We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
1,377 results
Traveller rating
267
589
335
102
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
589
335
102
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelpower showerjalan burmahstrategic locationthe ground floorrooms are smallbus stophot showerconvenience storecomfy bedper nightfood stallswalking distanceshort staylight sleeperkomtarpenang
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 1,377 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2015

I don't know how this hotel is receiving high ratings. The room is really really really TINY. The air con doesn't even work, it is noisy at night, the staff members are rude and didn't seem to care. If you have young kids travelling with you, please cross this hotel off your list! We booked this hotel for three nights but left the next day! You have been warned!

Room Tip: do not come here
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferRajoo, Manager at Tune Hotel George Town Penang, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Hi David,

Thank you for your review.

We operate a Limited-Service Concept with space-efficient rooms, which allows us to offer lower rates to our guests whilst not compromising on cleanliness or location and we are very upfront about this on our website so that expectations are set prior to the stay.

We have Quad Rooms available for guests travelling with family/young children. Our Quad Rooms consist of connecting rooms with two Single Beds and one Queen bed and includes unlimited air conditioning for the entire duration of stay. However we do have limited units of this room type so we would encourage guests to book as early as possible via our hotel's website.

We look forward to having you back with us and hopefully have a much better experience on your next visit!

Best regards,
Jennifer Rajoo - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2015

TheTune hotels, let you opt for or out for certain items such as WiFi, TV, Linen and Air conditioning. It is close to Kmtar, the bus terminus and the shopping centre as well as other restaurants nearby. It is within walking distance to the bus terminus and shopping centres.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pierrehsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

Interesting concept. You pay for a room, and you're given a towel and some shower gel in a bag. If you want more towels, a window, air-con, wifi, a TV, a hairdryer or if you need to storage your luggage, you pay extra. Wifi you pay for a 24 hour period. Air-con you pay for 12 or 24 hrs use. There is a timer on the wall which shows how much you have used. Not sure how the hairdryer works - didn't use it. But personally I find paying to use it a bit OTT!

Security seems pretty lax, and the door lock isn't the best, so make sure you use the safe (which is included in the price!). Mine didn't work, but it was quickly fixed.

No real breakfast on offer, and not much in the vicinity apart from a Starbucks.

If the hotel were in A1 condition, on the whole I would totally buy into the concept of only paying for what you need. But it isn't. The rooms are well worn, pretty scruffy and not particularly clean. Wear and tear is acceptable, poor standard of cleaning isn't. Because, by the time I'd added on a window, wifi and aircon, it wasn't a great deal. Not cheap - 150RM per night. There are far better places in GT in this price bracket.

All in all, the hotel doesn't live up to the snappy marketing.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank pdmancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2015

Probably most of travelers are familiar with Tune hotel policy where you pay for the room only and everything else is charged extra, including toiletries, towels, Wi-Fi and AC. So knowing that, you shouldn't be surprised if you don't get any of that if you don't purchase it extra, but even with that in mind, the staying experience wasn't all that great. The hallways are hot like in sauna and our AC didn't work when we came in, so the repairman had to come in and reset it. The room doesn't have the TV, which wasn't an issue for us, but since we didn't purchase WiFi access, we had to rely on open WiFi networks around the city. The hotel isn't all that new and it looks like it's in need for some refurbishment. Hotel has it's only parking, but with limited number of parking spaces for an additional fee, of course.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frishki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2015

We stayed at Tune Downtown Penang for 4 weeks. We wanted to experience Chinese New Year and found Tune to be the perfect place. We had a room up high on a corner and were able to see all the fireworks around us from the windows. Some were exploding in front of us as we watched. As with all Tune hotels you get what you pay for so we got the full package. Air con, Internet and towels each day. The bed was super comfy and the showers were hot with strong pressure......what more could you want from a budget hotel? Our only gripe would be the noise from other guests coming home late but it was Chinese New Year. This hotel was within walking distance to Chinatown and Komtar for shopping and Macalister Road for cheap hawker food. There was a 7/11 under the hotel and a Giant supermarket just down the road. Great restaurants and cafes along Burmah Rd also. The bus to Gurney Drive and Batu Ferringhi passes outside the hotel and will drop you off near Komtar on the return journey with a short walk back. All of the staff were wonderful from the cleaners right up to management and were approachable about any concerns we had. A huge thanks to Lyn for her help and suggestions. There is a cafe on the same floor as the lobby that serves a great breakfast with good choices at a reasonable price. I must also mention the tour service operating out of Tune. These guys are great to have a chat with. They will look after you with all your tour needs and Arvin even booked flights for us when we were leaving. We look forward to returning to Tune Downtown Penang later this year.

Room Tip: Request a corner room for a little larger bathroom.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews