We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
148
26
7
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
26
7
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon bar beach grill chinese restaurant rainforest deluxe room teething issues ladies and gentlemen vitality pool director of operations ocean villas official opening open months hotel has great potential private infinity pool italian chef ocean front kids club fitness center
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 191 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

Bad experience in Hua Yan Restaurant. Ordered E-Fu Noodle Abalone that cost RM128 and the food came out to be very salty. Complained, they change and apologize . Before that one of the waitress came and told us that dress code in the restaurant will be smart casual whereby we r not wearing slippers. We're wearing 3 quarter pants with T-shirt and she told us that this round they allow us to dine in. Is this how a treatment should be given to a paying guest? We're on holiday. After dinner, we went back to Horizon thinking of having a dessert but were chased away because of dress code again. Btw,we had tea at Horizon before going to Hua Yan restaurant for dinner. There's no issue but why when we go back for dessert they chased us away. I never had this type of treatment before went I go St Regis, Langkawi or Westin,Langkawi for dinner or drink. Bad experience I've encountered in a 5 Star Resorts.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRC_Langkawi, Director of Operations at The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Dear Pauline L,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

First of all, allow us to apologise for the service that you had experienced during your recent dining and stay with us.

I thank you for bringing your observations to my attention, I will review this matter with the Ladies and Gentlemen right away. Meanwhile, if you have the time to discuss this further, please kindly contact me via email or telephone at ellen.franke@ritzcarlton.com

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for your unpleasant experience and it would be our pleasure to warmly welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi to restore your confidence in us in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ellen Franke
Director of Operations
The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2017

After travelling around four hotel and resorts in Langkawi, it is safe to stay that the first 15 minutes you spend in the hotel is an indication of its service quality throughout the rest of the location. And The Ritz Carlton Langkawi surpassed every expectation I had within that 15 minutes. From the moment valet offered to park our car to the moment Stephanie and Adil warmly introduced themselves and assisted us with check-in, my friends and I felt as if we had stepped back home.

Not to mention suite-sized rooms with its own balcony that are sold as Rainforest Deluxe (lowest category) , the best Spa treatment ever housed in Cocoon-shaped architecture built on stilts in the sea, the private beach overlooking the Andaman sea with its array of water sport activities and, lastly, the adults-only Horizon bar with its infinity pool perfect for sunset viewing.

Just wanted to thank Stephanie, Adil, Daniel, Ying, Khimphee, Kak at the Beach bar and grill and all other staff for their hospitality that exudes the genuine care and concern each and every Ladies & Gentlemen has for every guest to provide a warm, relaxed yet refined experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, Horizon bar highly recommended
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank XavierY14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey_Huttert, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Dear Xavier Y,

Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review, it gives us great pleasure to know that you've had an experience nothing less than great and that we were able to make you feel that the resort was your 'home away from home' during your stay with us.

I will personally deliver your flattering comments to Stephanie, Adil, Daniel, Ying, Khimphee and the Ladies and Gentlemen at The Beach Grill as well.

We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to the resort and exceed your expectations as how we have done with your recent stay.

Warm regards,
Audrey Huttert
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

One of the best resorts we ever stayed. Great architecture of the buildings, very cool interior design of rooms and public areas, outstanding breakfast, superfriendly staff, huge Kidsarea. Strongly recommended for lovers of classy locations!

Stayed: December 2017
7  Thank Portorinco67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
241aink, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Dear Portorinco67,

I hope you know that your feedback is essential to us.

Thank you for your taking the time to write this beautiful review during your recent stay with us.

I will definitely share this great news with our Ladies and Gentlemen to further encourage their great service displayed.

We hope you will return for another great experience and adventure with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Audrey Huttert
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. The hotel is brand new and it is located in a paceful bay, surrounded by nature and the gorgeous rainforest.
The rooms are spacious and furnished with a very good style.
The entire staff is very kind and attentive.
The food is great especially the breakfast with a great variety to choose from.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
10  Thank MasterChef265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey_Huttert, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2017

Dear MasterChef265,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a positive review.

We're delighted to read and know that you've had such a positive stay with us, I shall be sure to relay your kind words to the Ladies and Gentlemen as well as the culinary team in Langkawi Kitchen.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you once again, should you have Langkawi in your future travel itinerary.

Warm regards,
Audrey Huttert
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2017

The Hotel was only opened about a month before our arrival. Work was still ongoing around the property. However the check in went smoothly enough and after the formalities a buggy took us to our accommodation. As was to be expected everything still looked very new. The room was nicely decorated , the bathroom area functional and spacious. The bed was comfortable with a choice of aircon or ceiling fan. A nice veranda facing southwest gave a nice afternoon sun.
This is a resort with potential once the teething problems are overcome.
The Staff is very friendly and they do their best, but the service is still not good enough for a Hotel in this price class. One afternoon by the pool next to the Beach Grill we ordered coffee, tea and some pastries. The coffee and tea took over 10 minutes and the pastries 45 minutes as they were coming from the Langkawi Kitchen far up the hill.

Our dinner on our day of arrival at the Beach Grill was very poor. Later we were told that the Italian Chef happened to be away that evening. Still poor show.
Down by the beach there is very little shade and no fans, so one can hardly spend time there during the day, which is why we hardly saw anyone there during our 4 night stay. The Management told us that they are currently working on a solution for the fans.
Good points were the excellent breakfast served at the Langkawi Kitchen. Very good !
Also good was the Chinese restaurant Hai Yan perched at the waters edge , from where you can see the sun sinking into the Andaman Sea. Also note that both the Langkawi Kitchen and the Hai Yan are airconditioned whilst the Beach Grill is not and can therefore be sweltering.

Would I come again to this Hotel ? I really dont know. They do not offer more than the Four Seasons, The Datai, The St Regis. Maybe it would come down to value for money. But it is too early to say only 4-5 weeks after the official opening. Good luck to the Management there is plenty to do.

Room Tip: Choose a beach villa with your own pool
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank etsija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCLangkawi, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Dear etsija,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you’ve had a pleasant arrival and enjoyed an excellent spread for breakfast in Langkawi Kitchen as well as enjoyed a lovely dinner in Hai Yan. In regards to the challenges faced with service, I will personally look into this matters and take proactive measures to avoid it from happening again in the future.

We would be most happy to welcome you back to the resort once again, and turn your experience into a memorable stay should you return to Langkawi in the near future.

Sincerely,
Audrey Huttert
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews