We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$90
US$71
View deal
SAVE US$19
Free cancellation until 21-06-26
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
CheapTicketsUS$71
TravelocityUS$71
Trip.comUS$90
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
3
12
14
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
3
12
14
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 30 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2006

I recently had a wonderful stay at the Sendai Sun Plaza Hotel <--->. It is about 7 or so blocks west of the Sendai Rail station in Miyagino-ku right by the Tsutsujigaoka of the city's subway station (one stop from Sendai station) or about a 10-minute walk.

I cant say much about Sendai. Basically the most I did was take a prolonged walk in its shopping arcade on the other side of the rail station, visit its largest electronics store (adjacent to the west side of the rail station), suck down a few coffees on Miyagino street, and check out the city's (premier?) Indian restaraunt. (We'd been eating the native fare all week and wanted a change of venue.) But needless to say, despite the heat and rain of late July 2006, I found access to the rest of the city rather convenient.

The hotel provides two types of rooms: "traditional Japanese," which I gather means a tatami room with futons, and what I gather must be considered western style--conventional beds (no double beds, at best two twins) albeit with Japanese pillows--i.e., filled with buckwheat hulls rather than down or polyester fill. My son and I slept well. But I'm not sure how romantic couples might take to the arrangement.

As a Dutch colleague put it, service and retail facilities in Japan tend to provide "overservice." That is, there is always someone ready to help you. Sendai Sun Plaza was no exception, and most of the desk staff during our conference could speak and understand English rather well. The hotel has a single restaurant called "Sunpaste," which was adequate but rather expensive for breakfast and closed a bit early (9 PM) for conference goers who like to share conversation over alcohol or coffee. Hence, I recommend that you bone up on local restaurants before you arrive. That said, a sushi restaurant just two doors west stayed open an hour later and offered both sake and beer. Also adjacent and just to the north of the west side of the rail station a building houses four floors of restaurants. Hence, it is difficult to complain much on this count.

The hotel has a fitness club and pool. Both are rather expensive for the occasional visitor (about 1,000 Yen per day). But the banquet and conference facilities are large, and the food that was catered was more than ample and quite tasty!

The bottom line, the Sendai Sunplaza was a great venue for a conference. It could well also serve as a great base from which to tour Sendai and the rest of Tohoku. Not taking advantage of this option I simply cannot say for sure.

4  Thank lahrmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2019
Google Translation

Room tip: 各プランがあるので、日にちさえ合えばお得。
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews