We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location, friendly service, reasonably priced.”
Review of Ipoh French Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ipoh French Hotel
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb location, friendly service, reasonably priced.”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My dad remembers staying at this hotel decades ago when my aunt got married.

I actually thought this was a new hotel.

I guess it was recently refurbished, and I must say I had a comfortable stay at this hotel.

The hotel is located in the middle of town and all the popular eating spots are within walking distance, such as Tong Sui Kai (Dessert Street), Foh Shan Dim Sum, Nam Heong Old Town Coffee, Low Wong and Ong Kee Bean Sprout Chicken, which makes food hunting a fairly easy and enjoyable experience.

I was also pleased with the friendly assistance provided by an elderly staff (owner?) who gave us directions to the above mentioned eating spots.

Highly recommended for anyone planning a short stay at Ipoh town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiaShiun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    297
    47
    9
    3
See reviews for
155
212
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a reasonable priced hotel within the city, this is the place to stay. Parking is within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeeyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is my third hotel in Ipoh and this will be my regular hotel from now on. It's very clean and has plenty of electrical outlets. Wifi is fast, and they will print stuff for you.

LCD TV but only 8 channels (3 or 4 English). Walking distance to western food: Ipoh Parade Mall, Pizza Hut, KFC, McDonald's, and Secret Receipt.

Staff is friendly, see contact info below, it took me a while to figure out how to make a reservation. They respond to email quickly and you can make reservations though it. Rates are 130-180MYR / night.

Tel: +605 241 3030
Fax:+605 241 6060
frenchhotelipoh@gmail.com

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I booked this hotel through AsiaRooms.com paying RM 128 for week nights and RM 148 for Friday and Saturday nights for a deluxe room, which is similar to booking directly through the hotel.

This modern and stylish hotel is in a central and convenient location in the new town area of Ipoh. You can walk to the market, a shopping centre, restaurants and the old town from this location. The rooms are sufficiently spacious to be comfortable with enough room for two bags, which is a peculiarly rare situation. Being only opened this year, everything is clean and fresh. This is a ‘no smoking’ hotel which is to be applauded. The room fittings are good quality with air-con, flat screen television, coffee making but no mini-fridge. There is however a 7Eleven next door which sells beer, tonic water, snacks and bags of ice.

The bathroom is small but very convenient with a large shower. In fact it’s a great shower. This is, however, not a room to share with someone with whom you are not fully intimate; there is no sound that is contained by the frosted glass walls of the bathroom. The king sized beds are two singles sheeted together but they are very comfortable with lovely linen and fluffy pillows.

There is no breakfast at the hotel. Just cross the street, turn left, pass KFC & Pizza Hut and a bit further there is a noodle café, then a Muslim café where roti canai and kopi susu make an excellent breakfast for under $1.

There are only two annoying things; the lack of a fridge and the RM100 refundable deposit per room, required on check-in, which is simply a nonsense and should be abandoned immediately. We stayed here for three nights and I would fully recommend this hotel in Ipoh.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Overall the room we booked into was great, it is the largest room available for a price of RM168.00. I suggest not to go for the smallest room for 2 person, i guess the mid size room should be still alright. The staffs are very helpful indeed and always simling ready to serve you.

Location wise, it is located along the busy town of ipoh. If you prefer a more quiet surrounding, this might not be a place for you. On Sunday morning, there is a flee market next to it. Not the type of flee market which sells handicraft, but those sells broken, old and stolen items perhaps.

As for me, i dont mind the location, i can just go out from the hotel door and start snapping pictures and walk around many shop houses. As for my wife, she would prefer the surrounding to be more quiet, less people around. (Resort type, i guess).

Lastly for someone who care dearly about their car, this hotel doesnt have their own parking. You need to park at a open space just a stone throw over. The parking is open to public too, and it will be very pack and squeezie too.

Room Tip: Go for the largest room, worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrlow73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My girlfriend and I booked a Deluxe Room (Max Occupancy: 2 Adults 1 Child) for RM150/night. Although we were initially looking for a budget stay at Ipoh however we were pleased that we paid extra for French Hotel.

Being a new hotel, the room was spotless. We loved the double queen-sized (IIRC) beds as they were really comfy. Although no breakfast is served, the hotel's located at the town area where most of the famous eateries are within walking distance. Bonus points for Wifi as well, works well when we stayed there.

In conclusion, the hotel is highly recommended for families, business travellers and even couples who prioritize comfort and cleanliness. Hopefully the hotel would be able to maintain its high standards for the years to come as this will not be our last visit to Ipoh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I wouldn't say it's a superb hotel.
But come on, RM148 per night per Deluxe King Room (Weekends/Public Holidays) with window considered as cheap for me.
There are cheaper category room rate, do call and ask the hotel.
You cannot compare it to the motels/hostels.
Tune Hotel is just behind French Hotel Ipoh.
And yes, there's nothing french in the hotel, just the name.

Pros;
It's 'NO SMOKING IN THE ROOM' = Great for me and my sis and friend.
New hotel, opened for business on January 2012.
Located in Ipoh city centre, Chinese restaurants and malls/shops within walking distance
Really King-sized bed (can sleeps 3 adults yo)
Spacious room
Bed, sheets, pillows and blanket is clean
Toilet/Bathroom/Washroom is clean , not smelly
Shower and water-heater works fantastically
Helpful and kind staffs
Not noisy at night but no soundproofs wall, so please keep tv/bed activities volume at minimum
:P
Check-out before 12:00NOON
Free parking (Remember to tell them you need the ticket when you check-in)
Free Wi-Fi (They will give you the password after you got the room key)
Free mineral water, coffee and tea packets with water boiler in your room
TV with at least 6++ channels, love the movie channel
Air-conditional works, and not noisy
Provide luggage room service, you can put your luggage in there, after/before you check-in

Cons/Notes;
No swimming pool
No bar
No food service
No breakfast
No frige/mini freezer in the room
No safety box
No hairdryer in the room, you have to request at the front-counter while check-in OR via telephone in your room
Check-in after 3:00PM, slow if too many people check-in together due only one senior doing the check-ins which is not good for the impatient people.
Only one lift to cater 6 or 8 people for whole building , so you might have to wait few turns if the hotel is too packed
You have to pay additional fees for extra pillows/towels/drinks/etc
Personally, I think the bed is a bit hard but sleep-able
When you called the hotel for reservation, the staff did not mention there will be RM100 refundable deposit for the room during your stay, payable and refundable at the front counter.
(Guess if you mention it on the phone/website, the guests/clients/customers will misunderstood their purpose, it's refundable so don't worry much, just bring extra cash)

That's all for my long review :P
Again, overall it's a good basic hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yukijunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
1.2 km away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
9.7 km away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
0.9 km away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
M Boutique Station 18
5.7 km away
Symphony Suites Hotel
1.0 km away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#31 of 63 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipoh French Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipoh French Hotel

Property: Ipoh French Hotel
Address: Hotel French 60 - 62 Jalan Dato Onn Jaafar, Ipoh 30300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ipoh French Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iFH is a 48 rooms, Business cum Family Hotel in the heart of Ipoh City. iFH provides a very clean environment, a smoke free atmosphere in all area. Hotel is equipped with wholesome amenities and manned by a warm & caring 24 hours front desk service. Average All-In Room Price is about RM150, this covers Government tax, etc (breakfast not included). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ipoh French Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing