We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go with the Inclusive Meal Plan!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Go with the Inclusive Meal Plan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This resort is set deep in a quiet forest by a secluded bay. It offers spectacular views from its three poolside restaurants and the library with its white sofas and full length glass walls.

The 'Cahaya Room' in which we stayed was spacious, airy, private and well appointed though a regular four floor climb in humid to hot Asian weather after three course meals and a bottle of wine was a stretch.

The outstanding feature in our view was the inclusive meal plan. It would have cost a small fortune to have paid for all meals and drinks separately, but this deal was so good giving access to the excellent meals offered that we kept expecting there would be some catch when we came to pay the final bill. There wasn't and we give top marks to what is definitely the most generous resort at which we've stayed.

It started very well with a transfer by the hotel's luxurious Jag. Several days later, we were most impressed by going on a full day Island tour provided freely by the hotel to compensate guests for some building noise in renovations (which we didn't hear from our room anyway).

The staff are a joy - pleasant and professional, the food is great, the scenery spectacular and the meal plan wraps up a very impressive package.

Room Tip: Avoid a top floor as not all guest wings have lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear ochandkang,
Thanks for staying with us and for your great Review. I am so pleased that you had such a nice time here and were also able to enjoy seeing some of the island with the trips that were on offer while you were here. I have to agree with you that the All Inclusive Package is fabulous value but it is always nice to hear it from a valued guest so others will believe it's very true. I hope that you will be able to enjoy the great value all over again when you come back Home to Paradise once again.

Warmest personal regards,

Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    275
    62
    29
    37
See reviews for
261
698
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

From the time you leave the airport until your return you receive first class treatment. A chauffeur to greet you, great receptionists who transfer you and your cases to the room before bothering with the necessary paperwork. From here on it just gets better, the restaurants offer an amazing array of foods with three restaurants to choose from. Poolside services if your too comfortable to get up. Agreed it may not suit every taste as it is rather out on a limb but hire a car and see what the island has to offer, take a cable car ride and enjoy the far reaching views of some of the other 99 islands. The people of Langkawi are always polite and charming in particular the staff of the Tanjung Rhu nothing seems to be too much trouble. This was our second trip from the UK and well worth the twelve hour flight.

Room Tip: If you have been previously persuade the hotel to give you a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJT41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear TJT41'
Thanks for staying with us again and I am pleased that you felt so "spoilt" on your return holiday with us at Tanjung Rhu! A holiday should be all about feeling special and relaxing with first class treatment so it's good to know that we have been successful in delivering this to you. Thanks for the kind comments about the staff, food and service as the Team will be pleased to know that these are appreciated by our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you when you come back Home to Paradise for the 3rd time.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Tanjung Rhu is beautifully set,in a secluded bay guarded by three impressive rocky outcrops,reminiscent of the location of the James Bond film, Man with the Golden Gun.The beach is sandy, sickle shaped and 2+ kilometres long,more importantly for the most part it is privately owned by the hotel.The beach has an amazing sandbar which stretches a long way into the sea making for an interesting walk and adds to the uniqueness of the place.It is kept spotlessly clean and very quiet (resort at 50 to 60& capacity,low season).The sea is a beautiful green but lacks the Maldivian clarity which I so love,this is only a minor quibble.Our room 805 has an excellent Sea view and everything we could have desired,Comfortable Double King,2 tvs,dvd,safe and decadent day bed.Housekeeping kept it immaculate. There are 3 pools, one for children and then two larger 50 metre ones of salt water and the Sands ozone pool.The latter is for adults and has a cocktail bar, a good spot for seeing the sunset.The Food over all is good.The Sands restaurant provides a wide and varied breakfast choice and a great valued evening set menu revolving on Thai, Malay,Indian and Chinese cuisine.The Saffron restaurant is Mediterranean in outlook primarily Italian,it is good but I recommend an outdoor sitting for the decor inside needs some TLC.Lastly comes the Rhu "fine dining", a disappointment and I like to think this was due to the change of chef.There was no value and my wife and I felt that it just didn`t cut the mustard.The food was tastier and of better value at the other restaurants.From this slight criticism I must turn to the pleasures of the Jiva Spa.This was our second home.The treatments were varied, well priced for a resort, and our two masseuses Maknah and Ayu brilliant and friendly.The resort had various excursions of which the Mangrove tour was best.Over all what made our stay so good was the friendliness and charm of the staff.From Enzo the ever present general manager down.10 out of 10.we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear RTGB,
It was lovely to meet you both while you with us and thanks again for choosing Tanjung Rhu for your special holiday destination. You have done a wonderful job of describing the uniqueness, beauty and very special environment of the Resort so thank you for that. As you have mentioned, one of the greatest assets is the very warm, accommodating and extremely sincere nature of the staff who are part of the Tanjung Rhu Family. We all appreciate your kind comments and especially Maknah & Ayu from the JivaRhu Wellness & Beauty Retreat who you have kindly mentioned in your review. We usually get rave reviews about the food in the Rhu Restaurant but it's good to have a contrary view as it stimulates us to work even harder to be perfect and ensure we can better satisfy your taste buds the next time you come back to see us here to Paradise!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at Tanjung Rhu resort in February for My Wife and My Wedding anniversary. The resort was OK but not Wow. If you dont want to go out and do nothing this is ideal. I found the resort too boring for me. The staff werre very good and always polite and greeted with a smile. The accomadation was tired and due for a refurb which some work was being done as we were there.
The air conditioning was an old system which made random noise at night.
I did not find the resort good value and infact very expensive for the standard. We stayed at a far superior resort after The Tangung Rhu at half the price , and still 5 star, at less than half the cost and was far more superior in every way.Im pleased I did this resort first.
It was my choice after reading reviews but was the wrong one for us. Stayed for 5 nights probly 3 nights too long.

Room Tip: Have a sea facing , views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear SallyChesterfield,
Thanks for staying with us and also for your frank review. The Resort is quite unique and has unlimited charm for many people who are seeking a relaxing holiday in an idyllic, beautiful environment. I am sorry it wasn't totally right for you both but I am pleased that you were subsequently able to find what you were looking for and that this was better suited for you to enjoy your special wedding anniversary. Thanks for the compliments relating to the staff as they will be pleased to know this.

Warmest personal regards from Paradise,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights for our honeymoon in February and all we can see is WOW!!! Everything from check in in our room with welcome congratulations cake and drinks to the food, drinks, pools and view was amazing.

We were on the all inclusive option which meant we only had to pay for alcohol when we checked out which is def recommended. We ate in all three restaurants - Rhu, Saffron and Sands and could not find fault with any of them. The staff were friendly and were happy to chat and joke with us about the rain in the evenings especially Leni and Yusufi doing a fantastic job with the umbrellas.

On our second week wedding anniversary we booked in for a couples Malay Urut massage and a private beach BBQ which was an amazing way to celebrate. The food was cooked to perfection by Safura and don't think we'll be able to replicate it now we're back home.

The hotel put on complimentary trips to the Mangrove and we tried kayaking and windsurfing. We also hired a car through the hotel for RM250 to explore the island which we found easy, as they drive on the same side as us and the roads are quiet. Would def recommend the cable car and waterfalls.

All in all an amazing honeymoon which has given us memories we will treasure forever. Hopefully we'll return in the future for a wedding anniversary x

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Leam,
It was great to know that you had such a memorable Honeymoon and that we were able to contribute in some small way to those memories - that is very important to all of us here at Tanjung Rhu. Thanks for letting us know and for writing such a wondeful Review. I am sure that Leni, Yusri, Safura and all the Team here are all just as excited as I was to read your kind words and we are certainly looking forward to seeing you back for an even more special anniversary with your Tanjung Rhu Family here in Paradise!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Fantastic location, great staff, beautiful rooms and the food was excellent!!! There were few flaws but just so you're well informed- the room service cheese platter is pretty disgusting and the outside of some of the buildings do need a little bit of a paint. One last tip- If you like good food then hit the sands restaurant for lunch. The crab cakes and satay sticks were great!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owen230985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear owen230985,
Thanks for staying with us and I have already embarked on a mission to make a cheese platter that is "Perfection" too for the next time you come to stay with us here in Paradise! Apart from that, I am pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for the kind Review.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed for four nights at the end of Feb. The room was large and quiet with a great bathroom and lounge area. The decor is a little tired though.
All the restaurants served excellent food with good service and variety, particularly the puddings. We really enjoyed watching the sunset from The Library.
The secluded bay and beach are amazing, very tranquil and private. Walking to the island is fun, although we didn't make it all the way across, left it a bit late and tide was coming in. The pools looked wonderful, we only made it once as the beach was so good.
On returning home, the first thing I did was check out our next available holiday so we could book the Tanjung Rhu again, got to wait until September!
Thank you, we had a fantastic break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimtamKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear TimtamKL,
Thanks for the great Review and for choosing to stay with us for your holiday break. It was our pleasure to look after you and it was very pleasing to hear everything at matched your expectations. I realise that it is very important that everything is seemless and that you are able to just chill out and relax completely when you have short breaks away to refresh. I am pleased we were able to provide this and if there is anything more you need for your next break in September please feel free to let me know on: enzo@tanjungrhu.com.my and I will be happy to make sure you have another "fantastic break" back Home in Paradise!

Warmest personal regards,

Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
19.3 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
20.0 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
16.7 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
The Datai Langkawi
2.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
21.0 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Property: Tanjung Rhu Resort
Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing