We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a terrible shack!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's a terrible shack!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I purchased this coupon via groupon in October. I arrived here yesterday and I was utter shock as the help guy dragged our bags to the first level. The floor was atrocious. The ironing boards was placed messily on the walkway. The help had trouble opening the front door. That very moment my husband n I just stared at each other. The door opened so did my jaw! Carpet was black n terrible. Bathroom was not clean. There was leakage in the bathroom. Pls don't ever come to this place let alone buy tickets from Groupon! we are just very down. I want my money back.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coolcatmimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    76
    89
    53
    48
See reviews for
121
59
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

When I bought a Groupon voucher for a night's stay at Holiday Villa Cherating, I didn't think much beside a good relaxing escapade with my girlfriend. However as the date neared, I checked the review on tripadvisor and to my horror, there were a lot of negative reviews. It was really worrisome especially after the recent nightmare of having bed bugs as companies in Ubud, Bali.

Thankfully upon out arrival, the place was pleasant. Maybe we went without any expectations but it was clean (considering its the monsoon season), the room was nice, and the beach front was filled with beach chairs and even a tree swing!

We stayed in a deluxe room (pool view) and it was really nice; nothing luxurious but good value! On the down side, the service was a bit slow. On a off-season, I would expect the workers to be more efficient (though they looked busy on the phones). Also, I would have appreciated it if we got to check-in earlier than the usual 2pm. At the lobby, a small gesture of serving the guests with a glass of tropical drink would have been nice as well. Maybe the management would like to consider refurbishing the place as well as it looked pretty old. Overall, it was good.

Room Tip: I got a pool view deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdamYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We went against the terrible reviews to stay at Holiday Villa, but was equally disappointed with the state of of our garden villa room. As international guests, it is very deceitful to advertise on the website a room that looks nothing like what the villa actually is. It could not happen outside Malaysia.

We are usually quite tolerant, but things added up; our room's sofa was old, dirty and had a giant hole in it. There was no hot water 2 out of the 3 days that we stayed. The cistern of the toilet was cracked and broken. The TV had terrible reception and there were dead insects all over the wall. For the price we paid, it's an absolute disgrace and does not deserve the 4 stars it proudly boasts.

The only pro was a reasonable breakfast.

To senior management, who are on a fast pace of international expansion - for a flagship hotel, this place cries for reinvestment and refurbishment. It is totally out of sync with the motto 'manjah' as we felt far from that with the state of our room.

I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend this hotel to others, and I would think hard about staying at a holiday villa chain based on this experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank YinL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

First impression, very nice & traditional. However, once we got into the room, (Chalet Garden Villa) it was small and looked old.Our aircon was leaking water. Took about an hour for hotel staff to change our room. Even so, the new room looks newer, way better than the first, but our door lock had problems. We could not open it and it took yet another hour or so just to get inside the room. Our time was spend mostly waiting for maintenance to come. The problem however was not fixed until the next day. We had to call maintenance again, until he fixed the problem. Besides, pool was nice, there were 2 pools. but people were not in proper swimming attire. Most of them went inside the pool in shorts and t-shirts. The hotel needs to impose a policy regarding proper swimming attire as it looks uncomfortable to others. Also for hygiene reasons. Look out for Don't tell mama, nice bar/restaurant in the middle of nowhere. Located inside Cherating small town. Also Duyong is good for both lunch and dinner, its a chinese-thai seafood restarant. More nightlife, visit Bali bar. All located in the same area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCherating, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating,

Thank you for your comments and we are concern of the setbacks encountered during your stay and we sincerely apologies for all the inconvenience it had caused you.

We apologies on the room condition that was provided and the delay in changing your room, as the resort were running full house during that day, as for the door lock they are new lock set and they do get a little tight in twisting the room key.

Measures have been taken to ensure that such problems do not recur. We would like to thank you for bringing up these matters as it is only through constructive criticism from our guests that would enable us to monitor our hotel operations more closely.

We hope you will not judge the standard of the hotel on this one experience and allow it to deter you from patronizing our hotel.

We once again thank you for your comments. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Checked in on 24th November. We were greeted by a very old and woody looking lobby area, but we loved it. We love the antics and the smell of old timber. A bit dark, quiet and very peaceful - maybe coz it was a Thursday. We saw a couple and their kid at the square pool and those were the only guests we saw up to then.

Since we booked two rooms, we asked for a connecting room. The friendly and helpful reception guy gave us room 236 and 237 at the Palace Wing. There several wings at the hotel. The Palace Wing is more quiet, larger pool, but a bit distant to the main lobby and restaurant - and we love it. The pool belonged to to my family - literally!

The rooms were relatively small, but the kids loved them. Cleanliness was not an issue. No bed bugs found - thank god. It looked like the beds were new. No carpet tho, and the hotel did not provide slippers - not an issue to us either.

Green surroundings, and a very short distance to the beach. We didn't dare to venture into the waters - they looked very scary to us.

All in, we liked our stay. Probably because we started with zero expectation based on the bad reviews we read in here.

Room Tip: Go to Palace Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamarol1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCherating, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

Good day to you,

We Thank you very much for taking the time in letting us know your experience at Holiday Villa Cherating we are pleased to know that our woody looking lobby design suites your liking. It has been design in that way to co-inside with the environment and place of relax and cosy.

We are glad to know that our staff was friendly and helpful towards your request, The palace wing has a different concept, as the concept is based on the ancient Malay Sultanate layout and also the main building in the Palace wing is a replica of the “Istana Lama Sri Menanti”.of Negeri Sembilan

We are pleased to know that you like the room that was provided, those are our Superior Rooms, we do have bigger rooms such as the Garden Villa which are the Chalet concept and also Antara Suite which is facing the South China Sea. We also have the Family Suite, which is apartment concept consist of 2 bed room and a living and dining area which are located at our main building call The Capital Wing.

Eastern Pavilion Boutique Resort & Spa Cherating which is next to Holiday Villa Cherating within the compound of Holiday Villa, This Property has 12 Private Villas and each Villas are name and design according to all our 12 States in Malaysia. Each villa comes with private plunge pool attached to each unit, in which it comes with a private parking lot and a separate reception lobby with personalize Butler Service, We hope on your next visit your kind self may want to experience our Eastern Pavilion.

As for the rooms without carpet, we would like to advice your kind self that we had to put some of our rooms with tiles cause we are Beach Resort, sands from beach and moist from Sea water and breeze could cause our carpets to smell over the years.

This is the time of the year where the Seas are a little rough during the high tide, when it is low tide is save to swim we do have Red and Green flags on our poles for awareness of rough seas conditions.

Once again the Management & Staff wishes to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we will ensure that MANJA hospitality will be extended to our guest. We do also hope to see you again soon.

Your kind self may reach us at :
rmchv@holidayvilla.com.my (Daniel Abdullah)
fomchv@holidayvilla.com.my (Stanley Lim)

Let Us MANJA You.

Best warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We booked the suite thinking that we will have the best room at the hotel...Wrong! It was a poorly built, furnished and maintain two bedroom apartment style room. Very dirty and will definitely spoil your holiday mood. The service at the reception and restaurant was bad, eventhough we werr not expecting much to begin with. The beach access is fantastic but again the landscaping is much to be desired.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaifulKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCherating, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

Good day to you,

We Thank you very much for taking the time in letting us to know your experience at Holiday Villa Cherating as we take all our guest comments seriously with a positive mind set and by having guest like your kind self let us know that there are still room for improvements and we may be able to identify the problem and resolve it. We do apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your love one during your stay with us.

The Family suite is based on the apartment concept which has 2 Bed Room, 2 Bathroom, Living Room with dining area and balcony. The management will widen our Training methods to ensure that the efficiency in service of our staff is better improved according to our MANJA hospitality and it’s extended to our valued guest.

We are pleased that you appreciate the hotel easy access to the beach it’s our pride to have such facilities for our guest.

Once again we thank you very much for taking the time in stating your thoughts of the experience at our property and we will ensure that we will do our best and work all the positive comments.

We do hope to see you and your love ones again someday as we wish to pamper you and your family the Manja way.

Your kind self may reach us at :
rmchv@holidayvilla.com.my (Daniel)
fomchv@holidayvilla.com.my (Stanley)

Best warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Hi folks,

I stayed in this hotel on the 18th of September 2011. We got a Groupon voucher so the room was ok for the price we paid...but we would definitely not have paid full price for it given that the room was old and definitely needed to be renovated. Service was passable, nothing to shout about but we had to wait quiet a bit when we asked for a spare bed...breakfast was ok too, simple malaysian fare so no complaints here.

The problem started when we returned home. I typically sleep with my boxers, no shirt on. Big mistake in this case. My back started to itch the next day and I developed several dozen nasty red marks on my back. I had obviously been bitten by bedbugs and these nasty welts have been a major pain for the last two weeks. Have had to take a course of antibiotics and rub antiseptic gel every day. My three year old and my wife had a few bites too but nothing to the extent of my suffering.

Holiday Villa definitely needs to improve their housekeeping...the scars on my back are a testament of just how badly the rooms and mattresses need cleaning up!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheWorldIsAmazing74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCherating, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

Good day to you,

We Thank you very much for taking the time in letting us know your experience at Holiday Villa Cherating. We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you and your love ones during your stay with us. The hotel is currently undergoing a staging refurbishment of rooms by rooms to ensure that guest comfort is anticipated at all times as these are our main priority.

We thank your kind self for bring this matter to our attention for we may be able to explain to all viewers of the actual facts. From your kind self explanation, we would like to advise this marks are NOT bed bugs as we had encountered a few of this comments and cases at the resort and all over other resorts in the east coast beach of Cherating, this bits are cause by sand flies and it’s seasonal, as of precaution we have place notices of Sand flies awareness in each room.

Sand flies mark does not occur on the day itself, but on the next day, where bedbugs mark will appear on the same day. Sand flies mark will last in the person’s body from the period of 1 week to 2 months depending on the antibody of the person. The local remedies to prevent sand flies are Lemon Grass balm, insect repellents and Tiger Balm, we thank your kind self for bring this matter to our attention for we may be able to explain to all viewers of the actual facts.

We understand and sympathize on pain cause to you and your love ones, and we hope this will not stop you and your lovely family from visiting us again in the near future; we would love to see you again and pamper all of you the Manja way.

Your kind self may reach us at:
rmchv@holidayvilla.com.my (Daniel)
fomchv@holidayvilla.com.my (Stanley)

Best warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
3.5 km away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
107 reviews
0.4 km away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#32 of 43 in Kuantan
412 reviews
8.5 km away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
21.1 km away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
3.4 km away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Address: Lot 1303, Mukim Sungai Karang, Cherating, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greenery and secluded palm-fringed beaches fronting the South China Sea, Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating has the ideal facilities for family vacations and honeymoons, in addition to corporate meetings and team buildings. Situated 47km from Kuantan, the capital city of Pahang, the beach in Cherating is a haven amongst avid surfers who come from all over the world each year to especially enjoy the ride of the ocean waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Cherating Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing