We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
4
5
11
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
5
11
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 29 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights 7 to 9 sept 16. Booked two bedroom villa. We got terrangganu villa. Furthest villa from the beach but nearest to the front desk and parking. The villa comes with private parking. But sad to say after our dinner, someone else parked their car at our lot. So we had to parked someone else's lot. So much for private parking. The beach is just 5 mins walk from our villa. The Melaka villa is near the beach. Just step out from the villa is Seaview. Villas are named after the states of Malaysia. Design of villa is Malay kampong style. Each villa has its own plunge pool that comes with jacuzzi function. The master bedroom and second bedroom are separated. So a bit of inconvenient if you have young children. The wifi does not work. Called front desk. They told me server down. So I din bother to follow up. Cos I know the wifi does not exist. Good thing we have pocket wifi. Tv have limited channels. No cartoon channels. Sad. The toilet needs serious maintenance. Main bedroom toilet sink was leaking. Children bedroom toilet will flood when you shower. And the sliding door is spoilt. The breakfast was okay. Breakfast area was near the beach. Lovely view. Very quiet during our stay. Which is why we choose this place. Laid back. Quiet. Beautiful clean beach. But there are Lots of sand flies. So be prepared.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank wendytay39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel because we won from a contest.

There are lots of improvements to be done by the management team:

1. Good greetings from staff at the reception area. It would be good if they escort you to the room instead of telling you directions turn left turn right.
2. Wifi: the connection super poor even though there's router and all.
3. Phone: the phone isn't working at all
4. The room is abit too dim. Needs more lighting

Overall is okay except the above

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2016 via mobile

Deceit: this hotel is listed on various site separately from Holiday Villa, but it's the same hotel. We would not have booked had we known that.

We asked when we booked if alcohol was served. But when we arrived, there's no alcohol in the restaurant, only in the 'fun pub' after 9pm. So no wine or beer with dinner.

Food: the food was awful. Garnish was browning, the burger patty was cheapest available and deep fried. French fries were so over fried that there was barely any potato. Or maybe it was just the quality of purchasing. We thought local food would be better, but it wasn't. It's a shame this hotel is happy to charge hotel prices for food but don't understand why hotel prices exist.

Event/Gawkers: there was an event on the garden in front of our room. Each time we walked past the group setting up the event, they would all stare.

There were 2 loud blasts and some smoke during this set up. When we called reception, they said it wasn't their event but the sales dept's event. The manager finally understood the concept that the event was on their property and we were renting a room on their property.

Spa: nice set up but indoor pool facilities not in use. Also strange to have hiv/AIDS warnings at a hotel spa. And ugly posters of health ailments. The massage was fine, but not value for money.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank HaanimBamadhaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCherating, Manager at Eastern Pavilion Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating.
You have chosen to stay at a Garden Villa, a chalet type accommodations.
Not to be mistaken for the Eastern Pavilion Boutique Resort & Spa.
Which instead offers distinctively designed villas with private swimming pools.

The hotel offers alcoholic beverages and being Halal certified are being served at the pub and outdoor areas only.
The Management have investigated noise disturbance during preparations for an event.
Smoke flares were accidentally set off instead of the following day.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort caused.
Hoping that you would stay at the Eastern Pavilions on your next visit.

Best regards,
Ang C. P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2016

Firstly the room: I had the Melaka pavilion which has a sea view. It is a 1 bedroom pavilion. It had both a bedroom and a sitting room, 2 bathrooms, a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, tv, verandah and of course its own plunge pool. It was clean and well equipped.
The wifi worked in the bedroom, but not as far as the sitting room/verandah.
The resort has shared facilities with the co-located Holiday Villa resort. At the time I visited there was only 1 restaurant was available which is Halal and has a limited menu - ok if you are here for 1 or 2 nights but not longer.
The room service menu is the same as the restaurant and includes alcoholic drinks.
Breakfast had a reasonable selection including an omelette station.
Staff at all points were helpful and friendly.
A short walk along the beach (left) is the Legend hotel which has a beach-side bar serving drinks and snacks.
Warning: mosquitoes and sand flies are present here in large quantities - make sure your room repellent works.
The price for the room is ok but not the overall experience.

Room Tip: Melaka has sea view
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IIliketogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCherating, Manager at Eastern Pavilion Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2016

Thank you for staying at the Eastern Paviion Boutique Resort & Spa Cherating.
The Melaka Pavilion is one of five one-bedroom villas available. Which promises beautiful views of the South China Sea and easy access to the Cherating Beach.

Pleased that you have enjoyed and appreciated the amenities and fixtures offered in your villa throughout your stay.
And heart warming to know that the hotel associates have delivered on their MANJA (To Pamper) promises.

The resort conducts scheduled pest control management with non-invasive mosquito fogging fortnightly.
Looking forward to welcoming you once again to Cherating, Malaysia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2015

Had a short trip here with my family (2 adults, 3 kids). We stayed at Sabah Pavillion.
My kids really enjoyed their stay here as there was a private pool for each villa. Even the rain wont stop them from swimming. It will be much pleasure if they can provide pool heater.
As for the room I think they need a major maintenance: door, flooring, toilet.
Overall, I am really satisfied and definitely will come back in few years.

Hope to see some improvement on my next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy_Khairimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCherating, Manager at Eastern Pavilion Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2015

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Holiday Villa Cherating.
It is a pleasure to know that your family enjoyed the privacy of the Sabah Pavilion.
Each Pavilion villa comes with it's private plunge pool.

The Management have taken note of your comments.
There is constant refurbishment of the facilities throughout.
As every guest review assist to identify areas in need of improvement.
Looking forward to serving you better on your next visit.

Best regards.
Ang C. P,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews