We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”
Review of Hotel Sun Okinawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sun Okinawa
Ranked #31 of 111 Hotels / Ryokan in Naha
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We stayed overnight at Hotel Sun on our first night in Naha.

It was in a convenient location and we walked to the hotel from Kencho Mae Monorail in the evening. The rooms were clean and spacious and the rates were quite good.

We also tried the buffet breakfast in the morning which was fine but not outstanding. We would consider staying here again because of the price and location.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank AusDonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2017

This hotel is a cute Japanese hotel at a good location between Kencho-mae and Asanhibashi monorail station. From the airport it is about 10mins on the monorail with a 2 min walk. It is also a good walking distance to the naha bus terminal, which is just next to the Asanhibashi station. There is a shopping centre a block a away with a great supermarket and small restaurants. The hotel is also an easy 10 min walk to the start of Kokusaidori international street with many food choices and shopping area.
The hotel has a Japanese bath house which is complimentary to the hotel guests and at a small fee of 1100 yen you can enjoy the hot stone spa which a great way to relax. There is also a coin operated laundry area on the third floor with complimentary green tea and coffee area. The breakfast is yummy with many choices or Japanese and Western style choices.
We had a triple share room and the room is quite big in terms or Japanese hotels and the beds are comofrtable. The downside is that sometimes there is a musky/smoke smell in the room, which is maybe because its old. The tv only has japanese channels and if you want english then you will have to purchase vending machine. Otherwise its a great hotel and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

I wanted to stay at my regular hotel. But I couldn't. I stayed at this hotel inevitably, but I was dissatisfied as expected.

I have reserved a smoking room for 2 nights. But they offered me a no smoking room. I asked a staff humbly "A smoking room please." But they said "We can't. You can smoke in the smoking area. It is outside of the hotel." I asked again " About tomorrow night, Can you ?" They said "No, we can't. No vacancies." I was disappointed because I had reserved 2 nights and smoking area is outside of the hotel ! I said again "But I have reserved a smoking room. I want you to change it"

1 minute and a half later, they offered me a smoking room.

Why? You said that you couldn't. Why could you offer me a smoking room such a short minutes? If I didn't ask them 3 times, they neglected my proper wants, I guess.

I have a lot of complaints against this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferretMAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

After an exhausting twenty (20) hours of travel, I finally arrived in Okinawa close to 2200 (10:00 pm) and was exhausted. I realized that I was going to be exhausted so selected a hotel close to the airport so that I could rest. The property met the requirement for an overnight stay.

Plus
- Close to the airport, convenient; close to “kokusai dori” or the International Road where there are many small “tourist shops” – you can also cut into “heiwa dori” or Peace Road where the more traditional small shops are located. If you venture further to the back, you will see parts of historic Okinawa of yesteryear where old ladies and men would shop for everyday items from geta (wooden clogs), yukata, etc.
- Breakfast buffet – a good representative of Japanese and Okinawan food; the typical Japanese (rice, miso soup), but also Okinawan food (spare rib soup, abura miso (miso mixed with pork fat – I know it sounds “yucky”, but its delicious!) andagi (Okinawan dounuts)) and many other selection such as bread, fruits, etc.
- Free, good signal strength WiFi

Minus
- Requested a NON-smoking room: it was not available, so for a night, stayed in a SMOKING room. Ugh…when you first enter the room the smell is overpowering – we requested a NON-smoking room, but they were not available
- Parking is sparse
- Not having an understanding of Japanese (listening and speaking) will make the experience a bit difficult as not many of the staff seems to speak English


Compared to American standards, the room is small, but functional, the mattress is firm, and the bathroom is also compact. Be aware that there is a step up as you enter the bathroom. And the toilet is equipped with a bidet; it’s actually a pretty hygienic way to clean. The controls for the AC and lights are on the console next to the bed. There is a traditional public bath on the 3rd floor where you can experience the Japanese bath. Be aware, if you have any tattoos, you will not be able to partake. In the Japanese society, only the yakuza (gangsters) have tattoos.

Good for an overnight stay, but I would not stay much longer.

Room Tip: Request a NON smoking room, being in the middle of Naha City, not much to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nakamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

I visit the hotel during 8/1 to 8/6, and my son get ill during 8/5 night when swimming. The first contacted employee cannot speak English, but redirect me to another employee, Masako-san, to assist immediately. Masako also be good translator between hospital and me.

Appreciate for your help again.

Yao-Min Huang

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ymhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Nice hotel in the middle of Naha.
The mono rail station is within walking distance (even with a suitcase) and connects to the airport
There is a convenience store just behind the hotel.
Also not far from shopping center/street and the night life
Wifi worked well in the room
The breakfast is both western & japanese

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Flowersun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

the location is good just 5 min walk to the nearest yui monorail and 10 min walk to kokusaidori. breakfast is tasty and lot of choice.(either western or Japanese). public bath locate at 2nd floor and is big and open till 12 midnight. the staff can't really understand English but willing to help. were be visit again

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazmin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naha hotels
0.1 km away
Nishitetsu Resort Inn Naha
0.2 km away
Comfort Hotel Naha Prefectural Office
0.1 km away
Okinawa NaHaNa Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Yuquesta Asahibashi
0.6 km away
nest HOTEL naha
nest HOTEL naha
#45 of 111 in Naha
145 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sun Palace Kyuyokan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Okinawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Okinawa

Address: 1-5-15 Kumoji, Naha 900-0015, Okinawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Naha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Naha
Price Range: $96 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sun Okinawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sun Okinawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Okinawa Hotel
Hotel Sun Okinawa Naha, Okinawa Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing