We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny of it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 26 May 2015

I stayed in Tune Hotel in Downtown Penang in early April 2015 for short vacation. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. It's located quite near to Komtar, or the city center of Penang, you can basically travel to anywhere in Penang easily from this hotel. Although I stayed in a windowless single room, maybe not the best room in town, but still worth every penny of it. I will definitely stay there again the next time I travel to Penang.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Denny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2015

I don't know how this hotel is receiving high ratings. The room is really really really TINY. The air con doesn't even work, it is noisy at night, the staff members are rude and didn't seem to care. If you have young kids travelling with you, please cross this hotel off your list! We booked this hotel for three nights but left the next day! You have been warned!

Room Tip: do not come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferRajoo, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Hi David,

Thank you for your review.

We operate a Limited-Service Concept with space-efficient rooms, which allows us to offer lower rates to our guests whilst not compromising on cleanliness or location and we are very upfront about this on our website so that expectations are set prior to the stay.

We have Quad Rooms available for guests travelling with family/young children. Our Quad Rooms consist of connecting rooms with two Single Beds and one Queen bed and includes unlimited air conditioning for the entire duration of stay. However we do have limited units of this room type so we would encourage guests to book as early as possible via our hotel's website.

We look forward to having you back with us and hopefully have a much better experience on your next visit!

Best regards,
Jennifer Rajoo - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

TheTune hotels, let you opt for or out for certain items such as WiFi, TV, Linen and Air conditioning. It is close to Kmtar, the bus terminus and the shopping centre as well as other restaurants nearby. It is within walking distance to the bus terminus and shopping centres.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pierrehsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

Interesting concept. You pay for a room, and you're given a towel and some shower gel in a bag. If you want more towels, a window, air-con, wifi, a TV, a hairdryer or if you need to storage your luggage, you pay extra. Wifi you pay for a 24 hour period. Air-con you pay for 12 or 24 hrs use. There is a timer on the wall which shows how much you have used. Not sure how the hairdryer works - didn't use it. But personally I find paying to use it a bit OTT!

Security seems pretty lax, and the door lock isn't the best, so make sure you use the safe (which is included in the price!). Mine didn't work, but it was quickly fixed.

No real breakfast on offer, and not much in the vicinity apart from a Starbucks.

If the hotel were in A1 condition, on the whole I would totally buy into the concept of only paying for what you need. But it isn't. The rooms are well worn, pretty scruffy and not particularly clean. Wear and tear is acceptable, poor standard of cleaning isn't. Because, by the time I'd added on a window, wifi and aircon, it wasn't a great deal. Not cheap - 150RM per night. There are far better places in GT in this price bracket.

All in all, the hotel doesn't live up to the snappy marketing.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank pdmancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Probably most of travelers are familiar with Tune hotel policy where you pay for the room only and everything else is charged extra, including toiletries, towels, Wi-Fi and AC. So knowing that, you shouldn't be surprised if you don't get any of that if you don't purchase it extra, but even with that in mind, the staying experience wasn't all that great. The hallways are hot like in sauna and our AC didn't work when we came in, so the repairman had to come in and reset it. The room doesn't have the TV, which wasn't an issue for us, but since we didn't purchase WiFi access, we had to rely on open WiFi networks around the city. The hotel isn't all that new and it looks like it's in need for some refurbishment. Hotel has it's only parking, but with limited number of parking spaces for an additional fee, of course.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frishki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015

We stayed at Tune Downtown Penang for 4 weeks. We wanted to experience Chinese New Year and found Tune to be the perfect place. We had a room up high on a corner and were able to see all the fireworks around us from the windows. Some were exploding in front of us as we watched. As with all Tune hotels you get what you pay for so we got the full package. Air con, Internet and towels each day. The bed was super comfy and the showers were hot with strong pressure......what more could you want from a budget hotel? Our only gripe would be the noise from other guests coming home late but it was Chinese New Year. This hotel was within walking distance to Chinatown and Komtar for shopping and Macalister Road for cheap hawker food. There was a 7/11 under the hotel and a Giant supermarket just down the road. Great restaurants and cafes along Burmah Rd also. The bus to Gurney Drive and Batu Ferringhi passes outside the hotel and will drop you off near Komtar on the return journey with a short walk back. All of the staff were wonderful from the cleaners right up to management and were approachable about any concerns we had. A huge thanks to Lyn for her help and suggestions. There is a cafe on the same floor as the lobby that serves a great breakfast with good choices at a reasonable price. I must also mention the tour service operating out of Tune. These guys are great to have a chat with. They will look after you with all your tour needs and Arvin even booked flights for us when we were leaving. We look forward to returning to Tune Downtown Penang later this year.

Room Tip: Request a corner room for a little larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

I came to Penang for business and staying at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang for 5 days, 4 nights. The rooms are so small and the service system also are extremely worst. I had to go down to the lobby every day to reset the card even though I registered for 4 nights. Every day at 12pm all the system of my room including electrical will be disconnected. It is difficult for me to go down to the lobby every day to setup my card. They also do not provide free parking. I had to pay almost RM20 per day for car parking. The room is also has no television and no room service. I also look at the lobby table displayed extra charge for air condition and hair dryer. For a service like this it is very expensive compared to other hotels I have stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leika_zulaikha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.8 km away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#37 of 87 in George Town
658 reviews
0.4 km away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#29 of 87 in George Town
239 reviews
0.4 km away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 87 in George Town
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#33 of 87 in George Town
186 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#55 of 87 in George Town
332 reviews
1 km away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 87 in George Town
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $30 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing