We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home in paradise.”
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

OK, so this was our 6th visit to the Tanjung Rhu, and it was just like returning home.
Quiet and relaxing, is the order of the day, everyday, and what a view. We never tire of looking out over the bay, both in the morning and the evenings.
As mentioned previously, the rooms, whilst very clean, are getting a little tired and could do with freshening up. However I understand from the management that this is being addressed, and we don’t go 7000 miles to spend time in a room anyway.
The pool at Sands, specifically for the adults is quiet and relaxing. 50m long, and running parallel to the beach, it’s a perfect place to read a book and chill out in the sun. The bar staff at Sands look after you, bringing fruit and chilled face towels. Mocktails are the order of the day, try the Rhu Breeze expertly made by Nida, you won’t be disappointed. These are all included in the meal package which is definitely worth taking.
This brings me nicely to the restaurants, which provide excellent food and service. The recent return of Mahmad Anuar Othman as Executive Chef, is a sure to see further delights once he has had a chance to settle back in.
The Rhu restaurant is as good as ever, with the flambé a highlight for dessert.
The Saffron has really improved since our last visit 2 years ago, with the Cod Fish Romesco a new firm favourite of ours. A special mention must go to Leni at the Saffron, for all her advice with the food and her infectious character.
The Sands restaurant continues to offer a great variety of Asian cuisine, and we especially enjoyed the Indonesian Gourmet evening. Breakfast is served here and I can recommend trying the Roti Canai, if you are lucky enough to be there on day that it is on the roster.
During the day the Reading Room makes a pleasant rest bite from the heat. Try taking lunch or afternoon tea here.
There is a happy hour (17:30-19:30) at Sands Bar, a lovely way to enjoy a few aperitifs whilst watching the sunset, thanks to Ricky for keeping my beer glass full.
If you find you have a spare morning, try taking a trip through the mangroves. Fendi, our guide, was very informative and great fun. He has us entertained whilst explaining all about the environment.
Finally I would like to thank Enzo (general manager) and his whole staff, for making our holiday a pure joy. Special thanks again to Anuar, Leni, Okta, Dilla, Ricky, Nida and I apologise if I have missed anyone out. Every member of the hotels staff contribute to making the Tanjung Rhu experience a complete pleasure, and we look forward to returning for our 7th visit in 2013.
Terima kasih
Richard & Diane

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear Richard & Diane,
Sorry it's taken so long to respond here but I was so pleased to read your wonderful Review and to know that your 6th visit was just as perfect as every other time that you have been here. It was also nice to read that a few things are even better than before as this is what we would like to be able to do for guests every time they come back to see us. I was very pleased to be able to meet you both and get your feedback. We are all looking forward to your 7th visit back "Home to Paradise" next year and I, Imyi, Nida, Chef Anuar, Leni, Fendi, Ricky, Anuar, Okta, Dilla and all the fabulous team here send you our warmest personal regards,

Enzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Went to Kualur Lumpur first, stayed at the Shangrila , great hotel ,no problems at all ,but a bustling place ? then onto Tanjung Rhu ,Langkawi , we booked in , then walked through the lobby to the beach , and what a beach ! a view to die for .uninterupted islands and sea with NO developement , stay next door around the bay and you get a great view of the cement works from the four seasons. We went all inclusive (best way) as it can be expensive paying as you go along , the only drinks are "none alcholic" on this package ,it didnt matter , You could buy beer ,shorts or wine if you wanted , the food was amazing with a large choice of cuisines ,all cooked to perfection , service was excellent! nothing was ever to much trouble ,.
They where doing an upgrade of some rooms to bring them back to the standard , some where a tad tired , but room service was first class and they where kept very clean ,
Did a few trip that where value for money, they laid on complimentary taxi to the town a few times a day ,.
This is a very quiet resort mostly for couples and the like , if you want noise and music blaring out go someplace else its not for you ? If you need a relaxing break where you put your flag up on the lounge, then minutes later they arrive to take an order with a smile then this is the place to go .
We never go the same place twice but this is one we would do again.

Room Tip: Go for a Cahaya , much nicer than the deluxe Damai ,and more roomy , your never in the room anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakesbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear lakebuster,
Thank you for staying at Tanjung Rhu and for the very complimentary Review. We have so many people who come here and say exactly what you have said, ie "We never go to the same place twice but will definitely come back here again".

We have guests who have said this and now come back to see us every year - as it has become their "Home Away From Home here in Paradise"! It's so wonderful when you work in a place that can make people that happy so I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for making my day with these kind words and also for making the day of all the fabulous team at Tanjung Rhu. We will certainly be looking forward to welcoming you back "Home" soon!

Warmest personal reagrds,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed for 7 nights after 7 nights re-visiting Penang. What a relief it was to arrive to the peace and tranquility of the Tanjong Rhu. No noisy water sports to spoil the ambiance - no crowds - dare I say it no noisy children -no pestering hawkers. The staff were all just wonderful from the restaurants and bars to the reception and room staff. We were serenaded by piano as we enjoyed breakfast !! If you want to chill out and relax -great food, fab beach,comfortable rooms, beautiful gardens and beach - just go there ! PS Kuoni rep was very good and go AI.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear linda321,
Thanks for the vote of confidence and the great Review. I am so pleased that you had a relaxing and tranquil time here in Paradise. I hope others will take your advise and "Just Go" and I also hope that you will come back and see us soon so we can look after you all over again.

Warmest personal regards,

Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This resort is set deep in a quiet forest by a secluded bay. It offers spectacular views from its three poolside restaurants and the library with its white sofas and full length glass walls.

The 'Cahaya Room' in which we stayed was spacious, airy, private and well appointed though a regular four floor climb in humid to hot Asian weather after three course meals and a bottle of wine was a stretch.

The outstanding feature in our view was the inclusive meal plan. It would have cost a small fortune to have paid for all meals and drinks separately, but this deal was so good giving access to the excellent meals offered that we kept expecting there would be some catch when we came to pay the final bill. There wasn't and we give top marks to what is definitely the most generous resort at which we've stayed.

It started very well with a transfer by the hotel's luxurious Jag. Several days later, we were most impressed by going on a full day Island tour provided freely by the hotel to compensate guests for some building noise in renovations (which we didn't hear from our room anyway).

The staff are a joy - pleasant and professional, the food is great, the scenery spectacular and the meal plan wraps up a very impressive package.

Room Tip: Avoid a top floor as not all guest wings have lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear ochandkang,
Thanks for staying with us and for your great Review. I am so pleased that you had such a nice time here and were also able to enjoy seeing some of the island with the trips that were on offer while you were here. I have to agree with you that the All Inclusive Package is fabulous value but it is always nice to hear it from a valued guest so others will believe it's very true. I hope that you will be able to enjoy the great value all over again when you come back Home to Paradise once again.

Warmest personal regards,

Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

From the time you leave the airport until your return you receive first class treatment. A chauffeur to greet you, great receptionists who transfer you and your cases to the room before bothering with the necessary paperwork. From here on it just gets better, the restaurants offer an amazing array of foods with three restaurants to choose from. Poolside services if your too comfortable to get up. Agreed it may not suit every taste as it is rather out on a limb but hire a car and see what the island has to offer, take a cable car ride and enjoy the far reaching views of some of the other 99 islands. The people of Langkawi are always polite and charming in particular the staff of the Tanjung Rhu nothing seems to be too much trouble. This was our second trip from the UK and well worth the twelve hour flight.

Room Tip: If you have been previously persuade the hotel to give you a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJT41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear TJT41'
Thanks for staying with us again and I am pleased that you felt so "spoilt" on your return holiday with us at Tanjung Rhu! A holiday should be all about feeling special and relaxing with first class treatment so it's good to know that we have been successful in delivering this to you. Thanks for the kind comments about the staff, food and service as the Team will be pleased to know that these are appreciated by our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you when you come back Home to Paradise for the 3rd time.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Tanjung Rhu is beautifully set,in a secluded bay guarded by three impressive rocky outcrops,reminiscent of the location of the James Bond film, Man with the Golden Gun.The beach is sandy, sickle shaped and 2+ kilometres long,more importantly for the most part it is privately owned by the hotel.The beach has an amazing sandbar which stretches a long way into the sea making for an interesting walk and adds to the uniqueness of the place.It is kept spotlessly clean and very quiet (resort at 50 to 60& capacity,low season).The sea is a beautiful green but lacks the Maldivian clarity which I so love,this is only a minor quibble.Our room 805 has an excellent Sea view and everything we could have desired,Comfortable Double King,2 tvs,dvd,safe and decadent day bed.Housekeeping kept it immaculate. There are 3 pools, one for children and then two larger 50 metre ones of salt water and the Sands ozone pool.The latter is for adults and has a cocktail bar, a good spot for seeing the sunset.The Food over all is good.The Sands restaurant provides a wide and varied breakfast choice and a great valued evening set menu revolving on Thai, Malay,Indian and Chinese cuisine.The Saffron restaurant is Mediterranean in outlook primarily Italian,it is good but I recommend an outdoor sitting for the decor inside needs some TLC.Lastly comes the Rhu "fine dining", a disappointment and I like to think this was due to the change of chef.There was no value and my wife and I felt that it just didn`t cut the mustard.The food was tastier and of better value at the other restaurants.From this slight criticism I must turn to the pleasures of the Jiva Spa.This was our second home.The treatments were varied, well priced for a resort, and our two masseuses Maknah and Ayu brilliant and friendly.The resort had various excursions of which the Mangrove tour was best.Over all what made our stay so good was the friendliness and charm of the staff.From Enzo the ever present general manager down.10 out of 10.we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear RTGB,
It was lovely to meet you both while you with us and thanks again for choosing Tanjung Rhu for your special holiday destination. You have done a wonderful job of describing the uniqueness, beauty and very special environment of the Resort so thank you for that. As you have mentioned, one of the greatest assets is the very warm, accommodating and extremely sincere nature of the staff who are part of the Tanjung Rhu Family. We all appreciate your kind comments and especially Maknah & Ayu from the JivaRhu Wellness & Beauty Retreat who you have kindly mentioned in your review. We usually get rave reviews about the food in the Rhu Restaurant but it's good to have a contrary view as it stimulates us to work even harder to be perfect and ensure we can better satisfy your taste buds the next time you come back to see us here to Paradise!

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at Tanjung Rhu resort in February for My Wife and My Wedding anniversary. The resort was OK but not Wow. If you dont want to go out and do nothing this is ideal. I found the resort too boring for me. The staff werre very good and always polite and greeted with a smile. The accomadation was tired and due for a refurb which some work was being done as we were there.
The air conditioning was an old system which made random noise at night.
I did not find the resort good value and infact very expensive for the standard. We stayed at a far superior resort after The Tangung Rhu at half the price , and still 5 star, at less than half the cost and was far more superior in every way.Im pleased I did this resort first.
It was my choice after reading reviews but was the wrong one for us. Stayed for 5 nights probly 3 nights too long.

Room Tip: Have a sea facing , views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SallyChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear SallyChesterfield,
Thanks for staying with us and also for your frank review. The Resort is quite unique and has unlimited charm for many people who are seeking a relaxing holiday in an idyllic, beautiful environment. I am sorry it wasn't totally right for you both but I am pleased that you were subsequently able to find what you were looking for and that this was better suited for you to enjoy your special wedding anniversary. Thanks for the compliments relating to the staff as they will be pleased to know this.

Warmest personal regards from Paradise,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
18.7 km away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,234 reviews
20.0 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
16.8 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
21.0 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,414 reviews
18.1 km away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#4 of 104 in Langkawi
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $182 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing