We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rawa Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Timotel Hotel(Mersing)
US$45
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mersing Hotel(Mersing)
US$21
US$15
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Embassy Hotel(Mersing)
US$15
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Alang's Rawa(Mersing)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
128
138
57
19
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
138
57
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrawa islandbeach frontfishwater slideshillside deluxelong weekendwhite sandcoral reeftable tennishigh tideclear waterscuba divingget awayhill toplunch and dinnerfamily with kidsmarine life
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went recently here to escape the Beast from the East and thought the island as a whole is a perfect gateway. From the booking to the check out, I believe they handle everything well and professionally. For the price that you pay, it is included the boat transfer and meal, 3 times each day. The buffet is good with plenty of food and selection to choose from and there's a BBQ night on every Saturday. The island is well kept and since there's only two resorts here, there is not much people around which is great. The room is just okay, nothing specular. There is a construction work going on the island so please confirm with them on your room location as some part is extremely noisy. You can go for a scuba class on the island and water activities such as kayak and snorkelling. If you're driving, there's a designated parking near the resort office at Mersing jetty for RM 18 per day. In all, the price is a little steep but I believe it was worth it. 2-3 nights stay is maximum I believe as there's not that much activities to do here and the island is quite small

Room Tip: Bring your own beach towel
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SyafiqAfham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall, super happy we stayed here with our 3 kids age 4,6,8. We got a spacious water bungalow, clean and basic. I like their environmental and minimal concept. Food is nice and best is the beach and super clean island. Since u dont need to take a snorkeling boat because the fish n coral is just a step away from the beach, it justifies the price tag that is bit more expensive than Redang. Love it that we could jump off the jetty, the slides, and even the hike up to the top of the hill.

Tips: Stay at water bungalow if you dont mind a bit walk to the main area and want beautiful pic at the balcony. There’s no toiletries except soap so bring your own. We brought our own water bottles and tidbits for the kids coz they got hungry all the time. No need cash, everything charge to the room. One more thing the hike up the hill was easy for adults and my 8 yr old, but the 6 yr old moped a bit and 4 yr old had to be carried down coz she refused to walk. The view up top was totallu worth it though. Bring a drone or go pro this is where you get nice shots.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank hitomi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pricey but worth it! The foods are well cooked and the taste esp the sotong/beef are nice..we didnt rent any canoe or other gears as we brought our own esp our giant unicorn~ The place are meant to enjoy the beach,sun and the sea...don't expect too much like the WIFI or TV...

1 thing need to improve is the way getting up to the Hill Top View...its quite dangerous and really not meant for kids below 12 to walk up...

We stayed at room 20 and the room was great~ downside is the shower (water)seems salty.(filtered water?)never or less we still like it..cosy with a area infront of ur room to enjoy ur cocktail drinks..

Staffs were great,friendly and some even remember YOUR NAME even without me notice who is who over there....

We have captured some nice Aerial footage over there... to those drones users...do beware of strong wind above 60 meters...use their flags at the jetty side to decide wind direction.

We will be coming back again either to celebrate my daughter's birthday or another short getaway...... Yes,,,, Yes,,,, This is an Island not to be miss!

Room Tip: Room 22,21,20 !!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Siambuddhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Just came back after 2 nights stay 20/02/2018 to 21/02/2018, Room 67. Upon arrival at Resort, was told by Reception Counter that all available canoe was fully booked by another group of visitors for 3 days, making it impossible for our group to enjoy the usage of the canoe. Was really looking forward to it.
How can that be? Management should be fair in treating all visitors alike, rather than giving special treatment to certain group.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Agree with many of the reviews - the beach is beautiful, and the island is mostly idyllic. However our stay was blighted with building and construction work which meant that our neighbouring villa was being sawed, hammered, drilled and sanded throughout our stay. On top of this, throughout the trip there was heavy machinery moving bags of stinking rubbish, rubble and bricks around the island.

Based on the standard of the villas, I would say this work is essential (see photos). But they should notify guests at the time of booking and not charge the full rate. Ideally I'd suggest they close the island when there is this level of work to be done.

We notified the reception desk and emailed the reservations desk, and yet only managed to get a response as we were leaving the island. We were offered a 30% discount on our room rate, however this cleverly avoids a discount on the food and transfer to the island - all essential parts of the package unless you plan on swimming to the island with food for your stay. So it really amounted to a 10% discount. They also offered a voucher for a free nights stay in the future - something we clearly wouldn't take up.

The manager was pretty rude and dismissive of our concerns: "I have to deal with people like you complaining all the time", "it's not my fault you're unhappy".

In all, it's a shame that such a beautiful spot was being poorly managed. We will not return and I would recommend you consider better value locations like Telunas or better managed ones like Nikoi.

Room Tip: Consider Nikoi, Telunas or even Batu Batu above this place
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
11  Thank LondonRuraltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews