feel great afterwards. You can even buy a towel in the machine by the hot spring for 200 yen or inside the shop for 400 yen.
Also try the eggs cooked in the Hells. :)

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lumikello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews