We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday!”
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed for four nights at the end of Feb. The room was large and quiet with a great bathroom and lounge area. The decor is a little tired though.
All the restaurants served excellent food with good service and variety, particularly the puddings. We really enjoyed watching the sunset from The Library.
The secluded bay and beach are amazing, very tranquil and private. Walking to the island is fun, although we didn't make it all the way across, left it a bit late and tide was coming in. The pools looked wonderful, we only made it once as the beach was so good.
On returning home, the first thing I did was check out our next available holiday so we could book the Tanjung Rhu again, got to wait until September!
Thank you, we had a fantastic break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimtamKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear TimtamKL,
Thanks for the great Review and for choosing to stay with us for your holiday break. It was our pleasure to look after you and it was very pleasing to hear everything at matched your expectations. I realise that it is very important that everything is seemless and that you are able to just chill out and relax completely when you have short breaks away to refresh. I am pleased we were able to provide this and if there is anything more you need for your next break in September please feel free to let me know on: enzo@tanjungrhu.com.my and I will be happy to make sure you have another "fantastic break" back Home in Paradise!

Warmest personal regards,

Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just returned from our 4th visit to the Tanjung Rhu and all I can say it was as lovely as the first time we went. The view and the beach are fantastic. All the staff are friendly helpful we are all ready planning trip 5 and that should say it all. The rooms are really nice and have plenty of space. The 3 restaurants offer a good variety of food and the service is excellent. Thank you all again and see you next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JWRIGLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Mr & Mrs Wrigley,

Thanks for the fantastic review and of course for coming to stay with us this year for the 4th time. It was great to meet you and it is extremely pleasing to know that your stay was a lovley as the first time and even more pleasing to know that you are planning to be back again soon. All your Tanjung Rhu family say "HELLO" and we are looking forward to seeing you again when you come back Home to Paradise.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed at the Tanjung Rhu for 2 nights, and I must say the rooms are really spacious, biggest batherooms, with walk in showers and a bath. We did however had the Cahaya rooms and they are a bit larger than the standard rooms. The hotel its self is very secluded, for me this was great, they have the option to go all inclusive which I recommend as there are not places to go out to eat surrounding the hotel. The hotel itself if in a block like set up, which shouldn;t put you off unless you spend every minute in your room. The beach is incredible and stretches for ages, powdery soft sand and you can, at low tide walk out realy far. The food is great at the hotel and service was a slap dash at points, but hey this is one of the mopst relaxed island i've been to, so who cares. The pools are wonderful and were never too crowded. Do not go here idf you want to walk out of your resort to find a little town etc, there is not an awful lot.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for Cahaya room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GentlemanHellraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear GentlemanHellraiser,
Thank you for staying with us and especially for writing such a nice review. I was pleased the see that you appreciated all the aspects of the Resort that are real advantages of coming to Tanjung Rhu - Spacious rooms, incredible beach, great food and All Inclusive option, the relaxing location and the pools. I hope next time that you will also explore the Mangroves which are an exceptional educational experience for all ages. I will make sure that the service is not "Slap Dash" but rather "Tip Top" the next time you come to see us in Paradise!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Shuttle bus picked us up at the airport and drove us across the island o the resort in 30 minutes. The beach front location is breathtaking. The rooms are air-conditioned, quiet and very spacious, we could easily fit a family of four in a room. Three resort restaurants and service at almost every corner provide variety and makes you feel pampered.

The few things that could be great instead of good include the slightly dated stucco buildings, dinner table service (tapered off as the sun set) and inconsistent drink quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Gi_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear The_Gi_Family,
I am so pleased that you decided to stay with us and that overall you had a wonderful time being pampered at Tanjung Rhu. We will continue on our quest to provide excellent service - all day and all night long - as well as ensuring that the drinks are consistent at all times and in all outlets. Sorry that you experienced these shortfalls and trust you will see the improvement the next time you allow us to "Pamper" you in Paradise!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I have been to Tanjung Rhu 3 times in the last 18 months, and we're already planning our next visit. I think that sums up how we feel about the place.

Every visit, we've been picked up from the airport by the hotel's transport, met by a friendly driver who enjoyed chatting with us, and thus begins a level of service we've found very few places can match. Throughout the stay, the service was impeccable. Never too much, always genuine - they have really great staff there.

The rooms are large. Very large. We stayed in Bayu Suria rooms, which gave us one of the largest beds we've ever slept in, in a bedroom that also had 2 extra beds in for the kids, a settee, TV and cabinet / minibar ... and still plenty of room to wander round. Then there's a central dressing area, very large bathroom with double sinks, massive bath, and separate shower and toilet areas. And finally a large sitting room. More than enough space for a family and friends. I would agree with some other comments that the rooms are a little dated, although they have a charm to them that sits well with the resort's overall atmosphere. They are currently refurbishing their rooms and I hope they keep them in the style that suits the resort, and don't go too modern.

The resort itself .. well read all the other reviews. It's beautiful. Idyllic.

Food excellent, pools excellent, games room for the kids was excellent. Do make sure you take up the all inclusive option if you plan to eat at the resort. It's a superb option.

Did I mention how great the service was?

I could write more, but it's all in other people's reviews. This is a lovely resort and we look forward to returning. It was great to meet Enzo the Manager on our departure as he chatted with us about future plans for the resort. The personal touch (and hopefully a great return rate!! - hope you're reading this Enzo!!) should ensure another visit this year we hope!

This is a lovely part of Langkawi. Thoroughly recommended.
We can't wait to return!

James and Kay Hallows

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nutty_663rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear James & Kay,
Yes, I am "reading this" and what a wonderful review - thank you so much! We are all thrilled to read the kind compliments and are so proud to have you say such nice things about your time here - and the great service! It was so nice to meet you and all I can say is, please hurry up and come back to Paradise because of course we will look after you in every way possible to make your 4th and all subsequent stays just perfect!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This place is realy heaven on earth, everything is how it should be, verry friendly staff!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Donald,

Lovely to hear from you and thank you for the kind review. I am happy to know that all is as you expected, especially the kind and friendly staff. Please pass my warmest regards on to Max as well and we are looking forward to seeing you both again soon. Oh by the way, mention to Max that I have taken his advise and have placed those candles on the tables by the Sands Pool in the evening and it does look so much better and romantic in the evenings here in Paradise!

P.S. My wife also says "Hello" to you both!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We've enjoyed a wonderful five days here. Please read our review here:

http://www.fishandfeathers.nl/malaysia/langkawi-malaysia/

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FishandFeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear FishandFeathers,

Thanks for the wonderful review and what great photos you have on your web page, especially the one of the sand bar. It really does look like a biblical scene and you almost expect to see Moses come out and have lightning shooting out from his Staff. The sand bar is a great feature of the location here during the Full and New Moons and this is the best photo of it that I have seen. I am so pleased that you had a nice time with us and thanks for sharing the great photos of what really is Paradise! Once you have completed your Travel Wish List, come back and see us again!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
18.7 km away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,237 reviews
20.0 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
16.8 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
21.0 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,415 reviews
18.1 km away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#4 of 104 in Langkawi
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $170 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing