We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So So - Quick Touch n Go” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billion Waterfront

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Billion Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So So - Quick Touch n Go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This Hotel is one of the few limited hotel available in Labuan. Thus not much choice for me to put a night. The hotel was recently renovated and just recently changed to card system to get in to the room (Previously still using keys). Breakfast was lousy..can get much better food outside the hotel. The fixture in the restaurant was old as well. its more suitable for business traveler.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogeswaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    37
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
12
9
10
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stay regularly at the Waterfront and as with the majority of hotels in Labuan it is a nice hotel (recently refurbished) if on a business trip. In any other location it would be a nice vacation hotel as well as the pool is great. However the majority of guests are offshore expats or businessmen and to spend any time around the pool with a family especially young children would be stressful. To summarise a good clean hotel with nice food and an excellent waterfront bar but for business only.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted00120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Location - perfect.
Place - was told recently upgrade in 2010, have the 'colonial' look. lobby is modern almost like a...bank. family had to stand around or wander outside..just 2 long leather like sofa. felt slightly out of place (we dressed in shorts, jeans, holiday you know..)
Pool - reasonably big, clean and shady. Sunset bar is nice, good to hang out and 'chill' as me daughters say.
Staff - hard to bring a smile from some. seemed a bit reserved (trained to?) Others are just friendly. Waitresses are 'stone cold' at the Spinmaker.
Amenities - very basic for suite! Its unaturally modern deco. Could do with an indoor plant. The suite room balcony is rather disappointingly bare and not clean. Its a b-a-l-c-o-n-y where we can sit and watch the magnificent view! Complimentary fruit basket?
Overall - its okay, not great. nice hotel, lacks the fine touches and details expected from one of the leading hotels on the island.

Room Tip: bring a mat to sit on at the balcony (suite rooms at he main building), be prepare to wait 1-2hrs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Went there for a business trip. The hotel was cosy & spacious after undergo major renovation. It has flat screen TV & better control of air conditioning. :).
Food was ok but unfortunately the swimming pool not ready yet to be use.

Overall experience.. Its ok for short trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed one night at the Waterfront while on a business trip. The rooms have been refurbished with modern looking furniture. the food is ok.but the RESTAURANT MANAGER services no good.first time i see the RESTAURANT MANAGER hungry at the stafff in open the guest.All in all, a decent hotel with clean and comfy rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Labuan Island hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

Stayed one night at the Waterfront while on a business trip. The rooms have been refurbished with modern looking furniture.

Breakfast selection was poor but has at least has the basics like nasi Kemal, toasts, eggs, etc. Nothing to shout about in terms of service though we didn't encounter rude staff as some previous reviews.

All in all, a decent hotel with clean and comfy rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penangowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

The rooms were expensive for its price, 80 USD per night, no slippers were available and if you need one, it will be for a cost. Carpet was dirty and the wall paper were starting to peel off. The AC outlet was dirty and I believe it was molds growing in on area above the AC outlet louvre.

The breakfast porridge was recycled from the day before as it was cold when I had my breakfast at 6 am. Breakfast was normally at 7 am but since I was leaving early, I went to the restaurant to have my breakfast only to find out that they were re-heating the porridge and God knows what else.

The hotel staff were very eager to get me out of the hotel. On the day of my checkout, at 12 pm sharp, I received a call in my room telling me that it is checkout time and if i want to stay longer, I will be charged 70 MYR (20 USD) more. I said it was ok and that my flight was not due to leave till 5 PM so i will checkout at 3 PM. After 5 minutes another person called to tell me the same thing, it seems that they are not talking with each other in the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrxe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
0.2 km away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.6 km away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#3 of 10 in Labuan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
12.5 km away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 18 in Labuan Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billion Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billion Waterfront

Property: Billion Waterfront
Address: 1, Jalan Wawasan, Labuan Island 87000, Malaysia (Formerly Waterfront Labuan Financial Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Billion Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Billion Waterfront officially opened its doors on the 01st December 1994 and was launched by the former Prime Minister of Malaysia Yang Amat Berbahagia Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad. The hotel is developed on approximately 4 hectares of reclaimed land adopting a contemporary architectural style with its external and internal decors. In 2004, the hotel received a 4-Star hotel rating from Tourism Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Billion Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing