We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
14
83
74
31
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
83
74
31
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sup hameed sea view food outlets walking distance jalan penang big room high floor prangin mall budget hotel hot water georgetown komtar iron tub
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 231 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is old and has had its better days probably more than 10 years ago BUT the rooms are huge with a fab view over Georgetown/Penang. Breakfast is a buffet which is okish but nothing fancy. Good location tho.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank miss_fiebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2017

The receptionist asked for returnable deposit fee during checkin [200 ringgets] though we had confirmed booking online. Duno why this practice.
We enjoyed the pool during mid day, It was free n peaceful.
Room was good and there is good connectivity. Shops n bus stop closeby.

Overall good location n service.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sudhar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2017

I usually concentrate on the positive first when writing a review, so here goes. Older hotel in a good tourist area with basic but tired rooms. Support staff were good, front desk staff turned a higher rating lower.

We used this hotel as a result of a travel company booking. I don't know if this made a difference in our collective treatment by front desk staff but indifference and officiousness seemed to rule the day.

We were not happy with getting a smoking room so we requested a down grade to a smaller room with two twin beds in a non smoking room. Easy, should have been but it was not. eventually our guide after speaking to the manager arranged for the room change.

No soap and a meagre amount of toilet paper greeted us. The tour company is getting skinned on this one, or perhaps I should say I am getting skinned as someone is making a lot of commission somewhere along the line. that will be an interesting review if I find out.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coppermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2017

Good:
1. Conveniently close to city attractions
2. Front desk were friendly and efficient
3. Many convenient stores opposite/beside hotel
4. Close to good food location (red garden food court behind hotel, sup hameed opposite hotel, line clear along hotel road)

Bad:
1. Rooms very old - stuffy smell, remote control and telephone not working
2. People were smoking on 'smoke free' levels, even in presence of hotel workers
3. Most of the workers in the hotels were foreigners who can barely speak English (eg: maintenance and at dining)
4. Not so good breakfast buffet quality.
5. Not family friendly hotel.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank chindian101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is dirt cheap so what does these people on here expect?
The rooms are clean.
The staff are friendly but not very service minded. But it's the same all over Malaysia. No one from taxi drivers to hotel staff to restaurant staff seem to be very service minded.

The hotels location is very good with a taxi stand just 50m away. This is good because the hotel staff can't organise one for you. But no worries.

There's a smell in the room which you get used to in a while but comes back every time you enter the room.

The breakfast was the worst ever but Malaysian standard. White sugar bread with jam and Chinese noodles.

Worst thing was the other guests. Yelling like they're in a playground. Even grown ups. This was a slight problem because the doors aren't very noise isolated.

Overall I do recommend because it's cheap!

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews