We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
78
212
99
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
212
99
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious room public bath buffet breakfast train station outdoor section japanese hotels all you can drink comfortable hotel mins walk away the hotel offers recommend this hotel good size shopping centre onsen hotel excellent hotel the ground floor walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 415 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

Horrible Hotel ! When we were checking in, we asked if anyone spoke English. They responded with the worst of attitudes! In English with an angry tone, they told us "No we only speak Japanese". What's bizarre is that earlier during the day, we stopped by to drop some of our luggages off and they were speaking in English at that time.

We have a family bedroom and was only given 1 key. We requested for an extra key and they responded with if we lose the key they will provide us there will be a charge of 1000 Yen. Not to mention the room needs key in the slot to operate light and air condition, so that means all of guests in the room must leave together to dinner and Ibsen bath !!! Terrible attitude! We were very polite and very impressed with the Japanese culture and did not expect such hostility from the staff.
Now I wonder if I should visit Beppu next time ! Try this Hotel if you want to experience in person how bad you would be treated !

Eric

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank eric5168989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
別府亀の井ホテル, 支配人 at Beppu Kamenoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Beppu Kamenoi Hotel.
We appreciate you taking the time to write to us.
We are very sorry for the fact that the behavior of the staff members had made you feel unpleasant during your stay at our hotel.
It is our duty to operate with the sense of hospitality when welcoming and communicating with the guests.
Regrettably, we cannot change what has already happened but our staff will try to learn from this so a similar situation will not happen in the future. Moreover, we will be working hard to improve our service so we can provide a more comfortable stay for our guests.
Thank you again for your opinion, and we genuinely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Beppu Kamenoi Hotel.
Sincerely, Kenichi Nakashima,General Manager, Beppu Kamenoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

This is quite a big hotel and the twin rooms we had is comfortable. Our family had another quad room that has four singles bed and is great to stay. The hotel has an onsen which is separated by gender and we went everyday during our stay. On the third floor there is a small arcade, 2 table tennis tables for rent, a small children playground and stalls selling snacks for children.
When out from ticket entry, turn right to exit. Walk pass the covered narrow lane and pass through the car park and then walk into the market lane. When you are out hotel is on the left and is within 5 mins.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank lydiaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
別府亀の井ホテル, 支配人 at Beppu Kamenoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending time on your comments towards us.
We are glad to hear that you had a memorable time in Beppu Kamenoi Hotel.
We are looking forward to your next trip in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018

As a first time visitor, I could sense the age of the hotel by its decor and facilities, in general it's well maintained but out-dated.

Signs that show the age are:
1. slow elevators meant long wait time for the lift to get to room, public bath, breakfast etc.
2. aged furniture and mattress lacks support
3. dim lighting in the room I stayed in

The positive points about this facility is that the rooms were spacious, the buffet breakfast had plenty of choices and were of good quality.

The staff were pleasant and willing to help.

This is the third Mystay Group hotel (but not marketed under Mystay brand).
Overall I think there is a need to update and refurbish, for the price I paid it's probably more worthwhile to stay in a newer facility.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chankaryau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
別府亀の井ホテル, 支配人 at Beppu Kamenoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

"Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018 via mobile

Reception staffs are very friendly. Free parking, opposite hotel is convenient store. Lobby, public space, lift car, and room are quite old, but they are clean. 3 lifts support guestrooms 17floors. Required queue while using elevator. Big hot spring areas on 3rd floor. Spacious bedroom with comfort bed. Not far from Beppu station.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mollymoon_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
別府亀の井ホテル, 支配人 at Beppu Kamenoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Thank you for staying with us this time.
It seems that it was a stay that you could relax and is most important.
We sincerely wish to patronize Beppu Kamenoi Hotel in the future.
We look forward to your continued use.

Beppu Kamenoi Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2018

A little aged but generally good quality.
One of the tallest building in Beppu so if you have a room high up it give a very nice view of the city and the surrounding hills and sea.
Public bath is OK.
Japanese breakfast on ground floor is very great and traditional.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
別府亀の井ホテル, 支配人 at Beppu Kamenoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you very much for using Beppu Kamenoi Hotel this time.
The scenery from the window seems to have been a satisfying stay, thank you.
I will encourage words of praise from customers and I would like to continue studying with all staff from now on.
We are waiting for the staff to meet you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews