We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$55
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-26
Booking.com
US$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-27
Agoda.com
US$62
US$42
View deal
SAVE US$20
Free cancellation until 21-06-25
Expedia.comUS$55
ZenHotels.com
CheapTicketsUS$55
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
11
47
33
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
47
33
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 94 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night in Sendai. There were some communication problems with the staff in the reception due to the English-Japanese differences, as common in Japan..., but this was a bother to overcome. The single room was compact, that is to say small, but functional, clean and comfortable. There was some "business corner" in the hotel, including two computers with good internet connection and a printer, all free to use by guests of the hotel. Some say breakfast here is a good deal, but I did not try it, so I can't tell. This is more of a western-style hotel, some change of the Japanese-styles places, which some may like and some may not. It is located in the center of Sendai, about 20 minutes walk from the railway station. All in all, considering the reasonable price, I would say it does the job, but don't excpect some unique experience, only a functional place to stay.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UPtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Single room is small but comfortable and was quiet. Internet speed good and functional bathroom. TV chanel selection very limited. Breakfast tremendous value <Y1000 for a basic hot buffet. Service friendly and accomodating. Great location in Sendai. Slept well.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeneralManagerTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Smile Hotel Sendai Kokubuncho over the New Year break. We had never stayed there before and didn't really know what to expect.

We had a double room which was a little cramped for two people as are most business hotel doubles, but the bed was queen sized, so that was good. There was a humidifier in the room which was a lovely bonus. The air conditioning worked a little too well and I had to keep turning it off or risk overheating.

The room was generally well cleaned, with the exception of a couple of cobwebs on the ceiling. The toilet was very noisy at first. It was a little like the tank at the back was empty and it had to be filled. It really was loud, it sounded like there was air in the pipes or something.

We had breakfast at the hotel both mornings and it was very nice. There was a good assortment of western and Japanese food and it was replenished fairly often. The waitress seemed to be by herself and was kept very busy. The breakfast is cheaper if you order it in advance, so keep that in mind.

On the ground level of the hotel's building there is a convenience store, and the location of the hotel is near the Ichibancho shopping district. It is only a few minutes walk to the station. It is a bit far if you are carrying a suitcase, but not too bad if you are out exploring.

Room tip: Order Breakfast in advance to get it a little cheaper.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellastarstruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2021
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2021 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews