We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The benchmark for all holidays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The benchmark for all holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at Tanjung Rhu twice - March 2008 & March 2010 - and will definitely go back one day when we can take a couple of weeks; it's too far to go for just a week. The beach is staggeringly beautiful and the resort has everything you could possibly want in terms of activities. We particularly liked being able to play table tennis and pool everyday. It became our 'thing' to play games in air-conditioned comfort after lunch when the beach was too hot. And sitting in the reading room later in the afternoon was also very pleasant. The staff were invariably professional and polite and the food was fabulous. I really miss it!

Room Tip: Even the smaller rooms are quite large in comparison with other hotels, but they have good informati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker064_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Walker064_10,
Wonderful to read your review and to know that your past visits have been so enjoyable and relaxing. We are all looking forward to seeing you again when you come back "Home" for two weeks.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    265
    59
    27
    37
See reviews for
252
675
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at Tanjung Rhu for 12 nights in March and had the most relaxing and enjoyable holiday we have ever had. We have been to Mauritius, the Maldives and the Seychelles but this beach is better than any we have seen before. The room was huge, twice the size of any we have had anywhere else and was always clean and welcoming. No problem with towels or toiletries either. The food and service was exceptional. At the Sands bar Nida was there with her lovely smile to take our orders for food and drinks. My husband enjoyed swimming in the adults only pool and went sailing with the boys from the boathouse.Fendi was an excellent guide when we went out for a couple of boat trips. We were all inclusive and we cannot recommend this option enough, it is excellent value. Enzo,the general manager, was always willing to chat and welcomed any feedback of any kind, an approach we appreciated. A mention of Okta in the Rhu restaurant. She, like everyone else at the resort, provided a professional service with a smile.
We also,had a cookery class where we were shown how to make a delicious fish curry. Yum yum.

Room Tip: We chose a Cahaya room, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandsBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear j&sBrighton,
It was lovely to meet you both and even more wonderful to read your very kind Review. It was great to hear that we compared so well to other international holiday island destinations that you have been to and gratifying to know we were able to meet all your needs for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday break. All the staff here and especially Nida, Fendi, Okta and I, thank you for your kind comments and are looking forward to welcoming you back "Home to Paradise" soon.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

OK, so this was our 6th visit to the Tanjung Rhu, and it was just like returning home.
Quiet and relaxing, is the order of the day, everyday, and what a view. We never tire of looking out over the bay, both in the morning and the evenings.
As mentioned previously, the rooms, whilst very clean, are getting a little tired and could do with freshening up. However I understand from the management that this is being addressed, and we don’t go 7000 miles to spend time in a room anyway.
The pool at Sands, specifically for the adults is quiet and relaxing. 50m long, and running parallel to the beach, it’s a perfect place to read a book and chill out in the sun. The bar staff at Sands look after you, bringing fruit and chilled face towels. Mocktails are the order of the day, try the Rhu Breeze expertly made by Nida, you won’t be disappointed. These are all included in the meal package which is definitely worth taking.
This brings me nicely to the restaurants, which provide excellent food and service. The recent return of Mahmad Anuar Othman as Executive Chef, is a sure to see further delights once he has had a chance to settle back in.
The Rhu restaurant is as good as ever, with the flambé a highlight for dessert.
The Saffron has really improved since our last visit 2 years ago, with the Cod Fish Romesco a new firm favourite of ours. A special mention must go to Leni at the Saffron, for all her advice with the food and her infectious character.
The Sands restaurant continues to offer a great variety of Asian cuisine, and we especially enjoyed the Indonesian Gourmet evening. Breakfast is served here and I can recommend trying the Roti Canai, if you are lucky enough to be there on day that it is on the roster.
During the day the Reading Room makes a pleasant rest bite from the heat. Try taking lunch or afternoon tea here.
There is a happy hour (17:30-19:30) at Sands Bar, a lovely way to enjoy a few aperitifs whilst watching the sunset, thanks to Ricky for keeping my beer glass full.
If you find you have a spare morning, try taking a trip through the mangroves. Fendi, our guide, was very informative and great fun. He has us entertained whilst explaining all about the environment.
Finally I would like to thank Enzo (general manager) and his whole staff, for making our holiday a pure joy. Special thanks again to Anuar, Leni, Okta, Dilla, Ricky, Nida and I apologise if I have missed anyone out. Every member of the hotels staff contribute to making the Tanjung Rhu experience a complete pleasure, and we look forward to returning for our 7th visit in 2013.
Terima kasih
Richard & Diane

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Richard & Diane,
Sorry it's taken so long to respond here but I was so pleased to read your wonderful Review and to know that your 6th visit was just as perfect as every other time that you have been here. It was also nice to read that a few things are even better than before as this is what we would like to be able to do for guests every time they come back to see us. I was very pleased to be able to meet you both and get your feedback. We are all looking forward to your 7th visit back "Home to Paradise" next year and I, Imyi, Nida, Chef Anuar, Leni, Fendi, Ricky, Anuar, Okta, Dilla and all the fabulous team here send you our warmest personal regards,

Enzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Went to Kualur Lumpur first, stayed at the Shangrila , great hotel ,no problems at all ,but a bustling place ? then onto Tanjung Rhu ,Langkawi , we booked in , then walked through the lobby to the beach , and what a beach ! a view to die for .uninterupted islands and sea with NO developement , stay next door around the bay and you get a great view of the cement works from the four seasons. We went all inclusive (best way) as it can be expensive paying as you go along , the only drinks are "none alcholic" on this package ,it didnt matter , You could buy beer ,shorts or wine if you wanted , the food was amazing with a large choice of cuisines ,all cooked to perfection , service was excellent! nothing was ever to much trouble ,.
They where doing an upgrade of some rooms to bring them back to the standard , some where a tad tired , but room service was first class and they where kept very clean ,
Did a few trip that where value for money, they laid on complimentary taxi to the town a few times a day ,.
This is a very quiet resort mostly for couples and the like , if you want noise and music blaring out go someplace else its not for you ? If you need a relaxing break where you put your flag up on the lounge, then minutes later they arrive to take an order with a smile then this is the place to go .
We never go the same place twice but this is one we would do again.

Room Tip: Go for a Cahaya , much nicer than the deluxe Damai ,and more roomy , your never in the room anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakesbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear lakebuster,
Thank you for staying at Tanjung Rhu and for the very complimentary Review. We have so many people who come here and say exactly what you have said, ie "We never go to the same place twice but will definitely come back here again".

We have guests who have said this and now come back to see us every year - as it has become their "Home Away From Home here in Paradise"! It's so wonderful when you work in a place that can make people that happy so I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for making my day with these kind words and also for making the day of all the fabulous team at Tanjung Rhu. We will certainly be looking forward to welcoming you back "Home" soon!

Warmest personal reagrds,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leatherhead - uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed for 7 nights after 7 nights re-visiting Penang. What a relief it was to arrive to the peace and tranquility of the Tanjong Rhu. No noisy water sports to spoil the ambiance - no crowds - dare I say it no noisy children -no pestering hawkers. The staff were all just wonderful from the restaurants and bars to the reception and room staff. We were serenaded by piano as we enjoyed breakfast !! If you want to chill out and relax -great food, fab beach,comfortable rooms, beautiful gardens and beach - just go there ! PS Kuoni rep was very good and go AI.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear linda321,
Thanks for the vote of confidence and the great Review. I am so pleased that you had a relaxing and tranquil time here in Paradise. I hope others will take your advise and "Just Go" and I also hope that you will come back and see us soon so we can look after you all over again.

Warmest personal regards,

Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This resort is set deep in a quiet forest by a secluded bay. It offers spectacular views from its three poolside restaurants and the library with its white sofas and full length glass walls.

The 'Cahaya Room' in which we stayed was spacious, airy, private and well appointed though a regular four floor climb in humid to hot Asian weather after three course meals and a bottle of wine was a stretch.

The outstanding feature in our view was the inclusive meal plan. It would have cost a small fortune to have paid for all meals and drinks separately, but this deal was so good giving access to the excellent meals offered that we kept expecting there would be some catch when we came to pay the final bill. There wasn't and we give top marks to what is definitely the most generous resort at which we've stayed.

It started very well with a transfer by the hotel's luxurious Jag. Several days later, we were most impressed by going on a full day Island tour provided freely by the hotel to compensate guests for some building noise in renovations (which we didn't hear from our room anyway).

The staff are a joy - pleasant and professional, the food is great, the scenery spectacular and the meal plan wraps up a very impressive package.

Room Tip: Avoid a top floor as not all guest wings have lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear ochandkang,
Thanks for staying with us and for your great Review. I am so pleased that you had such a nice time here and were also able to enjoy seeing some of the island with the trips that were on offer while you were here. I have to agree with you that the All Inclusive Package is fabulous value but it is always nice to hear it from a valued guest so others will believe it's very true. I hope that you will be able to enjoy the great value all over again when you come back Home to Paradise once again.

Warmest personal regards,

Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

From the time you leave the airport until your return you receive first class treatment. A chauffeur to greet you, great receptionists who transfer you and your cases to the room before bothering with the necessary paperwork. From here on it just gets better, the restaurants offer an amazing array of foods with three restaurants to choose from. Poolside services if your too comfortable to get up. Agreed it may not suit every taste as it is rather out on a limb but hire a car and see what the island has to offer, take a cable car ride and enjoy the far reaching views of some of the other 99 islands. The people of Langkawi are always polite and charming in particular the staff of the Tanjung Rhu nothing seems to be too much trouble. This was our second trip from the UK and well worth the twelve hour flight.

Room Tip: If you have been previously persuade the hotel to give you a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJT41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxLGK, General Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear TJT41'
Thanks for staying with us again and I am pleased that you felt so "spoilt" on your return holiday with us at Tanjung Rhu! A holiday should be all about feeling special and relaxing with first class treatment so it's good to know that we have been successful in delivering this to you. Thanks for the kind comments about the staff, food and service as the Team will be pleased to know that these are appreciated by our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you when you come back Home to Paradise for the 3rd time.

Warmest personal regards,
Enzo Rulli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
19.3 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
16.7 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
20.0 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
The Datai Langkawi
21.0 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
2.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Property: Tanjung Rhu Resort
Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#6 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing