We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Salty Food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wonderland Food Store

Wonderland Food Store
Ranked #10 of 402 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very Salty Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Had dinner here today and must say the food was extremely salty!!!! We had seafood tom yam, very salty. Baby Kailan with Oyster Sauce, also very salty. D/fried calamari, so so only. Oyster omelette a little oily. Only thing good was the Chinese tea very hot.

Standard has dropped tremendeously....can bypass this restaurant for now

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FplusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    218
    75
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Food but beware”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The restaurant is located at the main road in Kuah and you can park by the road side. It is located in a food court next to the river.

There is no toilet in the food court and you need to cross the main road over to the corner of another row of shop-lots and it is quite quiet at night.

The food here is delicious and it is often pack with people. If you are tourists, need to be more careful as they tend to recommend more expensive dishes.

We tried to order butter fried prawns but the person taking the order says that they have not more sea prawns but offered grilled tiger prawns instead. The 2 large tiger prawns came to about RM 110.00 per dish. Later, the next table of us (locals) got their order of fried butter prawns but they came later than us.

Not so honest after all.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank PTCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Must try!!! Best seafood with cheapest price in Langkawi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I've read some reviews about it before I proceed to try on this restaurant. Local claims that this place sells cheapest and tastiest seafood in Langkawi. We tried it and yes, their seafood is really fantastic! Service is prompt and friendly. Price for seafood is really cheap. Price for vege, soup, drinks are slightly expensive. Not only locals visit their restaurant, foreigners enjoy it too. My wife and I tried once during dinner time on 2nd day of our visit to Langkawi, and we have no doubt to return to this place on next day.

This restaurant is just situated behind Bella Vista. It does not has many tables. Do come early before 7pm to avoid the queue, especially on weekends. Otherwise, call them for reservation. But even this place is full with people, you can see that people are willing to wait, even though they are aware that two seafood restaurants next to Wonderland have more empty seats/tables.

Generally RM20-30 per person is good enough to enjoy a satisfying seafood dinner. No service tax, government tax, etc.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank padawan0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulau Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I haven't been there for a while but when I bring my family & my close friend, Chiam's family, you know what.....it is just "AWESOME".....for 6 adults and 6 kids....it just RM 160.....we had Fish, Mantis Prawn, Squid, Chicken, Japanese Beancurd and Vegetables, all were so delicious, yummy and Mama Mia.......not forget the drinks as well....hehe...for me they are the best in the island....don't be surprise if you see more non chinese then chinese....hehe.....actually the place is halal and thats why many muslim like to go there......so if you guys here in Langkawi, this is the place....a must try....you won't regret it....cheers

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertKhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food at a cheap price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had lobster, big prawns, soft-shell crab, fried rice, and two beers for $45! Everything was fresh and tasty.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ejh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wonderland Food Store also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 

Been to Wonderland Food Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing