We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Red Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Rock Hotel
Ranked #72 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 17 July 2017

- Room is big and comfortable with cooling air conditioning.
- Good location as beside the hotel got hawker center. Food is delicious & tasty. Open till midnight 1am. Full of crowd.
- Breakfast not that delicious. Do not have variety food. No sausages. Poor breakfast.
- Car park is narrow.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank super183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Red Rock Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Good location,plenty of eateries locally,staff very good and breakfast is good but not excellent.Shops and 7 Elevens close,the main man is on the front door! Ask him anything and he will know the answer!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank ozzy30938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Was a lovely surprise from my Lovely One and I really enjoyed it.
Simply kitch, flamboyant and sparkling as Chinese hotel can be.
A lot of red color all around.
It is not new but quite well maintained and the Team working there is doing a good job and they were polite with both of us.
Room is huge, nice view in Penang including mountains, no noises from outside despite the street is busy, very comfy and large bed we had a lot of fun as the bed is on wheels...
All basic amenities are there and it was clean.
Breakfast is good and with a nice varieties and some changes on daily basis.
Swimming pool area is cute and we did enjoyed it.
Car park convenient and plenty of street food all around too.
Only one little minus: internet is not that stable and limited TV channels list.
For the rest it was fun!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

When i come in to the room, dead cockroaches welcoming me. The room is old and dusty. Water heater not functioning. All floor are smoking area except 1 floor. Not suitable for non smoker. Old television. Not worth to stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Raphael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

It was a nice experience, since that was my first time visiting Penang. The bell boy is nice, so did the customer service. But the only thing that need to be fix is the wifi connection. I could barely connected to it.

Room Tip: Close to stall foods
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cheriatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Got to the hotel, sharing a room with someone else (we won't be coming back to the hotel at the same time during our stay) but not given an extra key because "hotel is full".
Wifi throughout the hotel is not working so we have to be standing in the lobby (no other place with wifi), although the staff did not want to give password for he lobby wifi.
Really noisy, no safety box in the room.
Overall not happy with the experience of the hotel

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Quite OK place to stay if you don´t have any specific standards, and quite cheap. My room was not so clean upon arrival. At that time I had been travelling for a long time, and did not care too much, but one day I asked the housekeeper if he could do my room. He said yes, but when I returned late in the evening, the only thing he did was to empty his bucket with dirty water in my toilet without flushing. After 3 days, I even had ants in my bathroom...

When the hotel is as cheap as it is, the pool is a real bonus, but I would expect it to be way more clean than it was. I was one of very few who used the pool, but only for a day or two. But it was very dirty and once I jumped in, I did not feel like swimming in it at all. Put your feet in would be enough. There was something that looked like a pool bar there, but there was no one working there, which made the pool even more boring.

As for the breakfast there was not much of a choice, and it was better spending a few ringgit extra to buy something from the street than staying for breakfast at the hotel. I tried it once, and it was pretty boring.

The spa at the hotel is owned by someone else, but it was very expencive, and the employees did not seem to have much experience. I would rather spend the 67 ringgit on something else, or go to another place to get a massage for a much cheaper price.

If I should do a summary: it´s an OK place to stay if you´re spending your daytime activities on something else than by the pool or the hotel. But I´d rather stay in a hostel which you can easily find both better and cheaper ones, than a week at the Red Rock.

And not to forget: there is no use in trying to use the free wifi, you better use the Penang Free Wifi which is not from the hotel, even though you have to log back in every 5th minute.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#70 of 85 in George Town
204 reviews
0.0 km away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 85 in George Town
939 reviews
0.5 km away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#29 of 85 in George Town
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Malaysia
Hotel Malaysia
#38 of 85 in George Town
242 reviews
0.8 km away
1926 Heritage Hotel
1926 Heritage Hotel
#66 of 85 in George Town
436 reviews
0.2 km away
Eton Hotel
Eton Hotel
#47 of 85 in George Town
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Hotel

Address: 202A Jalan Macalister, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: $38 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Red Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rock Hotel Penang/George Town, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing