We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Holiday” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Certificate of Excellence
bournemouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Holiday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed at the Lakehouse for two nignts at the beginning of November 2011 - the first room we were given was very dirty, mould in the bathroom, taps that were broken etc etc, we asked to be moved, and were, to a much better suit. Hotel was very dirty throughout although staff tried their best and were very helpfull and polite albeit a bit quirky!
Food was very expensive and when paying over £100 for a two course meal and a bottle of wine one does not expect to be looking at a ripped standard lamp - that slightly spoils the ambience of a romantic evening.
Location was good overlooking the lake but little to do there apart from jungle trecking.

Room Tip: Go for the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trelawney d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    254
    59
    32
    8
See reviews for
227
341
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

My family (with 2 young children) stayed in mid October for one night. The Lakehouse has loads of 'olde English' charm and was impeccably neat inside and out. It is more a guest house than hotel with the common areas having an air of a set on Faulty Towers - without Basil around, thankfully. Smoking was permitted in the common rooms which was very annoying. The room was very good and spacious; no TV but that was no big deal. Watch out for the right bedside lamp in the main bedroom of Room 4, though, as it gave me an electric shock!! Bathroom facilities were good. WiFi is available on ground level at any time. The location is rather spectacular, apart from the murky brown lake. The town Ringlet is a few minutes away by car. The service standard was, well, a little weird. The staff spoke rather poor English and were rather quirky in their manner. When wanting to dine in the restaurant, for example, they made us sit on a lobby sofa to order our meal from the very limited menu selection until it was prepared and then led us to our table. We ordered our fillet steaks cooked medium and medium/well they both arrived cooked dry beyond being edible! My wife asked that it be returned and another prepared which they were more than happy to do. The next steak then arrived underdone. We didn't bother complaining again. The meals were also very expensive, relatively speaking, and were the most expensive meals we had in all of Malaysia yet one of the worst dining experiences. Breakfast was OK; nothing special and the selection a little limited. Would we stay there again? Probably not. Been there, done that. Our money would go further elsewhere judging by our fortnight experience in Malaysia. The city of Brinchang about 30 minutes further north had many hotel options and we'd try there next time.

Room Tip: Watch the bedside lamps as one in Room 4 gave me an electric shock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D1A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna B, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest,

We read this comment with great concern and appreciate your constructive feedback.

In our efforts to achieve high level of service where expectations are being anticipated and met, we have obviously faulted on this occasion.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the problems you experienced relating to the faulty bedside lamp and as well the quality of food at our restaurant which was not up to your expectation. These issues has been reviewed and addressed. We appreciate you constructive comments which allow us to continually improve ourselves. We look forward to your stay with us again.

For any further questions or clarification, I can be contacted directly at my email address at krishna@lakehouse-cameron.com

Krishna Badhur (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I spent two nights here last weekend - the hotel itself is lovely, rooms are in a reasonable state of repair and the house sits overlooking a brown lake. The staff try their best to accomodate all requests and are generally very pleasant.

The food however is a bit of a let down and seriously over priced for what is very average food. Breakfast was adequate. RM27 for two scones and a pot of tea is extraordinary extortion! Imagine our faces when we saw a chicken claypot dish on "special" at RM60 !! The second night we had dinner in the restuarant and my wife ordered fish which came with a stray hair in it --- sitting on top of the fish itself obviously not checked before it left the kitchen - in fairness they did replace it with another dish and this did not appear on our bill so credit to them for that. The dining room is however very small and the forst night our dinner was totally ruined by a family with one particulalrly noisy toddler - luck of the draw on that night.

We visited the Boh tea plantation and an Orang Asli village as well as the mossy forest --- not a bad day out with an excellent guide called Spence (i think) from TJ Travel in Tanah Rata.

Having also stayed at The Cameron Highlands resort i would say that offers a better experience at a lower price --- so better value for money. I have rated this place as average based on the food and the fact that in my opinion it is about 20% more expensive than it should be.

Room Tip: The road facing rooms can have a bit of traffic noise when the windows are open - especially ealry m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna B, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize on the oversight of our kitchen services for not checking the food before being served to the guest.

Our food pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our extensive facilities. However in your case it appears we have failed to meet your expectations which we sincerely apologize and have taken your constructive comments to further improve our services.

In our effort to achieve guest satisfaction and comfort, we have recently double glazed all gurest room windows and as well install air condition to reducte the noise pollution where we have received positive reviews from our guest.

For any further questions or clarification, I can be contacted directly at my email address at krishna@lakehouse-cameron.com

Krishna Badhur (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is a splendid small hotel, beautifully furnished and with impeccable staff who cannot do enough for you. We were very muddy after jungle walking but our flithy trousers were washed, dried and pressed by the time we had eaten dinner. The open fire was a delight in the cooler evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna B, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to your future visit.

Krishna Badhur (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Lakehouse is the last remnant of the old charming Cameron Highlands. It is away from all of the towns, Ringlet, Tanah Rata or Brinchang - which have now become ugly, overcrowded and eyesores.

This visit was 10 years after my previous one and - what a disappointment it was. Cameron Highlands has lost all of its old charm and beauty.

However we were so happy that we chose the Lakehouse which stands away from any of the 3 ugly towns. The hotel is so beautiful and such a lovely change. It is close to the farms and the tea estates and once we stopped going to the towns - it seemed like we were back in the old Cameron.

The hotel is on a little hill overlooking the main road and the lake (water has turned brown though). Although close to the road - we did not hear much traffic sounds. The lovely lawns were also a fun place for the kids to run around and for afternoon tea. The afternoon tea was lovely here but restaurant was quite expensive but had excellent ambiance. The staff were extremely accommodating of our special food requests (vegetarian and kids meals). Note that the rooms are a little small but the bathrooms are large and have excellent amenities.

The hotel management was also very accommodating of all of our additional bedding requests without charge.

Highly recommend this as the only place to stay in Cameron. Otherwise do not bother to go.

Room Tip: Call and talk to the desk clerk - extremely helpful with recommendations and requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayChaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna B, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. In line with food pricing of similar properties of this area, we feel that our restaurant offer good value given our extensive facilities. In your case, however, it appears we have failed to meet your expectations which we sincerely apologize. We take your comment seriously and strive to continually improve our services. We look forward to your stay with us again.

For any further questions or clarification, I can be contacted directly at my email address at krishna@lakehouse-cameron.com

Krishna Badhur (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This hotel oozes old Colonial charm, sitting as it does clinging to the side of the mountain overlooking a lake. As we approached my mind wandered to croquet on the lawn followed by cucumber sandwiches and a Pimm's No 1. Imagine how delighted I was to discover high tea was being served and wonderfully a three tier with the said sandwiches part and parcel. That daydreaming was unfortunately to be the best part of my visit. The bread was dry and slightly air toasted and to my horror had been liberally spread with mayonaise. Tisk tisk! However, little Malsyian meat parcels that sneaked on to the second tier went some way to ameliorate my huge disapointment. As sunset came and settled it soon became apparent that the hotel not only overlooked a lake but also the only road linking the two neighbouring towns, hence, noise. One of my pet hates! All rooms face the road, so no escape. The staff are friendly if a little reserved but do try to make one's stay comfortable. It was also a shame that I had to hunt down a barman as he had gone missing for about half an hour. I had visions of him going the way of the late Jim Thompson. Perhaps he did as the receptionist stood in and I never saw him again. Even allowing for the ongoing renovation and refit (more noise) the hotel feels a trifle overpriced. Sadly the hotel is really all there is here as the nearest town is a culinary and architectural desert. This hotel promises much but somehow doesn't quite fulfill. One night if you must but then get on the road that runs through.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanuman-Haa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Rooms were nicely decorated with old furniture and four-poster bed.It has the old English style which I simply love.It's clean and service is excellent.The property is big and everyday at 6:30pm,they will light the fireplace in the living area.It does get a little chilly at night.They serve breakfast,lunch,tea & dinner.If you drive (they'll wash your car for free even when you didn't ask) and choose to eat somewhere else,the nearest town (Tanah Rata) is 20min away.Walking there is too far.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picklejuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringlet
5.7 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
4.6 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
4.6 km away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 8 in Brinchang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
4.4 km away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
6.4 km away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Property: The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Address: 30th Mile Ringlet | Cameron Highlands, Ringlet 39200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Ringlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200km north of Kuala Lumpur, set against lush state reserve forests 1,000m above sea level in the Cameron Highlands, The Lakehouse is a Tudor-style country house overlooking the Sultan Abu Bakar Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Hotel Ringlet
Days Inn Ringlet
Lakehouse Cameron Highlands Ringlet
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Malaysia - Ringlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing