We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
20
131
168
95
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
131
168
95
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great resort beach view clean beach seafood pleasant stay breakfast spread squash atv sunrise
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 500 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Stayed there 4 nights at the Junior Suite room.
Very comfortable for a family of four. You have 1 large room with King size bed, TV, wardrobe etc. Can add extra bed for two.
I large living room with TV, sofa set, kitchen cabinets (empty, no cutlery).
Facing the open sea from the balcony. That's the best part for me but the compressor positioning makes the balcony area hot if the air con is switched on. So, not good in that sense.
Huge bath, with bath tub, shower room. Great !
The resort itself has a lot things for you to do. You can play beach football, volleyball,
archery, kite flying is excellent as plenty of sea breeze all day. Batik painting, sand art for the little ones.
Sea wasn't great at this time as too strong a wave hit that week of our stay.
Otherwise wave play would have been really fun as we enjoyed that in our previous trips here.
Swimming pool is huge...shallow for the kids and water polo...deep pool for the serious swimmers.
The staffs are great and very friendly, so ask if you need anything.
Buffet breakfast is alright...have enough to fill you. Can't complain.
Overall hotel is old but well taken care.
Food outside the hotel...don't miss "Don't Tell My Mama" cafe by the beach.
Just 5 mins drive away from the hotel. Great western food, chill beer.
You can waze to find it.

So, in you are in Cherating, I would recommend to stay here.
Good luck !!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bala_Reddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in The Legend Cherating during the CNY holidays, as our choice accommodation for our trip to Kemaman to visit relatives.

Pros:
- Nice sandy beach and well-maintained poolside area, including the beautiful twin swimming pools flanked by a "rocky outcrop".
- Good range of outdoor activities, including ATV, archery, rabbit pen, playground, and numerous excursions to local attractions (fireflies watching, mangrove swamp, and turtle sanctuary).
- Convenient location (only 20 minutes from Kemaman and 5 minutes from Cherating Village, depending on traffic).
- Tasty snacks at Deep Sea Beach Bar (we had the Cucur Udang, although the Teh Tarik was a bit too sweet).
- Free newspaper (The Star) is provided.

Cons:
- Hotel is very ancient, and seems like the owners have never renovated the place since it first opened!
- Room is really old-school, with faulty entrance lights, cramped toilet, cracked door panel (toilet), no lights at coffee-making area, and uncomfortable bed + pillows.
- Lack of variety at the breakfast buffet served at Coconut Grove Coffee House.
- Security seems to be lacking, and anyone can access the supposedly restricted corridors heading to the rooms, even at late night hours.
- There seems to be a problem with sandflies at the beach, and I got bitten quite badly when playing with my wife and son at this area!

Conclusion:
It's quite likely that I will not return to The Legend until the resort has undergone its long-overdue renovation works. And looks like I'll look at Samsuria Residence, Club Med, or RW Kijal for future stays!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Millennium_Falcon888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2016

Pros :-
Buffet breakfast good with local authentic taste but very very few choices.

Pool surrounding area clean and tidy

Prompt attention by service staff when we complain of the shower system malfunction and request for additional blanket

Room is clean and tidy with minimum amenities. Doesn’t look like a 4 stars hotel at all.

Cons :-

Security is very lax with no security guard around the hotel. Outsider basically able to walk into the hotel area and your room floor easily. Also one of our can drink got missing after the housekeeping.

Room still using the old fashion way by using a key to lock and unlock the door. Guest pls keep you personal belonging safely.

Buffet breakfast with very very few choices not worth paying if your room doesn’t include one.

Lobby design looks old, run down and boring.

Room totally different from the photo shown in their website. Complained and get upgraded to super deluxe room. Staff is rude by showing faces when we make the complain

Swimming Pool was dirty with dead leaves and ants floating everywhere.

Shower system is malfunction and the basin is clog.

No alarm clock and only 1 roll of toilet paper per day.

Room tip: Always keep your important belonging in the safe box & lock your door carefully.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AFCCCFEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2016

I can't complain the food taste here is average, westernize portion, but a bit pricey. Coming on weekdays having cold empty dining hall. Tried the mini bar with beer, I feel shocking when the bill was tendered, I feel it's a bit expensive. The pool is good, the walkway is clean, just a bit quiet like walking to a university which having holiday where no people are around.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Noel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel during surfing season.
Hotel faces the long stretch of beach. Pool area is rather large, good for families. Rooms were spacious, somewhat comfortable.

Only downside was the late check in.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jwlyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews