We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene hideaway..”
Review of Tiger Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiger Rock
Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you're looking for a trip to the beach but want to have plush greeneries surround you during your stay, Tiger Rock is the best place in Pangkor. My boyfriend and I, had a great experience not only with the beauty of the place, but most of all it was the caretakers of Tiger Rock. It's the endless hospitality and attentiveness that you will not get anywhere else. Mr. Mohan, never fails to surprise us as somehow he knows what we need before we even say it. The cook, Bavanni serves great food cooked with love and heart.. Even when it wasn't the time to eat, she would surely whip up something when you're hungry. This was an experience that we will never forget as Tiger Rock was truly a diamond in the rough.

Room Tip: If you plan to come with a spouse and you want some privacy, the purple room at the Hill house will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norry_Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

It is hard to put into words what an exceptional place Tiger Rock is. We have never felt so relaxed and the lengths that Mohan and his team went to enable this were quite incredible and way beyond anything we had previously experienced. This is a unique place, in a unique and exciting setting, with outstanding food and exceptional hospitality. If you are lucky enough to get the chance to stay there our advice is don't hesitate!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Tiger Rock totally lives up to its promises and the reviews. We arrived on Christmas Day and were very looked after from being met at the ferry terminal at Lumut and helped across to Pangkor on what was a very busy day! Avoid travelling on Sundays on bank holidays - the queue for the ferry was horrendous. We were relieved to arrive in one piece with our luggage. The rooms are indeed a bit of a walk up the hill but Mohan was happy to drive anyone who couldn't face the walk. I was glad of the walk given the huge amounts of food served - please less food next time! It was all delicious so hard to resist. Everytging was perfect - we had hornbills flying over the pool and had a close encounter with a wild boar on the way back to our room. Not sure I would recommend the local massage - it was a bit odd having it on the floor in the library which is a common area...The man who brought the masseuse up to the resort hung around a bit and I literally had to make it plain that his presence was not required.
It is a special place and the staff were all delightful - would highly recommend it. We were all given Christmas presents as well as we arrived on Dec 25th which I thought was a particularly sweet gesture. Many thanks Mohan and team - all the best for 2012.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kxsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Lovely hospitality, marvellous food, exellent rooms, all you can wish for a family holiday with a golden touch.
A bonus for us were our fellow guests who added good atmosphere.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katarina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

If you're looking for a little slice of heaven in jungle surroundings then Tiger Rock is your place. Described in its literature as an Island Retreat rather than a hotel, it really does put its money where its mouth is... it's tranquil, relaxing, beautiful and spoiling without being pretentious or intimidating. The infinity pool & restaurant overlook a haven for boars, snakes and hornbills and both old and young are drawn in by its surroundings. Each of the rooms are an artwork in themselves and the service is the best I have experienced in many years of worldwide travel and employment in the boutique hotel industry.
The steep hills (up to your king sized bed) are not for the fainthearted (or little people) however there is a poolside room to accommodate you if you don't fancy the climb!
The home cooked food is fabulous and the beach and island tour are definitely worth the effort it takes to tear yourself away from the pool. We look forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bugsy080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

After traveling across Malaysia/Thailand, our last stop at Tiger Rock was 'the icing on the cake' and definitely a highlight of the trip. From day one we were welcomed with open arms by Mohan and his team, and couldn't have been made to feel more at home in this jungle paradise. Memories of our time spent here will remain with us, in particular, the culinary delights we experienced from Mohan and his team.

Looking back longingly over the photo's and we hope to return soon. Thanks again, Chris and Sophie

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

If you are looking for a short break to get away from it all and be well and truly looked after then TIger Rock is the place for you. It's like having all the comforts of home, with Mohan and his team on hand for anything you might need. The food is amazinf, and ample, we were glad for the 'stepped' environment to keep us fit while we were there. Our 1 year old and 3 year old were catered for excellently, with baby monitors allowing us parents a candlelit dinner in the evenings. We really hope to return!

Room Tip: The studio room is very high up but if your kids are energetic adn like exploring its perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.8 km away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
1.9 km away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
3.0 km away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
365 reviews
4.4 km away
Nipah Guesthouse
Nipah Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Pangkor
307 reviews
4.5 km away
Joe Fisherman Inn
Joe Fisherman Inn
#2 of 25 in Pulau Pangkor
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Rock

Address: WD.2 Pangkor, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pangkor
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiger Rock 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Rock is about sustainable tourism which includes participation of the local Pangkor Island community, preserving the natural environment and cultural way of life as well as ensuring mutual respect and benefits to all parties involved. This commitment is reflected in every aspect of Tiger Rock, from the way it is designed and built, to how it is managed by local islanders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Tiger Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiger Rock Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing